We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we went” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Food Bakery & Coffee Bar

Angel Food Bakery & Coffee Bar
86 South 9th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402
612-238-1435
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,598 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Discover Angel Food Bakery & Coffee Bar, a beautiful one-of-a-kind spot where you get to see bakers ice exquisite cupcakes, pull just-made breads out of the oven, and put the finishing touches on decadent donuts and other treats. Watch us in action 7 days a week in a street level spot just above Hell's Kitchen, our other downtown gem.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So glad we went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After debating where to get pastries in Minneapolis, we were just drawn to Angel Food Bakery. The staff was knowledgeable about it's product and everything we tried was great. People were friendly and we would not hesitate to recommend for breakfast or a snack.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Watch them bake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great pastries, cakes and cronuts. If you get their early you can watch them bake and decorate. They do an amazing range which you can either eat in or take away.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A business walk up coffee shop ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stopped in for warm, fresh pastry delicacies but didn't get that. Obvious by the in mall space location and cramped space that this is a mainly business walk up and not the real deal. The baked goods were not warm but we're tasty, kinda doukin D type in taste and NOT true gourmet bakery quality.
(2) baked items (fritter and carrot glazed bun for $5 so not overly pricy but with the cramped space and constant traffic walk ups best to take out and not "over expect"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cronut= delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Tried my first croissant/donut concoction here and loved it!!! Also really loved the maple/bacon donut. We got an apple fritter that we liked but didn't love as much as the other two. Coffee was also good!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Time to indulge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

When I go to the Midwest, I expect to eat fattening foods and be offered only Cream with my coffee. This is the place for all of that. Their home made breakfast pastries and fritters are scrumptious. The coffee was a rich dark roast (I drank it black). The staff was very friendly. But now I am back home and on a diet!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Food Bakery & Coffee Bar also viewed

 

Been to Angel Food Bakery & Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Food Bakery & Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.