We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great job, Graves 601” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great job, Graves 601”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

My recent trip to Minneapolis brought with it only one hotel recommendation from local friends: Graves 601

I must start by saying that I am in the hotel business and work with a very high end independent luxury hotel. I am rarely satisfied with hotels, even at the highest level.

From check in to check out, the entire experience was delightful. The staff were all highly efficient, the facilities were well maintained and the design was exceptional.

Hermes amenities in the room and a great bathroom were added bonuses.

I had a bit of trouble connecting to the wireless network on my iPad, but upon calling the hotel operator, had an engineering team member stop by and fix everything right up...very impressive.

MSP is a great town. If you're going to visit, be sure to stay at Graves. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    314
    124
    49
    29
See reviews for
135
448
46
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I love this hotel ... very modern and hip, without all the attitude. The public areas are very calming and well kept. Great location (including a real Starbucks store right next door).

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Absolutely no complaints here.

Will always try to stay here when in town. You should give it a try!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I really can't find anything bad to say about the Graves. It's a modern, hip hotel, but it doesn't have the modern, hip vibe (i.e. bad service) that usually comes with it. The accomodations are luxurious but not pretentious, and the location can't be beat (across from the Target Center, and with direct access to the skyway above the city).

I've probably stayed at the Graves six or seven times, and each time it's consistently fantastic. The rooms are spacious, most with very good views, and the service is great without being obtrusive. They offer most of the things that you expect in a luxury hotel--complimentary shoe shine service, 24-hour room service, a flat-screen TV, and nice toiletries (Hermes soaps, for example).

The bed was very comfortable--not too firm, but not soft at all, either.

I like the Graves enough that there's never a question of where we stay in Minneapolis, and would come back here for a leisure trip to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Wonderful staff, rooms were luxurious, comfortable and had all the amenities I could want. Very reasonable rates. Amazing location. Would ABSOLTELY stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

After a rough check-in (room not ready, keys then didn't work, let me in a room that was already occupied!), the room made up for it (plus a free cocktail voucher). Room 1603 - modern layout with great lighting, bathroom with the multi-head shower, bed super cozy. Great value for $189/night. 2 bars, one of 4th floor (Cosmos) and one on ground level. Ate on 4th, great sushi appetizer. First floor bar has specialty cocktails. All in all, nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

My first trip ever to Minneapolis. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. However, the highlight of the room was the shower. It had at least 6 different heads and the water pressure was incredible. There was a small TV in the bathroom so I was able to watch Sportcenter AND shower at the same time.

I had to leave the hotel at 5am, the staff could not have been nicer. Got me a cab right away and did so without being asked.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I first stayed here in 2001 when it opened, strayed away by newcomers Chambers, IVY and W Forshay, but due those hotels price hikes, I am back to the Graves, and its as nice and hip as it was in 2001. The rooms are simple, plush and spacious, lots of natural light, and a tons of great features, like the 42" Flat Panels, shower with more nossles than a car wash, and a great bathroom. Cosmo is a very trendy low key place to have a cocktail, and the decor all over the hotel is top notch cool.

Nice to be back actually, why did I ever leave?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.