We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Black Earth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stay here almost exclusively when I travel to Mn for business, probably 6-8 times per year. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The restaurant on 4th floor is very hospitable for a woman traveling alone. The espresso maker in the room is too tedious to deal with but there is a Starbucks directly across the hallway on 1st floor.
Check in is fast. Robes in the room are a nice touch.

Room Tip: Rates fluctuate based on events in town , specifically those next door at the TArget Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for making us your home away from home here in Minneapolis! It's been our pleasure to make you feel welcome, and to read your kind words. Looking forward to having you back!

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    294
    113
    47
    26
See reviews for
121
403
40
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently decided to travel to minneapolis for a twins game. On Friday night at 8pm we went online and booked rooms. On Saturday we started our journey 200 miles to Minneapolis. At 2:30 in the afternoon we were driving in the rain and the reports were that it would rain all night and cancel the twins game. At that time we called to cancel our reservation. We were informed that we would have had to cancel our reservation before 4 pm the previous day. I told the person on the other end of the line that that would have been imposible because we did not make the reservation until 8 pm the day before. She said, 'Im sorry, that is the policy". no way around it. So we stayed anyway. I am just letting you know that it is very hard to cancel your reservation before you make one.
Very disappointed in the way your operator treated us. Very rude and unprofessional.
The hotel was very nice and the staff was nice also, no problems there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We completely understand your disappointment, Dale, and we'll certainly look into this with the rest of our team. Still, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you'll give us another chance to show you how much we care about our guests.

Cheers,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Graves 601 because it of its proximity to Target Field. The location is great for a baseball weekend. The area is fun and the light rail is one block away. The room is modern but a bit small for the price.

There are street creeps directly across the street who insist on playing the bongo 5 gallon plastic pail drum set. This poor example of street music can be heard in the hotel rooms until midnight. The staff does nothing about it and recommends calling the MPLS police dept.!

Room Tip: do not stay in a room facing the Target Center as the street creep drum player stays out late. our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We must apologize if the street noise kept you awake during your stay. While we are unable to affect this situation, we're sorry if you felt mistreated at any point during our conversation, and we'll keep this in mind for our future guests. Thanks for your candor.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of weekend nights in a Superior room - which presumably is one of the less expensive ones. Valet parking - though a bit expensive (but, this is downtown...so, not unreasonable, esp. for in & out privileges) - was smooth and efficient. Valets were courteous and nice. Check-in was fast and efficient. The multiple elevators to get to your floor is a bit of pain, but not a huge deal. Room size was relatively small; but, then again it is downtown and space is at a premium. No coffee maker in the room, only a fancy looking, but ill-designed expresso machine - with exactly 4 total packets of sugar/splenda/equal. No creamer, of course. Even a cheap hotel does better than this. Only one cabinet in the room with a half-door (another example of fancy design, with little consideration given to utility). Comfortable beds - which is pretty much the standard for all hotels at all levels now. Nice TV. However, even in a fairly upscale hotel like this, there is a lack of enough plug points near the bed where you can plug in your phone charger. We only found the plug points after moving the bedside tables - they were well-hidden in the nook of the wall. The most irritating part...no free internet in 2013! This is just nickel-and-diming that all higher end hotels do. Bathroom was nice with a small LCD monitor for TV viewing. Not having a shower door, but just a half-wall (bad design), meant water splashes on the floor. Overall, an average hotel! Location is smack-dab in downtown - can't beat that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We wish we were able to offer you a five-star visit, Ravi, but we really do appreciate your feedback. We'll keep all of it in mind for the future, and we hope to have another chance to welcome you back for a fabulous stay. We know we have what it takes!

Best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.