We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Minneapolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
East Patchogue, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Minneapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently returned to Minneapolis after being absent for 10 years to visit friends and check out the new ballpark. The Graves was rated the best hotel in Minneapolis and it did not disappoint. The location (for a baseball fan) is great - you are a block from the stadium and the best pre/post-game pub is basically at your doorstep. A starbucks "in the lobby" is wonderfully convenient and the location near First Ave., the light rail (Nicollet/9th or the stadium) and so many great bars/restaurants makes the Graves a very desirable local.

The good:
Clean room, wood floors, amazing shower, big bathroom, turn down service, great view (request a view of the stadium), two upscale bar/restaurans, very friendly staff, great bed/pillows

The bad: there were a surprising number of loud/drunk/obnoxious guests on our floor that made a ton of noise throughout the night. Taking two elevators to get from the lobby to the room is weird... taking three (or more!) elevators to get to your car is ridiculous. Parking is expensive for valet - if you park yourself in block E it can be very expensive and confusing (over night rates/event rates/ etc.). Cosmos seems overpriced and the bartenders weren't interesting... Bradstreet seems quite inexpensive and the bartenders were quite entertaining.

Overall I was very pleased with this hotel. If you park yourself in the block e lot, beware of event parking rates. I pulled my car in about 2 hours before a game started, then left maybe three hours later and got tagged with a $15 parking fee when it should have been $8. On the contrary, parking the car at night around game time seems to yield you a $15 fee even when you park overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the stadium - higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We're glad we could help to welcome you back to MPLS — a decade between visits is simply too long. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the visit, and we really appreciate the terrific recommendation. Please accept our apologies regarding the noise throughout the night.We'd have sent security up to quiet down the noise or happily moved you to another room. Next time you're in town, whether to catch a Twins game or catch up with friends, we'd love to have you join us again!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    307
    119
    48
    28
See reviews for
127
427
44
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Unfortunately, my fiancé and I were very dissappointed with our stay. We ha very high expectations from being at the hotel for charity events and lived how classy and contemporary it was, especially right in the heart of downtown. Plus, with high prices comes high expectations. While the accommodations were fine, we were a little surprised to find out that there was no pool, hot tub or sauna of any kind... An the fitness center was the size of a bedroom and was crowded with 3 people in there. The icing on the cake tho was that the walls were paper thin and had some very roudy neighbors that were running around banging things and slamming doors until 5:00am.... We got maybe an hour of sleep on what was supposed to be an enjoyable fun and relaxing stay. Too bad, but can not see us spending the money again for an experience like that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Chris, we're very sorry to hear that you and your fiancé didn't have the experience you were hoping for. Our team makes every effort to ensure that our guests have the best stays possible. While we try to offer every possible luxury, we know that there are some that simply aren't feasible, such as a pool. But we try to make up for it with a great location, elegant accommodations and friendly service. Behavior like your neighbor's is simply unacceptable. Please always alert the front desk in those cases — they will be more than happy to help.

That said, I hope you and your fiancé will join us again in the future for an evening out. If not a room, then swing by for a cocktail at Bradstreet. We'd love to see you!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on and off for the past 6 years. It has always been a pleasant stay, until the past few times we have been there. The staff and service has always been friendly and welcoming, and the rooms have always been pleasant. The past couple times we have stayed, we have been woken up in the middle of the night due to the other people staying at the hotel. On our most recent stay, we awoke to a man in the hallway screaming at the top of his lungs profanity to another guest in one of the rooms to open his door. He then proceeded to bang and kick on the door. This all was happening at about 1:45am and lasted for about 5 min. At about 6:15am, the same person was heard yelling profanity at the person they were staying with in the hallway. It made for a very unpleasant stay over weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Jon, we appreciate the feedback. We're happy to hear that you and your wife have enjoyed staying with us in the past, though we're disappointed that this most recent visit was tainted by a noisy neighbor. That sort of behavior is completely unacceptable. If it ever happens again, please make sure to call our front desk in the future so that our staff can take care of the situation as swiftly as possible.

We hope that your next stay with us is more pleasant and more peaceful. Come visit us again soon!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference. Unfortunately the weather was horrible, but it was nice that we could access shopping and restaurants without going outside. I would recommend staying here. Hotel, lobby,rooms are very clean. Very contemporary look and feel, loved my shower!
I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the terrific recommendation! We're glad that we could help you enjoy your visit, despite the weather. Rain or shine, we'd love to see you again sometime.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.