We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not That Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not That Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Heard a lot about this hotel. I guess its location is its greatest asset, directly across the street from Target Center, and a short walk to Target Field. Other than that, there's not much to crow about. Yes, the interior is fancy and modern. There is no parking, ramp or otherwise. You must surrender your vehicle to a valet service, which is $28 per day. The room was somewhat sterile, with hardwood floor and Ikea-like furnishings, but disappointments soon became apparent: internet service is $20 per day (!), the large flatscreen TV is non-HDTV (!), there are no ice machines on any floor (!), the coffeemaker is a French-made expresso contraption with undecipherable directions for use, so we ended up ordering a pot of coffee from room service, costing $15 (!). The most-disappointing thing, however, is the noise. The rooms appear to be well soundproofed from each other, but the noise from the hallway was frequently disturbing. Granted, there was a Timberwolves game and a Twins game on the evening we stayed, but all through the night, the ruckus of returning guests would periodically wake us up, including the loud walkie-talkie of the security guard could easily be heard inside our room. Unknown why security was called to our floor at 3:15 AM. So, in closing, I guess I could say I've had more-restful nights in a Motel 6! Don't mean to slam the place, but come on, this is an expensive hotel. More is expected when one pays top dollar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We appreciate the feedback, though we wish you had had a more positive experience. Having been named the "Best Hotel in Minnesota" by U.S. News & World Report, we know that we have quite the reputation to live up to; we strive to meet that expectation for every guest. Although we would like to offer every amenity possible, certain conveniences are simply not feasible at this time for us.

Because we're right in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, so close to the Target Center and Target Field, planning your visit around events is always a good idea. It can cut down on the noise and give you something fun to do at night after having a cocktail at our bar. Next time you come visit, you might even see a pro ball player in the lobby.

That said, we hope that you give us another shot sometime. There's a lot to love about our hotel. We're sure you'll see it for yourself during your next stay.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    289
    111
    45
    24
See reviews for
117
397
40
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I required a hotel close to the famous First Avenue music venue. I didn't expect it to be that close! And the surrounding area felt very safe and had a busy, cheery atmosphere. Lots of bars and places to east close by, as well as public transport. The hotel itself is very well presented and I was very impressed with the room. Everything I could have asked for was at hand; security safe, very large flatscreen TV, huge bed and an amazing view of the city from my hotel room. My only complaint is that for such a high quality establishment, it seems a bit of a rip off to charge extra for Wifi access. I would strongly recommend to the owners/manager that this facility be free of charge due to it being quite a big incentive when choosing a hotel and it would be a shame if people were passing up this wonderful establishment over such a minor issue. If i return to MPLS soon, I will happily stay at this hotel again. Da iawn, as we say in Wales!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hey there, thanks for the good word, both in Welsh and in English! We aim for every guest to feel welcome from the moment they walk through the door, so we're happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. Next time you're in the area, whether for work or pleasure (or both!), we'd love to see you again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect spot downtown. Right across the street from target Center and a block from target Field. Beautiful rooms and very secure. If you are looking for a hotel with a great location and a romantic flair, check out the Graves 601 and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: sometimes good deals on priceline and hotwire. 4 and a half stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
You really nailed it right on the head! Thanks so much for the good word. Next time you need an escape in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, we hope to see you.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only stayed for one night but we will be returning soon. Our experience was wonderful from the moment that we arrived. Everything was clean and very modern. The staff was excellent!!! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Angie, it's terrific to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have a hard time paying this much money for a room and not being blown away in every aspect. Most of this is impacted by my being such a huge nerd: although the TV hanging on the wall is certainly capable of it - none of their media offerings are HDTV. It appears their video distribution system simply modulates their feeds down to SDTV with letter-boxing. I haven't watched more than 5 minutes of SDTV in 9 years - it was not a pleasure to pay $$$ to watch 8 hours of it.

The other thing - and this is not unique to high-end hotels - although the room amenities say "has high-speed internet", that means you will get to enjoy paying handsomely for them, if you want them -- the equivalent of 1/3 of a month in my case for a single night.

But, frankly, this all is probably par for the course in hotels, and the best MN has to offer. I wouldn't NOT stay here because of this - just don't care about tech if you do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the helpful feedback. Our mission is to offer our guests a truly unique, luxurious getaway from most of the hassles of their daily lives. Although we wish there weren't, there are definitely some limits as to how many amenities we can provide. That said, please know we are currently in the process of changing out our TV's to HDTV and all rooms will be completed by the end of the month.We'll definitely talk with our team about how we might improve the experience for our more tech-minded visitors.

Next time you're looking for a room in the heart of Minneapolis, we hope you'll choose us again. Make sure to enjoy a cocktail at Bradstreet — and you might even run in to a Twin or two in the lobby.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently on a business trip. The room was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable, with high thread count sheets and a variety of pillows. I liked the shower, which had a wide shower head, good water pressure and plenty of hot water, though the open door arrangement meant it took a while for the steam to overpower the colder air in the bathroom. There were plenty of towels, and the bathroom also featured an interesting sink and a TV. Unfortunately, the bathroom TV was the only one that worked, as the bedroom TV wouldn't power on. (I later learned there is a trick to turning on the bedroom TV that involves pressing the remote power button very hard for an extended time.) I didn't have a lot of time for TV, so this wasn't a significant issue. The hair dryer is in the closet near the bathroom. Several people in my group had trouble finding it. There is also a mini bar, which I didn't use; but there is no vending machine in the hotel for that middle of the night bottle of water. Across the lobby from the check in desk is a Starbucks, which is convenient, but it closed earlier than the hours advertised on its door, so beware of that. There are other restaurants in the area nearby for lunch and dinner, and the hotel has two restaurants.

I rated the hotel down an entire star because of its costly Internet. While so many hotels offer free wi-if in the rooms, the 601 Graves wanted $19.99 per day per device. I would only stay here for one night trips when Internet isn't required, and traveling with my family, each of whom has one or more devices, would be out of the question.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Whether someone visits for a romantic night in the city or a brief business trip, we always aim to treat our guests to a little more luxury than they can usually expect when away from home. And while we wish that we could offer every amenity possible, it's unfortunately just unfeasible at this point. But thanks to detailed reviews like yours, we're constantly improving and growing. We appreciate the feedback about the TVs and are currently in the process of replacing them with brand new ones.

Next time you're visiting Minneapolis, we hope to see you again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.