We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great valet albeit a bit expensive, beautiful rooms, outstanding shower and bathroom, beautiful hotel, great location, however, if you came to sleep, that will not happen! Room next door and across the hall partied all night, running up and down hallway, screaming, slamming doors! Three different complaints to front desk, 3 visits to rooms of noise only lasted for as long as as it took for security to disappear. It was 4:30 in the morning before the party ended. Talked to people on the elevator who said they heard noise all night also from the floor above us. At what point, should patrons be moved to a party wing or moved out?! No sleep for us and had to go home to catch a nap. Very tired, unhappy and irritated upon leaving such a fancy hotel where they obviously do not monitor patrons.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in a location that young people cannot afford so there are no loud part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Debra, We're very sorry to learn about this and it's truly disappointing. We want every one of our guests leaving with the wish to come back again soon because they had the best experience possible. Circumstances like this simply do not live up to that mission. Rest assured that this will be addressed with our staff to ensure that this sort of problem doesn't arise again — one person's good time shouldn't impede upon another's. We will certainly look into better strategies to keep our noise levels at appropriate levels, especially at night.

We care about our guests, and we listen to their feedback and hope that this experience doesn't completely sour your taste for our hotel. There is a lot to love around here, as you already know. We hope you give us another shot and come see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    314
    124
    49
    29
See reviews for
135
448
46
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Downtown Minneapolis next door to Hooters you will find a cool spot to stay, the Graves 601. You enter the hotel and see the hip entrance. The rooms are big with a huge tv and wooden floors. There is a tv in the bathroom as well. The feel of the hotel is really great, everything is very modern but still warm. Location is great, really downtown. All the good restaurants are walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It's great to hear how much you love the hotel. "Modern but warm" is exactly what we aim to be. Thanks for the terrific review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

There generally are enough rooms in Dntn Minny that with a little surfing on the web, you can get a good price at this hotel on any night. Not the Graves fault but can you walk around that part of town without panhandlers bugging the crap out of you? It's worse than NY or Chicago for cry-eye! At any rate , the restaurant and bar on the 4th floor are above avg. wannabes think its super...but not really- my cocktail was not good tho that Apparantly is what they're known for. They also promote the mattresses and pillows and euro-chic rooms.(actually more like upscale Ikea)... Pillows were good but rotate or replace the mattress - like I said, don't pay anything more than half the rack rate

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, though we wish it was a little more positive. Like you said, there's not much we can do about the neighborhood — that's just part of being in the heart of the downtown action. But we can definitely pass on your feedback to our team. We always want our guests feeling comfortable, so we'll make sure that every detail is looked into and taken care of. We hope that you visit again and see all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.