We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sept stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morning After Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ROCHESTER
1 review
“Sept stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The location was perfect for the wedding reception we attended at Kerrans.
We were disappointed that our room was not ready by 3 pm. We had attended a wedding ceremony and planned to check in, join others before the reception and then go to the reception. We were unfortunately delayed by the late check in. We also found that taking 2 sets of elevators was a bit of an inconvenience. In addition, in the morning we had a constant pounding type noise in our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Margaret,

While we're pleased that our prime location suited your needs during this special occasion, it's disappointing that the remainder of your stay did not leave a similarly positive impression. Your room should have been ready at 3, and we apologize for the delay, as well as the pounding sound you noticed in the morning. We are unsure of the cause for this noise, but will discuss it with our staff to avoid disrupting our future guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Best,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    324
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
141
488
50
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Summary - The hotel is fine but not worth the price and I do not think it ranks among the top hotels in Minneapolis as the hotel has not been maintained and refreshed to the degree you should expect from a downtown hotel charging $350 per night or more. My stay was fine but I do not envision being back given the other options.

The hotel seems like a place that was pretty cool and hip when it first opened, but started to show its wear and tear and is now living on early reviews. It is in need of a significant refresh or perhaps a more significant overhaul. Those who plan to stay hoping it will be a trendy hotel with interesting patrons should more likely expect to see conference attendees and "suits". The bar could be a fun place to hang out.

There are several main issues worth noting:

Room condition - the carpet showed significant wear and staining and the table tops showed marks from condensation on glasses, etc. The room seemed like it needed a major refresh, and that this was a couple of years past due.

Gym - For a high end, "hip" hotel the gym was a real disappointment. It has free weights and a few machines, but I have seen better gyms at 3-star hotels. The gym is an interior room, so no windows and whoever put it together appears to have gotten a discount on elliptical machines as they take up a decent amount of the space. Note: They call it a gym and spa. This is a misnomer - there is no spa at the hotel - there is a room where you can have the concierge schedule a massage from an offsite company. As an aside (hoping the manager reads this) they have some automated spray system that injects a perfumed mist into the room every 20 minutes or so. It was noxious. In addition, the only padded mat they had reeked of accumulated sweat.

Running on a budget - There was never more than one person at the front desk, which was annoying when there were four people waiting for help, the hotel charges (a lot) for internet access and parking, and they do not provide simple things like a free bottle of water with turndown service. Combined with the condition of the room I came away with the impression they are trying to run lean, which given the price does not seem like a good long-term approach.

Additional notes: There is a Starbucks directly across from the lobby, a plus. The location is good although I would expect it becomes a nightmare on nights the Timberwolves are playing in town or there are other events at the Target Center, which is directly across the street. Very close to the new Twins stadium as well. Not close to the Metrodome - other hotels in town are much closer. I did not try room service. Had one drink at the bar - $15.65!

Also - I read a few reviews that mentioned the staff being rude or 'had attitudes'. I did not find this to be the case at all - the staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful, although in short supply.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, Charles. Although it seems that you were impressed with our staff and location, it's disappointing that other aspects of your stay did not leave you with a better impression. However, your feedback is invaluable as we continue to make the necessary upgrades for our guests. Thank you for your candor.

Best,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We came to watch the San Francisco Vikings game and the twins Yankees game and couldn't have picked a better location. Overlooks target field and target center. Just fabulous! Not very busy on the hotel but for us that was a plus! Made our stay amazingly fabulous! I will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
There's no better place to watch the game in style! It was our pleasure to host you. Thank you for the fabulous review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend and a few friends in a hot tub suite last month. I was going to run in the Twins 5k one day, and we had a game to go to the night before, so we were looking to find a place close by the stadium and the 5k. This met all of our needs quite well.

The people who worked there were all quite nice and accommodating from the front desk to the valet personnel. There was a glitch in our reservation, and the front desk sent us up (with free beverage vouchers) to the Cosmos bar to wait for the room. They also held our bags and brought them up to the room when it was ready.

I am a huge Twins fan, so it was really awesome to have a nice view of the ballpark. It was even cooler to be able to watch Sunday's game on TV and to be able to see the crowd filing in, the scoreboard lit up, and the fireworks going off during homers and the national anthem. Very cool!

The hot tub was not what I was expecting, as it was in the bathroom, but it was a nice touch being able to watch the Olympics on the TV that was in the wall. I also really liked the iPod alarm clock. It was very nice to be able to play some of our own music while we partied. The room was very modernized, and the headboard with the etched skyline was pretty neat.

It was awesome being able to walk to restaurants and bars--and to escape that crazy scene when it was necessary. We weren't bothered at all by any of the street or party noise.

My one and only complaint was the lack of ice machines. Other than that, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Emmy,

You really can't beat our location! I'm delighted that we were able to offer you a retreat between parties, the game and your 5k. We really do have the perfect view of the ballpark — it makes for such a unique game-day experience. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you and your friends back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and felt it was overpriced and unimpressive. It was definitely updated and modern but the room lacked enough lighting and the lobby was dark. The designer's idea of art in the room was unattractive and the who really needs a TV in the bathroom? There was no coffee maker in the room and they told us is would cost $11 per day for a frig. Thank goodness there was a Starbucks just across from the lobby. Service was average and having to pay $19 per day for parking was painful, let alone $26 for valet daily. Minneapolis is a nice city but this place was not somewhere I would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor and had a shower with multiple heads, if that is your thing. Our friends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Minneapolis. We chose our streamlined aesthetic to reflect the character of our metropolitan city. You left some great feedback, and we will certainly keep it in mind as we continue to improve for our guests. Thank you for your candor. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to impress you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

You will definitely not find a hotel like this anywhere else in Minneapolis and Minneapolis needs a hip modern hotel like this...I normally do not stay here and stay at a more business like hotel when I visit Minneapolis, but I did stay here when it first opened and then again in Sept 2012. The amenities changed which I was disappointed in. They used to have Hermes soap, etc and now it is some other brand which is just not as good, but then again few things are. I love the bathrooms because they are spacious and functional. I also like the hardwood floors in the bedroom, makes it feel cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again! It is so rewarding to bring a sleek, modern aesthetic to Minneapolis. We're happy to hear that you were so impressed! However, I'm sorry that you were a bit disappointed with our amenities. We feel that our new items meet our high standards of quality, but we'll be sure to take your comments into consideration. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great stay at the Graves 601. Got a good price on hotwire, and found hotel staff to be very supportive and helpful. They upgraded us based on availability and what they thought would better meet our needs. We ended up with a lovely room on the 19th floor with a great view of the baseball stadium. Room was great, very modern, very comfortable, incredibly clean. Wonderful shower in spacious bathroom, comfy bed, nice biig screen TV Public spaces were spacious and could accomodate big crowds. We'll definitely be back

Room Tip: I liked the bed, but my husband found it too soft. It was very plush, and that wouldn't be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
It was our pleasure to upgrade your room! We like to think that our sleek decor is reflective of our cosmopolitan city. I'm glad you enjoyed it as well! Thank you for the fantastic review — everyone will be happy to hear your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.