We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel made me love MN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
varied
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This hotel made me love MN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I LOVED this hotel....and I really dont love hotels in general :)

Great location and a very, very spacious rooms that gleam with cleaniness and cool design. I almost didnt leave the room! Some nice bars in the hotel and friendly staff. Recommend!

Room Tip: I've given an average on value becuase this hotel really gets expensive at certain times of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
It's lovely to hear such kind words, especially from someone who doesn't usually care for staying in a hotel! We're thrilled that we were able to help you enjoy this great city even more. Thank you for the fabulous review. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

Regards,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    303
    114
    48
    26
See reviews for
122
409
41
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

A friend and I decided to take a three day trip to Minneapolis for a concert. Since this was our first time in the Twin Cities, we chose Graves 601 due to it's convenient location to the Target Center. It's literally right across the street. The hotel is sleek and modern with ultra hip furnishings. I appreciated the low lighting throughout. Graves 601 has the best beds ever! The only thing that kept us from sleeping in was that we wanted to experience as much of the city as we could in three days. The extra flat screen in the bathroom and Hermés soaps were a plus. I must admit, the half shower door took some getting used to. The staff was superb! They were so helpful and always willing to suggest dining options. I can't wait to return to Graves 601. It is now my official Twin Cities hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Sounds like you had a fabulous time here in Minneapolis! I'm thrilled to hear that everyone made you feel so welcome. Our shower can take a little getting used to, but as you've seen, it's an invigorating way to start the day. Thanks for the fantastic review. We'll see you next time you're in the Twin Cities!

Regards,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I booked one night at this hotel because we live in the Twin Cities, but wanted to have a fun 24 hour "date" where we could spend time downtown Mpls, attend a Twins game and enjoy some Saturday nightlife, without having to drive anywhere. The location of Graves 601 is fantastic! We spent the afternoon at Kieran's Pub, walked literally across the street to Target Field to see the Twins play, and then afterwards, walked around the building to enjoy some fun at Shout Dueling Piano Bar. We could easily walk to all of these attractions, and felt quite safe in doing so. We liked the lobby area and remarked that Graves felt like it was trying to be The Hotel at Mandalay Bay with it's modern and sheik decor. However, there are things that made it feel not quite on par with other upscale hotels that we have stayed at. For one, the service was just okay--Not horrible, but nothing outstanding. The best service we received was actually on the 4th floor bar area by Cosmos. It was fun to sit there, have a drink and dessert and watch the Olympics. Fun atmosphere and the bar is cool. The room we had on the 9th floor was okay. Very modern, but was missing some pizzazz. Maybe it was the cheap plastic hangers in the closet (all five of them), or the very simplistic decor--it just felt like it was missing something. The bed, however, was VERY comfortable. The shower was okay, but after staying at a place like The Hotel at Mandalay Bay with their waterfall showers, this paled in comparison. They put us on a floor with a bachelorette party (and we were celebrating our 8th wedding anniversary), but it was surprisingly quiet inside the room. We could hear hallway chatter in bursts, but once tucked in our room for the night, it was very quiet. In the morning, we had room service bring up breakfast, and it was delicious. Finally, we called down for our car from the valet, but unfortunately, that message was never relayed to the actual valet attendents. This is what I mean about the service--just not knocking it out of the balllpark. However, i will say that one very astute valet attendent noticed us standing there waiting, and he jumped into action and realized that he never got the message to retrieve our car from the front desk. He quickly corrected the issue, which was much appreciated. Overall, we will probably only stay there again when we want to do a similar overnight outing and be located right by Target Center or Target Field. Downtown Mpls prices are higher, especially on the weekend, but I would recommend that Graves pick up the pace on their level of service to justify their higher prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
You're right! We're in the ideal location to catch a Twins game and access all the fun of MPLS nightlife. Of course, all of this is made even better upon returning for a good night's sleep in a luxurious bed!

We take pride in offering fantastic service to all of our guests, so I'm sorry if we fell short for you. However, you left a great description of what you'd like to see, and we will certainly do our best to become even better for you.

Thank you for your honesty. We'd be happy to welcome you back next time you and your husband need a night on the town.

Regards,
gravesl601Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

601 Graves is a hip, modern hotel in downtown Minneapolis. It is across the street from Target Center, and we could see the Twins' baseball field from the room. Even on a warm, busy evening there was no street noise although we could hear people talking and laughing in the hallway as they returned to their rooms. The bed was very comfortable, and the linens were lush.They were the most comfortable we have ever slept on, and it's easy to see why the hotel has them available for sale. A room safe, iron, ironing board, minibar, robes and slippers were included along with complimentary access to a fast, working internet connection and a free morning paper. One of the hotel's selling points is the rain shower in each bathroom. Although it may not be the best idea in a nationwide drought, it was delightful. Our only complaint about the room was the "ambient lighting." For searching our suitcases or reading, we had to be sure that other lights were on. We did not go to the bar or restaurant, but they were busy and looked interesting. We opted instead for a pub next door where we could sit outside and enjoy the evening people-watching. The staff was helpful, especially when I made the reservation on the phone. As has been mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is expensive and the parking ($28 per day with in-and-out privileges) seems excessive. We did, however, thoroughly enjoy our stay and would be happy to return if we wanted a downtown location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We're proud to offer a gorgeous, comfortable place to rest after exploring the city. From the luxurious linens to our high speed Internet, you really highlighted what makes us special. Thanks for your feedback about the ambient lighting. We try to make sure that there are plenty of lighting options for all of our guests, but we will see what else we can do to improve. Thank you for the fantastic review. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis.

Regards,
gravesl601 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rooms are modern and beautiful and remarkably quiet for a downtown location. Beds are extremely comfortable and the multi-head shower is fantastic! My only objection was the high cost of in-room Internet ($16 per day) and valet parking ($28) per day. There is no arrangement with the self parking garage adjacent to the property for in and out privileges, so the valet can actually be cheaper. This was not clear on the hotel website. Valet parking also comes with the warning that it can take 30 minutes to retrieve your car, but it rarely took more than 5-7 minutes to get it.

Room Tip: Find another place to park and use the free Internet in the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are truly in the perfect location to get some rest while still enjoying the fun that downtown has to offer.

You made some excellent points about the self parking garage. We're sorry that this was not more clear on our website. We will certainly pass your feedback on to the team so we can see how we can better communicate this. Thanks for your honesty. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

gravesl601 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The graves hotel is somewhere between a business hotel and a high-end boutique hotel. The decor is modern, but I wouldn't describe it as very opulent.

The location is good, near a mall/target centre.

There is a trendy bar on the 4th floor which gets quite busy on some nights and has a bit of the W Hotel feel to it.

I ordered the tuna tartare on during my last stay and it was pretty good, so I think the room service food there is good enough when required.

One plus here is that I found there to be low-noise from the corridors/other rooms, which for my needs is important in a hotel. Also I was not disturbed by housekeeping people in the morning or anything like that.

The main negative in day to day use is that the internet charge for 24 hours is $19.95 which is totally extortionate. Free internet in hotels is such a nice sweetener for guests, and this would really make a difference for many I believe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Sounds like you had a fabulous stay! You really can't beat our location, or our 4th floor bar. You made an excellent choice — the tuna tartare is one of my personal favorites as well. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our WiFi fees. We are looking to improve this in the future, so thanks for pointing this out. Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

Best,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH DAKOTA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This motel was right downtown Minneapolis close like3blocks ftom target field and various shoppibg looking forward to another stay great rooms

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Gravesl601 Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with! We hope to see you back again soon.

Best,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.