We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Dinner Credit
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Modern Hip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

601 Graves is a hip, modern hotel in downtown Minneapolis. It is across the street from Target Center, and we could see the Twins' baseball field from the room. Even on a warm, busy evening there was no street noise although we could hear people talking and laughing in the hallway as they returned to their rooms. The bed was very comfortable, and the linens were lush.They were the most comfortable we have ever slept on, and it's easy to see why the hotel has them available for sale. A room safe, iron, ironing board, minibar, robes and slippers were included along with complimentary access to a fast, working internet connection and a free morning paper. One of the hotel's selling points is the rain shower in each bathroom. Although it may not be the best idea in a nationwide drought, it was delightful. Our only complaint about the room was the "ambient lighting." For searching our suitcases or reading, we had to be sure that other lights were on. We did not go to the bar or restaurant, but they were busy and looked interesting. We opted instead for a pub next door where we could sit outside and enjoy the evening people-watching. The staff was helpful, especially when I made the reservation on the phone. As has been mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is expensive and the parking ($28 per day with in-and-out privileges) seems excessive. We did, however, thoroughly enjoy our stay and would be happy to return if we wanted a downtown location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We're proud to offer a gorgeous, comfortable place to rest after exploring the city. From the luxurious linens to our high speed Internet, you really highlighted what makes us special. Thanks for your feedback about the ambient lighting. We try to make sure that there are plenty of lighting options for all of our guests, but we will see what else we can do to improve. Thank you for the fantastic review. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis.

Regards,
gravesl601 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    337
    133
    56
    32
See reviews for
151
511
54
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rooms are modern and beautiful and remarkably quiet for a downtown location. Beds are extremely comfortable and the multi-head shower is fantastic! My only objection was the high cost of in-room Internet ($16 per day) and valet parking ($28) per day. There is no arrangement with the self parking garage adjacent to the property for in and out privileges, so the valet can actually be cheaper. This was not clear on the hotel website. Valet parking also comes with the warning that it can take 30 minutes to retrieve your car, but it rarely took more than 5-7 minutes to get it.

Room Tip: Find another place to park and use the free Internet in the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are truly in the perfect location to get some rest while still enjoying the fun that downtown has to offer.

You made some excellent points about the self parking garage. We're sorry that this was not more clear on our website. We will certainly pass your feedback on to the team so we can see how we can better communicate this. Thanks for your honesty. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

gravesl601 Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The graves hotel is somewhere between a business hotel and a high-end boutique hotel. The decor is modern, but I wouldn't describe it as very opulent.

The location is good, near a mall/target centre.

There is a trendy bar on the 4th floor which gets quite busy on some nights and has a bit of the W Hotel feel to it.

I ordered the tuna tartare on during my last stay and it was pretty good, so I think the room service food there is good enough when required.

One plus here is that I found there to be low-noise from the corridors/other rooms, which for my needs is important in a hotel. Also I was not disturbed by housekeeping people in the morning or anything like that.

The main negative in day to day use is that the internet charge for 24 hours is $19.95 which is totally extortionate. Free internet in hotels is such a nice sweetener for guests, and this would really make a difference for many I believe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Sounds like you had a fabulous stay! You really can't beat our location, or our 4th floor bar. You made an excellent choice — the tuna tartare is one of my personal favorites as well. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our WiFi fees. We are looking to improve this in the future, so thanks for pointing this out. Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

Best,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH DAKOTA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This motel was right downtown Minneapolis close like3blocks ftom target field and various shoppibg looking forward to another stay great rooms

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Gravesl601 Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with! We hope to see you back again soon.

Best,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a great experience. From the moment we pulled up we were met with welcoming greetings and help with our luggage. The lobby is unique, modern and posh not to mention clean. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful. He asked us if we needed any dinner recommendations and he gave us a few options, one of which we accepted and loved it. We went to our room and my one minor complaint is the elevator situation. From the lobby you take one elevator and then switch elevators and walk past the lounge to get to the guest elevators. Not a deal breaker, I know it helps with safety and it's an older updated building. Our room was nice, clean. The bathroom even had a flat screen tv in it and the shower was nice. The bed and linens were soft and comfortable. My one suggestion is to offer one average size robe and one larger. My husband is 6'2 and it was humorously small on him. Overall, we loved our stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Gravesl601 Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I'm thrilled to hear that you all had such a pleasant stay! Thank you for sharing your story with fellow travelers. You left some fantastic information for them! Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's a very nice hotel in a pretty vibrant part of Minneapolis. Comfortable beds, nice decor, friendly staff - the usual things you'd expect from a good hotel. But what really impressed me was the customer service. I upgraded to the better shower (which is very worth it) and was a little disappointed to find that one of the shower heads was broken. Normally, this would not be a big deal, but I had paid extra specifically for the shower (the upgrade is only for the shower - everything else is the same) and so I told the front desk. The clerk apologized and said they'd have engineering look at it, which didn't help since we were leaving.

I filled out a survey they sent, giving them high marks for everything except the shower and the response, which still got decent-to-good marks. Within 2 days they shot me an email telling me they were refunding 50% of the cost of the room, which was well above and beyond what I'd ever expect (the upgrade costs something like 30 bucks). At most I'd have thought they'd comp me the upgrade, and wasn't even really expecting a full comp since 5 out of the 6 heads worked.

It's nice to see that in a business environment in which profit tends to be king, there are still some businesses out there that take customer service seriously. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Take the $30 upgrade for the better shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Charles,

We believe that fantastic customer service can transform a good stay into a luxurious one. I'm sorry that your shower heads were not fully functioning, but I'm thrilled that we could get this taken care of to your satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your story. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent the night here after attending a concert at Target Field. Perfect location for anyone going to a Twins game or any other event at Target Field. They were very accomodating in getting us checked in quite early. Very nice hotel. Very comfortable beds and a fantastic shower with full body jets. Beautiful setting. Nice bar. Rooms are quite expensive but can be worth it depending on why you are staying there.

Room Tip: We did call in at 10am and ask to talk to the front desk about checking in early. Also you must val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Yes, we're in the ideal location to access all the fun that Minneapolis has to offer! It's great to hear how happy you were with both your room and our staff. I'll be sure to pass this on to them! Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#9 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Radisson Blu Minneapolis
#6 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#16 of 45 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.