We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and trendy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morning After Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent service and trendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night and had a great experience. From the moment we pulled up we were met with welcoming greetings and help with our luggage. The lobby is unique, modern and posh not to mention clean. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful. He asked us if we needed any dinner recommendations and he gave us a few options, one of which we accepted and loved it. We went to our room and my one minor complaint is the elevator situation. From the lobby you take one elevator and then switch elevators and walk past the lounge to get to the guest elevators. Not a deal breaker, I know it helps with safety and it's an older updated building. Our room was nice, clean. The bathroom even had a flat screen tv in it and the shower was nice. The bed and linens were soft and comfortable. My one suggestion is to offer one average size robe and one larger. My husband is 6'2 and it was humorously small on him. Overall, we loved our stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Gravesl601 Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I'm thrilled to hear that you all had such a pleasant stay! Thank you for sharing your story with fellow travelers. You left some fantastic information for them! Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Patrick, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    324
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
141
488
50
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's a very nice hotel in a pretty vibrant part of Minneapolis. Comfortable beds, nice decor, friendly staff - the usual things you'd expect from a good hotel. But what really impressed me was the customer service. I upgraded to the better shower (which is very worth it) and was a little disappointed to find that one of the shower heads was broken. Normally, this would not be a big deal, but I had paid extra specifically for the shower (the upgrade is only for the shower - everything else is the same) and so I told the front desk. The clerk apologized and said they'd have engineering look at it, which didn't help since we were leaving.

I filled out a survey they sent, giving them high marks for everything except the shower and the response, which still got decent-to-good marks. Within 2 days they shot me an email telling me they were refunding 50% of the cost of the room, which was well above and beyond what I'd ever expect (the upgrade costs something like 30 bucks). At most I'd have thought they'd comp me the upgrade, and wasn't even really expecting a full comp since 5 out of the 6 heads worked.

It's nice to see that in a business environment in which profit tends to be king, there are still some businesses out there that take customer service seriously. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Take the $30 upgrade for the better shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Charles,

We believe that fantastic customer service can transform a good stay into a luxurious one. I'm sorry that your shower heads were not fully functioning, but I'm thrilled that we could get this taken care of to your satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your story. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent the night here after attending a concert at Target Field. Perfect location for anyone going to a Twins game or any other event at Target Field. They were very accomodating in getting us checked in quite early. Very nice hotel. Very comfortable beds and a fantastic shower with full body jets. Beautiful setting. Nice bar. Rooms are quite expensive but can be worth it depending on why you are staying there.

Room Tip: We did call in at 10am and ask to talk to the front desk about checking in early. Also you must val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Yes, we're in the ideal location to access all the fun that Minneapolis has to offer! It's great to hear how happy you were with both your room and our staff. I'll be sure to pass this on to them! Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice hotel, clean, comfy bed and nice staff... Room was a little on the smaller side. Great location but major downfall is the parking... $18 for public parking with a short walk or $28 for extremely busy valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! It sounds like you had a lovely time here in Minneapolis. I'm sorry that you were disappointed in our parking situation. We are in a bustling area, and as such, parking can be difficult. We certainly do what we can to take that hassle out of your hands! Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you next time you're in town.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a Twins Game and I couldn't have choosen a more perfect hotel! As soon as we walked in, we were welcomed by a very nice gentleman. The front desk staff were very helpful and polite. I loved the modern look and feel of the hotel. Very clean! Perfect location near Target Field, great resturants and bars. This is my all time favorite hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Mandy,

Thanks for staying with us! You're right — we're in the perfect location to enjoy the game and a night on the town afterwards. Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you next time you're in Minneapolis!

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June when in Minneapolis for a concert at the Target Center. Having your hotel directly across the street from an event in an unfamiliar city is the best. The hotel is also close enough to great restaurants, theatres and the downtown mall, to walk. The skywalk system in Minneapolis is so extensive - makes getting around a breeze. Check in was smooth and fast.
The room was clean, modern and very comfortable. The bed was unbelievablly comfortable with great pillows-we tried to buy some online but the site was not very user friendly.
The shower was huge with a overhead/full body shower system that was so wonderful and relaxing.
The only negative about our room was the sink/make up mirror area was very small and cramped - made it impossible for my husband and I to get ready at the same time and the sink took forever to drain even with the water just trickling- it was not plugged, just a very poor design. We would definitely stay at Graves 601 again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! You're right. We're in the perfect location to access all the fun that Minneapolis has to offer. We're thrilled that you found your room so well-appointed. You're right about the shower — it's an invigorating way to start your day! Thanks for letting us know about the sink. We'll have our maintenance team look into that. You left a wonderful description of us for fellow travelers. Thank you! We hope to see you next time you're in town.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very hip atmosphere, like a W property but with a little less effort. Beds are very, very comfortable with first class linens. There was a snafu with our reservation that was cleared up beyond our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Be very specific about your needs and follow up with a call to the hotel, NOT the general Wyndham nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
I'm sorry to hear about the confusion during check in, but I'm glad we took care of it so quickly! Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again next time you're in Minneapolis.

Regards,
Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.