We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel in a great position in Minneapolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand) (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morning After Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel in a great position in Minneapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is the 4th time that I have stayed here, each time for a couple of nights on business. I have never had to wait for more than one person in front of me to check in and the whole check in process is excellent.

To get to the rooms you have to first ascend one elevator to the restaurant level and then walk to another area for the other elevators. This gets a bit tedious after a while. The rooms are standard rooms with very comfortable beds and excellent sound proofing. I was next to the elevators and didn't hear them at all.

The rooms have a good HD flat screen in the room and a smaller one in front of the WC! The mini-bar is well stocked and quite pricey. Internet access is easy but is additional ($20/day).

The bar on level 4 is great and serves excellent cocktails and has a good atmosphere to it for a hotel bar. We didn't eat in the restaurant.

There is a complimentary gym that is small but adequate (3 treadmills, 2 bikes, 2 cross trainers, a few weights machines etc). I was told that there is a fantastic gym in the Target Center opposite that you can use for $15.

Room Tip: I would go high for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm so glad you enjoy staying with us. We appreciate your feedback about the elevators; we think they provide an added measure of security for our guests. I'm also glad you enjoyed the bar; we're proud of Bradstreet Craftshouse. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    324
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
141
488
50
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Ive only been to a couple other hotels downtown, but I have to say that with the location, the modern rooms and the view we had on the corner room on the 19th floor overlooking the Target Center and Target Field it would have to be one of the top hotels in Minnneapolis.Its right across from the Target Center and next to most evce it has the everything you want in the downtown area.We recently done a once in a lifetime stay at the Beverly Hills Hotel(which was cool since it has the reputation but four times the price as this hotel) but I would consider these rooms way more modern.If anyone reads this and wants to settle for the less expensive room, for the 20 dollars more the rooms with views are totally worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm so glad you enjoy our location as well as our comfortable rooms and views. We would love to welcome you back again soon!

Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay at the Graves. The room was stylish and dramatically lit, with a wonderful view of downtown Minneapolis. Furnishings managed somehow to be modern and sleek, yet extremely comfortable (especially the bed with its luxury linens). The room service menu was just extensive enough, and our sandwiches were delicious, priced right for the quality, and delivered in well under the promised 30-40 minutes. The spacious bathroom with its 5-headed shower and Thymes toiletries, was great.

All the staff members we encountered were friendly, cheerful, and helpful. We had a coffeemaker delivered to our room the first day, and kept it for the entire visit, so we could have a little caffeine in our Frette spa robes before venturing out. And ice was delivered to our room without us even requesting it--just when we needed it for a bottle of white wine.

The location could not be better, with many great restaurant choices close by, and lots of shopping and entertainment options as well, since there are five theaters and venerable music venue First Avenue located within 2-3 blocks of the Graves.

There were some minor problems: an outlet and a couple of lights that weren't working, no hair dryer in the room, dying batteries in the t.v. remote. But the ultra-suede lounge chair next to the window and the actually good selection of magazines on the coffee table made up for that. Plus the pleasantness of the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms either have a view of Target Field or downtown Minneapolis, and depending on your preferences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The showers are so relaxing, especially when combined with the Thymes line of toiletries. I'm also glad you found the room comfortable though I'm sorry about some of the missteps. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Comfortable bed, wonderful multi-jet shower, very timely room service, everything I could ask for in for a one-night business trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room comfortable and the staff friendly. We would love to welcome you back again any time.

Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Graves. We found them via Hotwire and were really pleased with where we ended up. You can't beat the location... right across the street from the Target Centre. Nicollet Mall within walking distance. The warehouse district is even fairly handy. Your eating and entertainment options near this hotel are top notch. We visited the Mary Tyler Moore statue on foot our first morning here and did some shopping on foot. The Minneapolis Downtown Improvement District ambassadors were particularly friendly and helpful. Theres tonnes to do in the vicinity of the Graves.

Although the valet is a nice touch, I would recommend parking in one of the nearby lots. $13 for 24 hours sure beats $30 (before tip) which is what the hotel charges. It seems like there are a few lots in the area, and thanks to the Skyway, you're not really far from anything. We stayed in a lot on the other side of the Target Centre that was probably a 5 minute walk through the Skyway.

The beds were amazing. The view from our room was great. We got a laugh out of the flat screen tv and phone in the bathroom (did not use. gross.). Kind of wish there was a tub in the giant bathroom, but the shower head in the enormous shower kinda made up for it.

This is a very stylish hotel in an unbeatable location. I can't really speak to the value, because we had a Hotwire deal (which was amazing), and I'm not sure how much our room would normally cost. Would like to stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We're fortunate to be in such a vibrant area of Minneapolis with many fun things to do in our immediate vicinity. I'm also glad you liked the beds; they are addictively comfortable! We would love to welcome you back again any time.

Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just spent the weekend there. It was beyond beautiful and contemporary. The upgraded my daughter and husband who had recently returned from Afganistan and were celebrating their First anniversary. We also had a wonderful room. The view of Target field from the 20th floor was awesome. The staff were so accommodating. They were all so nice!! Loved the lounge! There is so many Amazing places to go to within a block. We really enjoyed Seven the restaurant too. The shower with the five heads was incredible also. The elevator was a little bit of a tangel but the hotel itself is soooo worth it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are always happy to welcome our servicemen and -women into the hotel and to upgrade their rooms when we can. I'm also glad you got to explore the area around the hotel; there are so many fun things to do! We'd love to welcome you back again any time.

Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Graves 601 in Minneapolis is an absolute must-stay for anyone looking for a contemporary, posh and eccentric experience in the Twin Cities. Just entering the lobby, you feel as if you're in some 5-star complex as the doorman and receptionist make you feel welcome instantly. The rooms have amazing views of First Avenue and the Target Center and are a simple 5-minute walk from great shopping and dining. The room itself was extremely modern, with flat-screen televisions, an entertainment system and the most comfortable beds I'd ever felt in a hotel. The rooms are all brightly colored and the bathrooms are luxorious as well, with glass showers and different levels of lighting available. While you're there, be sure to check out the bar in the hotel, as they're sure to have every bottle of every liquor ever made. For the price of this hotel, it was an exceptional experience and definetely throws a spin on the stereotypical "Midwest" style.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Emma,

Thank you very much for your great review. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the beds and room comfortable. I'm also happy to hear that you were impressed with our bar. Did you get a chance to try one of our signature Prohibition-era cocktails in Bradstreet Craftshouse? If not, you should the next time you're in town. We'd love to welcome you back again soon!

Graves 601 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave North, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Formerly Graves 601 Hotel Wyndham Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.