We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel / historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foshay Tower

Foshay Tower
821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2910 (Downtown)
(651) 296-6126
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 114 attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Architectural Buildings, Specialty Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: After recent renovation, our museum and observation deck are now open seven days a week from 12:00pm-9:00pm. Weather permitting, both will be open year round.
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel / historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a very cool W Hotel. The restoration was done well, rooms are large and comfortable, and on-site choices of Manny's Steakhouse (bestor top 2 in the state) and Prohibition on the top floor. Love staying here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once upon a time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I used to love going up to the observation deck. Before the late 70's it was the tallest building in Minneapolis. Some thing really worth seeing is the Art Deco Interior. Particularly on the ground floor and includes the elevators.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our 3day stay was for your wedding. The staff catered to our every need, including bringing clildrens dress socks to the room in under 5min. Anything and everything you could ask for in a high end hotel! we had 11 rooms and each perfect. The upstairs lounge is fun and relaxing and the "dance club" in the loby was fun. Car service to anywhere in down town was a plus. If your palnning to stay in down town this is the place to be. Also, the old style and monder feel works well together in the amasing venu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice architecture; very dark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Foshay for about 6 nights while my husband attended a conference. The Foshay is a great piece of architecture and a really nice boutique hotel. The museum on the top floor was a nice surprise - the history of the place is really interesting, and it was free to hotel guests. Really nice gym. We stayed at three hotels in the midwest during this trip and the Foshay was the only one that at least offered recycling bins in the rooms. I hope they really are recycling it. Some drawbacks of the hotel are that the lighting is very very dark. The gives great ambiance, but you always feel like its nighttime when you are in the lobby or any downstairs spaces. Even in our room we were constantly turning on every light. The room was really comfortable, the bed was great with lots of pillows. The housekeeping was somewhat irregular. Some days the robes would be gone, then they'd reappear, other days we wouldn't get shampoo, or the shower door would be left hanging open, and we couldn't tell what that was all about, but it really wasn't a huge deal. In the public spaces, fairly loud dance or techno music was being played fairly loud at all times. It went well with the dark interior, but felt a little night-clubby even during daytime. Complimentary coffee and newspaper every morning was nice. Like all interior spaces in Minneapolis, the air conditioning is cranked pretty cold. On the last few days of our stay we would turn the temperature up and then we would smell an odd baby-diaper type smell, though we could find nothing like that in the room. It would only go away with the temperature turned back down. We reported this to the front desk on our way out. Still, a very nice hotel and in a really convenient location near lots of sales-tax free shopping.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Heights. Great Sights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited the museum and the observation deck. While not the Empire State Building, it offered the same type of views of Minneapolis. Wish they had maps of the skyline at each of the FREE telescopes to help identify the sites. $8.00 for admission was a bit of a surprise but I would definitely recommend the admission's price to any visitor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foshay Tower also viewed

 

Been to Foshay Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foshay Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Foshay Tower to your Saves list