We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher & The Boar

Butcher & The Boar
1121 Hennepin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
+1 612-238-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Butcher & The Boar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,597 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Direct line stops on the #4 and #6 routes along Hennepin.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Delicious dinner with friends started with stuffed jalepenos-different but tasty! I had the sausage sampler-very good, enough to share with a group. The long-rib was the favorite of the group-fall off the bone meat, again enough for two. Lamb was good! Pork chop was OK. We shared sides--battered French fries, red hot brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes. +1bottle of wine and a few beers=$250. $9 valet
Will be back for av serial occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    72
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Leave your belt at home, this gon' be good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When you walk up to the Butcher & The Boar for the first time, you probably wouldn't think much of it. Some restaurant situated next to another bar, I suppose, right?

Wrong.

I'd heard about Butcher & The Boar long before my initial trip to Minneapolis, and I made it my mission on my second trip to the area to get around to B&TB no matter what. On a business trip this time, me and two other colleagues decided we wanted to go. I rang them up the day of to ask about reservations on a Wednesday night, and the earliest we could get was 9PM. Fair enough.

We roll into B&TB 30 minutes earlier than our reservation, and we do wait until about 9PM to be seated. You'll immediately notice all the wood and mellow yellow/orange lighting throughout the restaurant, and if you look even closer, the floor is covered entirely with pennies. It complements the extensive bourbon and whiskey selection they house. Oh yes, if you're into bourbons, whiskeys, scotches, ryes, etc ... this is your place. They have something for everyone.

We sat at a large wooden table, and had a good view of the semi-open kitchen. You could see the expediters, the guys on the grills, the line cooks, and the waitstaff buzzing about. It's a cool experience - almost like you're in someone's glitzed up log cabin. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. He took our drink and food orders, and not too long after our drinks had come, our food orders came out as well.

I had the double-cut Berkshire pork chop, and holy smokes, it was an adventure. Imagine a Flintstones-sized steak, and that's about right. It was hearty, tender, not overdone, and had just the right balance of fat. The cranberry-pecan chutney balanced well with it. I also got the caramelized broccoli, and that was a nice way to balance out the meat overload.

Other items ordered:
- the lobster grilled cheese with an egg on top - looked awesome and tasted great as well
- beer-battered fries - HUGE and delicious
- Texas sausage - looked great
- fried green tomatoes - great crunch and fresh flavors

We also got a dish by mistake that was comped - the spicy shirmp something something - they were actually quite delicious as well if you need a seafood fix.

Overall, B&TB is worthy of its hype and high praise. It's not a fluke that it is a James Beard winning establishment. If you're in the Minneapolis area, do yourself a favor and get here.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I know that they are a beard award winner for food,but for attitude this place is horrible. Chorizo was really good. Salmon overcooked and salty. Lobster virtually tasteless. Wait staff horrible really doing you a favor taking your order and the padding was so obvious is was almost embarrassing For anyone whether you live in Mpls or just visiting there are plenty of other great spots to eat and drink where they appreciate your biz

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Be ready to shout at your tablemates. It is too loud. Food was good but not exceptional. Glad I tried it but I probably won't go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“MEAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is hopping… it seems that it opened like 2 years ago, but it is still busy. Great place to enjoy some yummy drinks and then share plates with friends. The meats are amazing… don't be afraid, try a lot!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher & The Boar also viewed

 

Been to Butcher & The Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher & The Boar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.