We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Hum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Republic

Republic
221 Cedar Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55454
(612) 338-6146
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 1,404 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ho Hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Came here for the good reviews. Maybe they were fixed? The food was very mediocre for the price. The 1000 Hills burger was the most plain tasting burger I've had in ages.

Boring!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great menu, beer selection and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Enjoyed the huge patio and great selection of food and beers. Service was outstanding too. Only negative was the mosquitoes, but it is close to the river and is Minnesota!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good service in the middle of the afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stopped in on a Sunday afternoon for a late lunch. Our food was great-fish and pork tacos, mozzarella, cucumber and tomatoes salad, roasted veggie sandwich. The best part was dessert-- their homemaker caramel sauce is fantastic! Our waitress was great. We'll go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Beer Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I saw this on a list of Best Beer Bars and it did not disappoint. Excellent selection of local Minnesota beers. Also a huge outdoor patio to enjoy on a nice summer day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I go back here again and again for the beer selection and $6 burgers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I should tell you that I was coming in with a preconceived notion about Republic. I had read the reviews on Yelp and a disturbing number of people complained about extremely rude service. I was braced for the worst, but hoping that the cheap prices would make up for a poor experience. Republic's management must have read the reviews and made some major changes because nothing could have been further from the truth in my experience!

Read my full review, with photos, on the Minneapolites blog!:
http://minneapolites.com/2012/10/happy-hour-republic/

Here's the quickie version:

Atmosphere
Each room is decorated in rich reds and exposed bricks. The lighting was initially bright, but was dimmed around six to create a moodier tone.

Service
Actually, amazing?! Attentive, almost to a fault.

Presentation
Everything looked gorgeous on the plate. The colorful salads were a great touch.

Taste
Delicious! Both the turkey and beef burgers were wonderful; I'd love to try their black bean option as well.

Value for Dollars
The quality and variety of beers offered for only $3 each has me giddy. Now that we know how large and filling the burgers are, we'll probably split one next time for an even cheaper happy hour!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Republic also viewed

 

Been to Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Republic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.