We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another two shows you need to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Russian Art

The Museum of Russian Art
5500 Stevens Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55419
(612) 821-9045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 87 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Russian Art is the only museum in North America devoted to preserving and presenting all forms of Russian art and artifacts. Housed in a beautifully renovated historic building, the Museum’s multi-level galleries provide a tranquil and intimate setting for TMORA’s exhibitions and educational events. Now on view: Women in Soviet Art: focusing on the representation and self-representation of women in Soviet art, this exhibition explores the roles and perspectives of women under the Soviet system from the 1950s–1980s.Jewish Life in the Russian Empire: Exhibited for the first time in 1867 at the seminal ethnographic exhibit in Moscow, the photographs depict a unique record of Jewish life in Tsarist Russia. It tells the story of Jewish communities within the Pale of Settlement, a region where permanent residency of Jewish peoples was allowed. Jewish Life in the Russian Empire will be on display in the lower gallery.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another two shows you need to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all, the building, a converted church is redone so that you feel good as you view the art. You can get close to the objects whatever they are. The two current shows, on women in soviet art and photographs of Jewish people in Russia, exhibit exceptional images of women during the 20th century shifts from czarist times to Soviet years to the end of the Soviet Union, and Jews in the early 20th century throughout rural Russia. In addition the text accompaniments do a masterful job do making the image more accessible to the viewer. For instance the large iconic sleeping nude (with her boots on) is explained so that the viewer sees not just the physical beauty but the statement being made about women in the Soviet culture. We are members and attend regularly. This show is one of their best and this museum is one of Minneapolis' best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    23
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem of a museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Some years ago, I went to Moscow and visited the famous Tretyakov Gallery, where I was disappointed to see that some of their most famous artworks were on loan. Then, lo and behold, I came home to discover that they were being exhibited at the (then new) Museum of Russian Art in my hometown! From the outside, it's hard to believe that this former church could be a museum. Inside, though, the renovation with its hardwood floors and well-lit exhibits, is beautiful. The exhibits are striking, educational, and user-friendly. This is now my favorite Twin Cities museum.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Take in a new look at Russia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very informative exhibit we attended on neolithic and somewhat later life in the steppes. Also interesting propaganda posters. Rotating exhibits so you can go fairly often, Convenient free parking just across the street Admission charged

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had an hour and a half for sightseeing and this museum was ideal. It is 3 floors of exhibits located in a renovated church. While I was there, it had a fascinating exibit of photos of Jewish life in the Tsarist empire, pre-revolution. Amazing to see photos of how people lived back then and look at the faces.
They also have an amazing collection of Russian underground art produced during the communist era, which is something I've never seen elsewhere.
In addition to fascinating art, the building itself is lovely and oddly out of place, as it is a California mission style building.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A pleasant small art museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The building is beautiful and the art work varied and interesting. The information about the art and artists is very good. My favorite part was the impressionist paintings but they did have several contemporary pieces that were very good. If you have about a hour and a half to two hours and like art you may want to visit. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Russian Art also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Russian Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Russian Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.