We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch Buffet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorkha Palace

Gorkha Palace
23 4th Street NE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (University / Dinkytown)
612-886-3451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,607 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
minnesota
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

good price, good value, delicious food. We were shopping locally and asked a shop owner where we should have lunch, and she recommended this. So glad she did, I've been back several times and have never been disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent in most respects”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Went there on a weekday for lunch - how many ways can you spell "buffet?" The food was really good - tasty and hot - and the service was fine (nothing special either way). Ambience is not much to write home about, but, hey - a restaurant for lunch is about the food, and theirs is excellent. My wife thinks Gorkha Palace has the best Indian/Nepalese food in town; I'm partial to Himalayan.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you love Indian food or any other type of authentic ethnic food then here is the place to go. The Paalak Paneer was unlike any other I've tried. The veggie pakoras were also very crispy and deliciuos. I am definitely eating here again when if I ever visit Minneapolis again. The service was also great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful North Indian and Napali food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

As I live in Minneapolis, this is a restaurant we visit frequently. I have never tired of the food and the service is wonderful. It is tucked away at the end of the block, so it may be a bit hard to find but worth the effort.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome food. Great Ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food was unique. We ordered the Chicken Sekuwa and the Spicy Newari with lamb. Both were awesome entrees - like I have never had before.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorkha Palace also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Gorkha Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorkha Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.