We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorkha Palace

Gorkha Palace
23 4th Street NE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (Downtown)
612-886-3451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,585 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you love Indian food or any other type of authentic ethnic food then here is the place to go. The Paalak Paneer was unlike any other I've tried. The veggie pakoras were also very crispy and deliciuos. I am definitely eating here again when if I ever visit Minneapolis again. The service was also great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful North Indian and Napali food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

As I live in Minneapolis, this is a restaurant we visit frequently. I have never tired of the food and the service is wonderful. It is tucked away at the end of the block, so it may be a bit hard to find but worth the effort.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food. Great Ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food was unique. We ordered the Chicken Sekuwa and the Spicy Newari with lamb. Both were awesome entrees - like I have never had before.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I teetered between 4 and 5 stars for this review but as I thought more about Gorkha I realized it was a no brainer to give them 5 stars. Their food is absolutely fantastic and the ambiance fits very well with the food. We started out with the combination mo mo platter -- a must! Gorkha is famous for their mo mos, which they also steam and sell at the Mill City farmer's market. I believe that was the dish that allowed them to succesfully pursue a restaurant. Anyways -- the mo mos are a must. We really enjoyed the turkey ones, followed by the veggie ones, and the yak, of course. If you've never had yak, this is a great way to try it. For our entree we just split the chicken masala. Kind of a safe plate to order here, especially since they have so many different things, but it just sounded great. And it truly was great. I can honestly say this is the best masala I've ever had. The balance of tomato, cream, and spice was perfect. I really loved the masala. The chicken was also very, very tender - absolutely delicious. Did I mention that they source a lot of their food and meat locally? That is something I really appreciate, and you can tell the difference in the food. Everything is just a step above other similar restaurants. Service was fantastic as well! Our waitress was very sweet and accommodating. We were there on a Wed. night at about 7:40pm and it was pretty busy. I would definitely recommend a reservation on a Friday or Saturday. They also have a parking lot which is certainly a plus in NE!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and good service at great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughter and I went to Gorkha for Sunday early dinner at 6pm a few days ago. We already know that their momo, nepalese (?) dumplings with vegetable or meat inside, are great. The place is already half full when we came.
We had vegetable pakkora for appetizer. It was great. Not oily, very light, and spicy. It came with two great sauces, mint and tomato. We then had combination momo and chicken tikka masala for entrees. They were both fabulous. The chicken comes with basmati rice. I haven't tasted enough Indian food to know if the rice is good, but it tastes fine. We had water for drink so I can't really judge on their drinks. I noticed though that they do have some wine choices. The service was attentive and efficient. And when we got the bill, I was surprised at how inexpensive the whole meal was. We were happy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorkha Palace also viewed

 

Been to Gorkha Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorkha Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;