We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise, pizza and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Charter Cruises and Minneapolis Queen

Paradise Charter Cruises and Minneapolis Queen
2150 West River Parkway, Bohemian Flats, Minneapolis, MN 55415
952.474.8058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 69 Activities in Minneapolis
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cruise, pizza and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great experience, great service and good food, really. Just remeber to check if they are going down thru the locks. It's great, but if they go just to another way, it's still nice cruise anyway.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    6
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A relaxing time, with great food and a different view of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My wife and I took the Friday evening dinner cruise with friends. The food was excellent, and staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful.
While it was a little disappointing they couldn't go through the locks, the trip upriver was still enjoyable and it was interesting to see the mix of industry, history, and wildlife (herons and an eagle) that make up that portion of the river. They also took us a little south for great views of the downtown Minneapolis skyline.
The evening was at the upper end of our price range, but we agreed we'd do this again without hesitation. I'd also like to extend a special thank-you to the waistaff member who hunted us down to return some money that one of our party unknowlingly dropped on the floor by our table.
One last note - it will cost about $3 to park in the lot (not owned by the cruise company) when you arrive; a little more if you want to stroll Boom Island Park and Nicollet Island before or after the cruise, which I recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had chosen Paradise Charter Cruises to host a Young Alumni Social event for our alma mater. There were 145 attendees, the boat's capacity. We were aboard the Paradise Lady which was a beautiful yacht with all the extras: satellite radio, outdoor patio decks on both floors, well-stocked bar, space to accommodate a small live band.

The real positive that made this trip so fantastic was the staff and the treatment we received from them. The booking coordinator, Kendra, was so professional and very timely with her responses to our questions about the trip. The crew was nothing but professional and accommodating the entire time as well. Captain David greeted us as we came aboard and we were off to enjoy a great evening cruising up and down the Mississippi with the gorgeous Minneapolis skyline as our backdrop.

I would highly recommend Paradise Charter Cruises to any looking for a great time, with professional and friendly staff willing to go the extra mile to make sure that your event goes off without a hitch.

Thanks again to all the staff for a great evening! We will definitely be coming back.

-Matt

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Incredible Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I were stuck in traffic and lost about 7 minutes from departure time when they called my cell to see if we were on the way. They guided us right to the boat.

The food was awesome. The service was consistently good.

The captain, David let us in the captains area and he explained more things about the Mississippi River and the bridges.

It was a very enjoyable curise.

About 2 years ago on Lake Minnetonka we chartered one of their boats for a World Wide Customer Service Conference. David Lawrence and his crew did a great job. I did not realize until I was talking to the camptain that he also owned this Charter Cruise.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Major disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Note, this cruise no longer goes through downtown. Instead it heads upstream through the industrial portions of the river. The sound system was poor and garbled. It was not possible to understand more than a quarter of what was announced.

Unless you are into vast piles of scrap metal, coal, and gravel, skip this. Since it goes very slowly past these attractions, you get a very good view. The food was good, the staff was polite and attentive, but because of the changes to the route, was not worth the time or money.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Charter Cruises and Minneapolis Queen also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Charter Cruises and Minneapolis Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Charter Cruises and Minneapolis Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.