We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Cafe

Blackbird Cafe
3800 Nicollet Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55409-1304
612-823-4790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,596 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were visiting Minneapolis and just happened across the Blackbird. What a great meal! The waitress was great and recommended some particulars. We had chicken and lemon grass potstickers that were delicious. Their "shave apple" salad with a white cheese, and a tarragon/curry vinaigrette was outstanding. I had rainbow trout that was prepared very well and our dessert was, again, way above average. The restaurant is a little tight on the seating but overall it is a great place for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went to restaurant on reccomendation of a local and it was a great tip... Decor / atmosphere was very eclectic... an old 1970's console TV as an acquarium... pretty cute.... waiter was very very attentive..... for a small appetizer we had salami stuffed fried olives.... very crispy.... good with a Stella.... the chicken kiev was like a mini turkey dinner, served on wild rice... with raspberry preserves as an accompinant...; all very good.... it was great foodie experience and would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The food is good (especially the breakfast sausage, which is made in house). Service was pleasant, but a bit uneven. Our waiter disappeared, which forced us to ask another waiter for help. Also, one of the waiters needs to use deodorant. (This is not the 1st time I've noticed this.) If you go, be aware that this restaurant is very noisy, and there are no sound-absorbing materials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great South Minneapolis Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A group of us went here on a Sunday morning, looking to try a new place to try in Minneapolis, and came across Blackbird. They have a pretty diverse menu with great healthy and not-healthy options, as well as small kids menu. I had a meal with chorizo in it and it was great. All 5 of us really enjoyed our food. The menu is not crazy weird, they just do a great job with everything they put out. We are definitely going back soon.

Something to note is that you shouldn't send someone early to get a table. You have to have your entire group with you when you arrive, that is a policy (which I kind of liked) that you won't be seated until your entire group is there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went with my husband and we were both very satisfied. We had the fried olives stuffed with salami, which is a fun little appetizer to start with. I had the Banh Mi sandwich: I am usually not a huge pork fan, but it sounded interesting and was very good. Good beer selection, service nice and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Cafe also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Blackbird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.