We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Cafe

Blackbird Cafe
3800 Nicollet Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55409-1304 (Downtown)
612-823-4790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,584 restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were visiting Minneapolis and just happened across the Blackbird. What a great meal! The waitress was great and recommended some particulars. We had chicken and lemon grass potstickers that were delicious. Their "shave apple" salad with a white cheese, and a tarragon/curry vinaigrette was outstanding. I had rainbow trout that was prepared very well and our dessert was, again, way above average. The restaurant is a little tight on the seating but overall it is a great place for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    38
    20
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went to restaurant on reccomendation of a local and it was a great tip... Decor / atmosphere was very eclectic... an old 1970's console TV as an acquarium... pretty cute.... waiter was very very attentive..... for a small appetizer we had salami stuffed fried olives.... very crispy.... good with a Stella.... the chicken kiev was like a mini turkey dinner, served on wild rice... with raspberry preserves as an accompinant...; all very good.... it was great foodie experience and would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The food is good (especially the breakfast sausage, which is made in house). Service was pleasant, but a bit uneven. Our waiter disappeared, which forced us to ask another waiter for help. Also, one of the waiters needs to use deodorant. (This is not the 1st time I've noticed this.) If you go, be aware that this restaurant is very noisy, and there are no sound-absorbing materials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great South Minneapolis Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A group of us went here on a Sunday morning, looking to try a new place to try in Minneapolis, and came across Blackbird. They have a pretty diverse menu with great healthy and not-healthy options, as well as small kids menu. I had a meal with chorizo in it and it was great. All 5 of us really enjoyed our food. The menu is not crazy weird, they just do a great job with everything they put out. We are definitely going back soon.

Something to note is that you shouldn't send someone early to get a table. You have to have your entire group with you when you arrive, that is a policy (which I kind of liked) that you won't be seated until your entire group is there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went with my husband and we were both very satisfied. We had the fried olives stuffed with salami, which is a fun little appetizer to start with. I had the Banh Mi sandwich: I am usually not a huge pork fan, but it sounded interesting and was very good. Good beer selection, service nice and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blackbird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbird Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.