We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilia

Tilia
2726 43rd St., Minneapolis, MN (Downtown)
612-354-2806
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #46 of 1,551 restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I love the character of the neighborhood - I don't live there, but drove a half hour to get to Tilia. Our server was very attentive and kept the wine flowing. The Butternut Squash Soup was amazing - the best tasting and most interesting preparation right at the table. You must try the Brussels Sprouts too. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    60
    24
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Crowded but yummy brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The place is small, so expect to be crowded and to wait. With that in mind the food is great--although typical of the type of establishment--not cheap. We actually were lucky enough to sit at the bar watching the kitchen. It's like renting a table in the kitchen! You watch it happen! Our 11 and 16 year olds loved it, too. Did take quite awhile for the food, so don't be in a hurry.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I'm giving Tilia a strong 4 stars. My husband and I ate here during lunch on Valentine's day and were supremely satisfied. Tilia is a very small, but interesting place to dine. The food was very well prepared ( we had the cheeseburger, fish taco torta, and an order of fries). I highly reccomend the fish sandwich. Their beer menu consists of a slue of micro brews and the wine menu is adequate. The service of the hostess was very good, but the waitress didn't go above and beyond, which leads to my 4 star review. All and all we enjoyed our experience and will go back soon - maybe this weekend with our out of town guests.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant until last 2 experiences”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love Tilia's menu and location/ambience. But I felt compelled to comment on the poor service that I received during my last two visits. Just yesterday, I had brunch there with 4 family members. And it was the second experience I had with poor service relative to simple things: waiting for too long to get sugar for my tea, not getting the hashbrowns we ordered, not being checked in on for refills, and then waiting 20 minutes for our check to be delivered to the table. I love trying new restaurants and always bring family and friends, but unfortunately I introduced this one to my friends at times when they walked away with a poor view of service. I had great experiences when it first opened. Sorry to see the decline.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lucky this is in our neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We love this place. Consistently great food at good prices. Love watching Steve Brown tramping around in his beat up tshirts. Can get noisy though.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilia also viewed

 

Been to Tilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.