We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for our first trip to Minneapolis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 North 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for our first trip to Minneapolis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our family needed a hotel for 4 days, and wanted a place where we could spread out and be comfortable. We've stayed at other TownePlace locations, so selected this one based on proximity to the places we planned to visit. The two room suite was a similar layout to others we've stayed at, but we were a bit disappointed that they were not as well maintained. The stove was old with crooked burners, so we did not do any cooking as planned. The couch was sagging and the lighting in the bath area so dim it was difficult to see yourself in there! The A/C is very loud, and unfortunately it was a hot week so the thing ran constantly. It was rattling too, but after a comment to the front desk, that was taken care of. The outdoor pool was like a speck in the large concrete deck around it, not sure why a bigger pool was not installed given the room available. Not very suitable for more than just jumping in to get wet! Staff was hit or miss on trying to get help finding restaurants and/or directions. One individual sent us cross town in a taxi to get Mexican food, when it turns out there was another one we could have walked to. Every time I asked her something, she was going to Google....I can do that myself! This all being said, it was a decent stay and while not fantastic, at least we were close to our destinations, the suite was spacious enough and the neighborhood was safe for us to walk around at night. There is a small store across the street where you can get basics for the fridge and there is a small breakfast offering each morning. Just get there before 9; I arrived 9:02 one morning to find the breakfast area already locked tight. Thankfully the front desk sold PopTarts so my family didn't starve...LOL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
20
12
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Housekeeping person doesn't put vacuum everyday...they just ask us if u want to put vacuum....they say that we should clean the kitchen floor...they don't replace the soaps or shampoos until we ask them...this is very bad....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Part of my 5 star rating is because we got a really great rate-not sure how, maybe caught it at a good time ($99). The staff was helpful, the place was very clean, the breakfast area was large enough to accommodate several people. The warehouse district was a nice, trendy area to hang out in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent 3 weeks here this summer with a family of four. We all enjoyed having enough room in a 2-bedroom suite, the location is great, the room was clean, service friendly, kids loved the pool and overall it was very affordable. So yes: recommended for extended stay.

If I had to mention one minus then it would be the combination of noisy airco and the paper factory next door that has lots of traffic at all hours of the day, but this was a minor issue in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I checked into this hotel for a two night stay. First off, this hotel is not fancy. It's meant for long term stays and the room is set up in that manner. The is a small room with a tv, desk, and couch for working that is separated by doors from the main room. This work room was sufficient for getting some work done.

The area surrounding the hotel is in the North Loop area of Minneapolis and is a pretty nice, safe area. There are several restaurants w/in walking distance of the hotel that have good food and service.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in a nice property for an extended period.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deride
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are planning to go to a baseball game, then this hotel is in a good location. However, I had business at the convention center, so this hotel is not ideal for that. It was about a 6 block walk to catch the free ride bus on Nicolette Mall to take us there. Or a $8 cab ride. Otherwise it was about a 35-40 min walk. The hotel itself was clean, but the walls are VERY thin. You can hear everything that your neighbors say and do. The beds are very comfortable, but the sofa beds are awful!! They do have egg crates that you can request if you get stuck on one for the night. The breakfast was a joke for a Marriott hotel. Oatmeal, cereal, muffins, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee. Maybe this is because they have kitchens in their rooms and expect us to make breakfast there? The pool area is nice, but we didn't use it. The parking was $14 per day and you have a choice of an underground lot or one next to the hotel. I parked underground and it was very safe. The area around the hotel is pretty nice to the north with lots of condos. To the south is the ball field, which can be seen from the hotel. The Metrodome is quite a walk. It is doable, but there are a lot of hotels that are closer for a football game. There are some strip clubs down the street, but it didn't feel unsafe for 3 girls to walk at night.
The area is under construction, so it will be very nice once it is done.
I would probably not stay at this hotel again since I have stayed in so many in the Minneapolis area that are closer to everything. Like I said, it was just an ok stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just got back after a 6 week stay at the Towneplace suites at Downtown Minneapolis. The biggest plus for this hotel is its location. Conveniently located from all downtown attractions/pubs, riverside walking trails, light rail commuter station and bus transit. The rooms were large, well stocked kichenettes, clean and efficient. The housekeeping did a wonderful job of ensuring that everything was maintained spic and span.
There are a couple of areas I was left disappointed. I base these comments in comparison to other Townplace Suites I've stayed. First of all, the internet speed was very disappointing. It wasnt even good enough to carry out a Skype call without dropping. As a business traveller, I found that quite let down. The biggest let down was the breakfast. Other than cereal, milk, fruit, juice and yoghurt, there wasn't anything else on offer. The other facilities I lived in used to offer toasts, waffles and hard boiled eggs.
I hope the hotel would pay attention into these two issues and ensure resolution in the near future. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay at this facility. In addition the staff at both front desk and sales are very friendly and competent. Given the fact that I had a corporate rate that is significantly lesser than the rack rate, I got very good value for my money. I would rate this place a 4 on 5 for a superb location and good value for money.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms in the upper floors. Tend to be a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 525 North 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Downtown Minneapolis by Marriott is a conveniently located hotel near Target Field (new home of the Minnesota Twins), Mall of America Field, the Convention Center, Target Center, the University of Minnesota and the Hennepin Theater District. This downtown hotel features apartment-style suites with fully equipped kitchens including refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven and microwave. Downtown Minneapolis' solution to extended stay lodging, the TownePlace Suites offers special rates based on your length of stay keeping your budget in mind. Perfect for the business traveler, Twins fans, theater buffs or shoppers, the TownePlace Suites is within walking distance of the Light Rail/ NorthStar Rail and the Mississippi River. You can relax in our spacious guest rooms featuring Marriott's new bedding with triple sheeting and plush pillows, work out in our 24-hour exercise rooms or play a game of pool in our unique billiards room. Let our outstanding staff become your personal concierge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;