We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Twins Game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 North 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Warehouse District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location for Twins Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A pretty good experience. Only 4 blocks away from the train station at Target Field.
Walking there at night past an "adult shop" or two was a bit uncomfortable but later on found a better route to and from Target Field.
Clean and modern room, breakfast was cereal/juice/muffin/apple, and front desk was friendly and loaned us umbrellas.
Workout room is pretty small. 3-4 people and the room is full.
I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. Many of our guests who are visiting Target Field love to stay with us for the location as well. We hope that we are able to host you again in the future!

Take Care,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
15
14
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waseca, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here in 2 bedroom suite with family for a Twins Game. Easy walk to the ballpark, parking at the hotel was not a problem and the room was clean and comfortable . Staff was very friendly and accomodating.

Like others have said, this hotel is in the warehouse district and not in downtown, so it can be a bit further walk to downtown. As it was rainy, we were able to jump in the skyway system a few blocks from the hotel (Ramp C) and make our way downtown.

I would certainly consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that you join us again whether visiting a Twins Game or just a weekend in Minneapolis!

Hope to host you again soon,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great stay - good, clean, modern rooms - great quieter location in Minneapolis - friendly, helpful, responsive staff. If you want a bit of city with a neighborhood feel, pick this hotel situated in the trendy Norrh Loop. As good as you can get for a "home away from home".

Room Tip: Take a look at the room before using to make sure it is acceptable for your taste - change to a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on being each guests "home away from home", so it was wonderful to hear you say that. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future!

Take care,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The location isnt the best as far as what is around it.. its a little bit tucked away behind everything. there is a small general type 7 eleven store across the street on the corner within walking distance which is great. they have underground parking, outside parking, and street parking. I had a hard time figuring out where to park given the signs are lacking around the complex.. that was extremely irritating. As well as the fact I had a guest arrive who parked in the ramp as well and instead of paying for their own parking they went ahead and charged the parking to my room which I had to pay for the next day at checkout and I had absolutley no idea they didnt pay for themselves and i even asked my guest when they arrived if they paid for parking and they said yes.. i did. BUT THEY NEVER DID! they had to check in at the front desk and get a parking pass to put in their car and the front desk gave them the option to put the parking fee (13.00) on the room charge or just pay it themselves. I WAS INFRUIATED BY THIS! my guess was not authorized by me to charge anything to MY ROOM, and wasnt on my room name.. how could this hotel possibly think its ok for someone other than me (or the name on the room which it is reserved under) to make charges on someone elses room.. that baffled me and i was extremely upset about that. they are actually lucky I owed my guest 10 dollars from them overpaying for a ticket to a party.. so that is the only reason why i didnt mind paying their parking in the am.. if it wasnt for that i would have been infruiated as all heck!!! that ruined by that their.. however the room was clean, and comfortable and very spacious.. we got the 2 bedroom suite and felt it was very large and nice. the tv was too small and you couldnt really see it being it was on the other side of the room from the couchs..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great hotel, great location for a great price! I had an all around great experience, especially with the staff. We look forward to staying again this summer. Can't wait to utilize the outdoor pool area, it looks great!

Room Tip: All rooms have full kitchens which was great for my wallet. We didn't need to spend all of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I am a daily exerciser. This hotels exercise room has outdated equipment and the treadmills seemed dangerous. I really have to say that they need to spend the money to update it. Otherwise I won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were traveling with family and needed a suite for two couples. This suite had two private bedrooms, a large wheelchair accessible bath, and a fully stocked kitchen. All this for only $110 per night, per couple. The location to downtown Minneapolis was also great! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 525 North 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Downtown Minneapolis by Marriott is a conveniently located hotel near Target Field (new home of the Minnesota Twins), Mall of America Field, the Convention Center, Target Center, the University of Minnesota and the Hennepin Theater District. This downtown hotel features apartment-style suites with fully equipped kitchens including refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven and microwave. Downtown Minneapolis' solution to extended stay lodging, the TownePlace Suites offers special rates based on your length of stay keeping your budget in mind. Perfect for the business traveler, Twins fans, theater buffs or shoppers, the TownePlace Suites is within walking distance of the Light Rail/ NorthStar Rail and the Mississippi River. You can relax in our spacious guest rooms featuring Marriott's new bedding with triple sheeting and plush pillows, work out in our 24-hour exercise rooms or play a game of pool in our unique billiards room. Let our outstanding staff become your personal concierge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.