We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year Eve getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn at The Depot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn at The Depot to your Saves list
Residence Inn at The Depot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Long Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great New Year Eve getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and i stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Depot New Years Eve and had a great time. I was a little concerned because of the attached water park and all the kids but it was a great night. The connected Rennaisance and Reidence did a great job to make it a fun night. Plus, connected to it al is the indoor ice rink. Very festive. In addition, since it was twelve below outside the under ground heated garage was a treat, even with the $15 per night cost. Great experience.

Room Tip: Room on second floor was great
See more room tips
Green Features: They seemed to be pro environment. We only spent one night so i didn't get a chance to see if they saved our drying towels instead of washing them.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
12
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth, mi
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot is consistent with other Residence Inns I've stayed at. It's very nice and clean with an abundance of room. I had a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and a big bathroom. I always take advantage of the microwave popcorn too! I had a small balcony overlooking the street too. The bed was comfortable and the linens were nice - not amazing, but not cheap either. Parking is in the garage beneath the hotel and very easy to navigate.

The front desk staff was nice and accommodated my request for an early check-in with no problem. The lobby is rather large with a fireplace, library, pool table and large dining area. This hotel really seems like a nice apartment building!

The location of this hotel is not great if you are looking to walk around downtown. There are other hotels down there that would be better, but this property is probably a bit quieter and maybe a bit less expensive too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here because we originally thought we would be traveling with our pet and this facility allows several kinds of pets. Parking is free, location is convenient for downtown Minneapolis, and you can choose outside parking or garage parking, subject to availability. It is walking distance to several restaurants and has a small convenience store off its lobby. Its staff is friendly and efficient and it is well lit. The facility is clean, but the carpet and appointments show signs of heavy wear and tear. Our one bedroom suite included a small room with tv, couch, small table and 2 chairs, small refrigerator, stove top and sink (a few dishes) -- connected to a small bedroom with a kingsize bed, closet, and bathroom. The bedroom had a tv. Both tvs were connected to cable. I found the suite small and furniture within it crowded, but again it was very clean and seemed reasonably priced for room size and location.Evenings include a complimentary glass of wine in the lobby with a few appetizers. Incidentally, I never saw or heard any pets here, although it is marketed as a pet-friendly establishment. I would not stay here again unless I was staying long term and on a low-end budget.

Room Tip: Especially for women, I suggest requesting a room close to the front lobby elevator to enhance secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the basic free breakfast found at most similar hotels. It would be nice if the TV service in the lobby/breakfast area was the same as the room. ESPN was not available on the lobby TV, a definite no no during college football season. I would think this could be easily addressed by management.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn and after checking the bed bug registry I was concerned. There was a report from 2011 that said room 107 had them. Upon arrival at the hotel I mentioned this to the clerk and he assured me there were no bed bugs. He was funny and joked around with us. Once in our room, I checked the room in great detail to find no bed bugs. We were in room 103 and it was definitely clean-no bugs. Every staff we encountered in this weekend trip was helpful, nice, funny. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Mass
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we travel, we like to get a two room suite (emergency insomnia/snoring escape). This reasonably priced and well located hotel fills the bill, Bedroom is pretty small, but fine for sleeping, with a comfortable bed. Generous breakfast is included in the price. Wi fi in the room worked fine. Fridge is a little noisy if you are trying to sleep on the pull out couch in the living room. But it's great to have a place to sit around with friends/family and relax, other than the bedroom. Easy walk to the Mill City museum, the river and parks, and not too far from downtown. I like the location better than the Residence Inn in the downtown city center area. This is my "go to" place in MInneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can understand how the two room suite would be very accommodating to you. I apologize for the noisy fridge. We will definitely have that looked at. We are located in a unique area of downtown that is great for walks, parks and easy location to get to the heart of downtown also. I'm glad to hear we will be your "go to" place when you return to Minneapolis. Thanks for staying at the Depot Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I was there FRIDAY night and SATURDAY Night. The hotel was very quiet which allowed me to rest before the Twin Cities Marathon. The hotel was very clean. The front desk was very accommodating with any request that I made. If I were to return to the area, this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you had a peaceful stay with us before getting ready for your marathon. I'm happy to hear our staff and rooms were ideal for you. I hope the Twin Cities Marathon went well for you. If you return to Minneapolis next year I hope you choose the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn at The Depot

Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn at The Depot 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn at The Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.