We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a business or a pleasure trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn at The Depot

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn at The Depot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn at The Depot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a business or a pleasure trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Office did not get us rooms at the other Residence inn which is better located right in the downtown. But this hotel has a good location as well. Right by the river, so you can spend evenings walking on the stone arch bridge. There are quite a few restaurant options on the Washington Ave on which the hotel is situated. The metrodome is also within walking distance. For the hotel, the room was big enough, came with a microwave and a small kitchen, which was useful. The staff was very helpful, specially the ladies managing the breakfast buffet. The breakfast was good enough with its meats breads cereals and fruits. The only problem is the menu gets boring and repetitive if you are staying there for over a week, like I did. tripadvisor did mention to get a room on the top floors away from the waterpark area, which is within the hotel, however, we dint face any noise issues though the staff did manage to give us rooms upstairs for the entire 2.5 weeks we stayed! I don't mind staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us for the two weeks you were in Minneapolis. We are located in a unique area of Minneapolis. The Stone Arch Bridge and Metrodome are in very easy access from our hotel. I'm glad you made found the kitchen in the room useful. I will share your kind words about our staff service with everyone. Thank you for your kind review and thanks for staying at the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
11
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is always clean, and is closely located to work. No bar or restaurant in this hotel, but they are located in the sister hotel next door. If you want quiet, stay on a higher floor, as there is a water park on the first floor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on our hotel. I'm glad to hear it's always clean and located close to your work location. I hope if your work brings you back to Minneapolis you will choose to stay at the Residence Inn Depot again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were visiting a family member who recently moved to the Twin Cities and needed a nice place to stay. We found that this hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfasts were a bit better than most hotel chains (nothing to get excited about), but the water with lemons and oranges (in the hallway), free wifi, daily papers, billiards made for nice extras. I did wonder about the notice in our room with all sorts of rules about noise, rowdiness and damage to rooms. Upon asking the clerk, I was told this was because of kids parities coming for the indoor water park. Fortunately for us, noise was not an issue during our stay and the water park would be great fun, if you have kids with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn. We take great pride in our hotel and glad you saw the daily touches we make to enhance our guests stay. If your travels bring you back to Minneapolis I hope you choose to stay at the Residence Inn Depot again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding weekend. The hotel is fine, nothing special. The living room and kitchen area is quite spacious, actually lots of room in the middle of the room that is wasted and could have been better used for making the bedroom area larger. The bedroom area is quite small, with barely enough room to move around the bed (reminded me of a cruise ship room with just enough room to clear the bed on two sides). Also, the sink area is separate from the bathroom and right next to the bed. So if one person is up before the other, the light on at the sink shines on the person still in bed. Fine if you are both getting up at the same time, not great if one of you wants to sleep in. There is a sink in the kitchen, but no mirror, so one person cannot really get ready in the morning except in the bathroom sink area.

The breakfast was very mediocre, reminded me more of a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express, not at the same quality level of Embassy Suites (i.e. no cooked to order items). Cereal, oatmeal, various bakes goods, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and make-your-own waffles.

There is an attached smallish water park with several slides (nice for the young kids who were staying here), but apparently just staying here doesn't automatically gain you entry to the water park (but you can still use the hot tub), so ask when you reserve if the water park is included.

Room Tip: We were in room 203 and it was fairly quiet, although we did have noise from both outside and the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to get your feedback about our hotel. I can understand how sometimes the room set up would not be ideal to some travelers. We do not have cook to order items on our breakfast buffet, however we do offer room service provided by Charley’s restaurant for any guests who prefer certain items. Room 227 was reported to us by the guests. A professional exterminator inspected the room. Thankfully no bed bugs were found. I am happy to say our hotel has never had bed bugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed several times for Marathon/other race events. Staff always very nice. Great to have a full kitchen. Breakfast very nice and its free. Great parking on street only need to pay during the day no need to pay $20 for lot.

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom vs studio is simply a door. We saw no real additional space. queen size pull out couch co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you returned to our hotel. If your travels bring you back to Minneapolis we hope you return to the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This property is located off the main downtown area of twin cities.

I stayed in a one bedroom suite which had a attached kitchenette and living room space. The property is very well maintained and has all inbuilt facilities like laundry, on call taxi, luggage storage, vending machine for snacks and drinks etc.
The kitchenette is fully functional with cooking and serving utensils to make you feel at home and allow for basic cooking for long term stays.
The breakfast and evening socials are complimentary and have decent variety of drinks and food.
The staff is courteous and friendly and the property allows for late check ins.

In a nut shell, I had a perfect and uneventful stay.

The only downside is that it is quite a walk away from the surrounding major restaurants and metro transit and during Minneapolis winters can appear to be little inaccessible.

There is a nearby attraction - Mill city museum for those interested in historical buildings and events.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our stay was perfect. We hope if you come back to Minneapolis you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights in The Residence Inn at The Depot last month during four weeks crossing the USA from east to west. We were delighted with the hotel.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the accommodation perfect.We had a spotlessly clean, roomy suite with all we wanted.The location was very good within easy walking distance of everything.
Our only disappointment was with the hotel's acceptance of our Marriott Vouchers. We had brought these with us,had used them in other Marriott hotels and been told that we could pay the bill with them. On doing so the computer(?) would only let us pay less than half the bill with vouchers. It wasn't the fault of the staff member as he was very helpful at all times. However,I felt this was a let down especially on holiday on a strict budget where all our accommodation bills had been carefully accounted for.We have never been disappointed with Marriott hotels before and this was the only snag on our four week holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for kind review. I'm glad our hotel was in perfect location for you stay. I do apologize that you could not use all of your Marriott vouchers. We unfortunately Marriott does have a limit on how many can be used at one time. We hope if your travels bring you back to Minneapolis you will choose to stay with at the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn at The Depot

Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn
Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#32 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn at The Depot 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn at The Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.