We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large living room/kitchen area, tiny bedroom/bathroom, mediocre breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn at The Depot

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn at The Depot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn at The Depot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Large living room/kitchen area, tiny bedroom/bathroom, mediocre breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding weekend. The hotel is fine, nothing special. The living room and kitchen area is quite spacious, actually lots of room in the middle of the room that is wasted and could have been better used for making the bedroom area larger. The bedroom area is quite small, with barely enough room to move around the bed (reminded me of a cruise ship room with just enough room to clear the bed on two sides). Also, the sink area is separate from the bathroom and right next to the bed. So if one person is up before the other, the light on at the sink shines on the person still in bed. Fine if you are both getting up at the same time, not great if one of you wants to sleep in. There is a sink in the kitchen, but no mirror, so one person cannot really get ready in the morning except in the bathroom sink area.

The breakfast was very mediocre, reminded me more of a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express, not at the same quality level of Embassy Suites (i.e. no cooked to order items). Cereal, oatmeal, various bakes goods, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and make-your-own waffles.

There is an attached smallish water park with several slides (nice for the young kids who were staying here), but apparently just staying here doesn't automatically gain you entry to the water park (but you can still use the hot tub), so ask when you reserve if the water park is included.

Room Tip: We were in room 203 and it was fairly quiet, although we did have noise from both outside and the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to get your feedback about our hotel. I can understand how sometimes the room set up would not be ideal to some travelers. We do not have cook to order items on our breakfast buffet, however we do offer room service provided by Charley’s restaurant for any guests who prefer certain items. Room 227 was reported to us by the guests. A professional exterminator inspected the room. Thankfully no bed bugs were found. I am happy to say our hotel has never had bed bugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    38
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
11
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Superior
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed several times for Marathon/other race events. Staff always very nice. Great to have a full kitchen. Breakfast very nice and its free. Great parking on street only need to pay during the day no need to pay $20 for lot.

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom vs studio is simply a door. We saw no real additional space. queen size pull out couch co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you returned to our hotel. If your travels bring you back to Minneapolis we hope you return to the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This property is located off the main downtown area of twin cities.

I stayed in a one bedroom suite which had a attached kitchenette and living room space. The property is very well maintained and has all inbuilt facilities like laundry, on call taxi, luggage storage, vending machine for snacks and drinks etc.
The kitchenette is fully functional with cooking and serving utensils to make you feel at home and allow for basic cooking for long term stays.
The breakfast and evening socials are complimentary and have decent variety of drinks and food.
The staff is courteous and friendly and the property allows for late check ins.

In a nut shell, I had a perfect and uneventful stay.

The only downside is that it is quite a walk away from the surrounding major restaurants and metro transit and during Minneapolis winters can appear to be little inaccessible.

There is a nearby attraction - Mill city museum for those interested in historical buildings and events.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that our stay was perfect. We hope if you come back to Minneapolis you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights in The Residence Inn at The Depot last month during four weeks crossing the USA from east to west. We were delighted with the hotel.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the accommodation perfect.We had a spotlessly clean, roomy suite with all we wanted.The location was very good within easy walking distance of everything.
Our only disappointment was with the hotel's acceptance of our Marriott Vouchers. We had brought these with us,had used them in other Marriott hotels and been told that we could pay the bill with them. On doing so the computer(?) would only let us pay less than half the bill with vouchers. It wasn't the fault of the staff member as he was very helpful at all times. However,I felt this was a let down especially on holiday on a strict budget where all our accommodation bills had been carefully accounted for.We have never been disappointed with Marriott hotels before and this was the only snag on our four week holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for kind review. I'm glad our hotel was in perfect location for you stay. I do apologize that you could not use all of your Marriott vouchers. We unfortunately Marriott does have a limit on how many can be used at one time. We hope if your travels bring you back to Minneapolis you will choose to stay with at the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just spent a long weekend at the Minneapolis Marriott Residence Inn at the Depot.

The friendly staff offered a cordial welcome before we moved into the expected Marriott Residence Inn accommodations. Our living room was spacious, the kitchen well stocked and the bedroom a tad crammed with furniture.

Breakfast was of average quality, but presented abundant options for every taste and the cozy room with the pool table provided moments of fun and relaxation. While there is no bar at the Residence Inn, the one at the Renaissance, at the opposite end of the ample parking lot, is pretty good. Although a long indoor corridor will take you there, we recommend going through the parking lot to avoid the loud commotion at the Depot Waterpark indoors swimming pools, slides and arcade… On the other hand, we are sure that your kids will love it!

The very convenient location is walking distance to the wonderful Stone Arch Bridge over the Mississippi river, the surprisingly modern Guthrie Theatre (which affords sweeping views of the Mississippi river), the University of Minnesota, Nicollet Island and “old town”. We also walked to Nicollet Mall, a lovely walk along this downtown neighborhood where you can visit Mary Tyler Moore’s statue (ant take your picture next to it!), enjoy the stores, lively atmosphere and finish your day at one of the restaurants. We enjoyed cocktails and good Italian food at Zelo. A car would probably be most convenient if you'll also want to visit neighboring St. Paul.

All in all, a fine choice for convenient access to most attractions in Minneapolis.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We appreciate your kind review. We are happy to hear we were a convenient hotel for your visit. I'm glad to hear our friendly staff was welcoming to your family. I'm pleased you were able to explore the city and see many of the attractions in the local area. We take great pride being in a historical area of downtown Minneapolis.

I hope if you are in the Minneapolis area again you will come and visit us at the Residence Inn Depot Minneapolis. Casandra Kreger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfkeld, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights for our son's wedding. The accommodations were comfortable and all of the people working were courteous and helpful. The studio we stayed in was spacious and quiet. Even the rooms near the elevators were quiet. It was an easy walk to downtown and a short drive to almost anywhere. The bed was a little uncomfortable but not terrible. Many of our wedding guests stayed here and all were happy with their stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad to hear you and the wedding guests had a positive experience while staying with us. Your right about an easy walk to downtown. We are slightly on the outskirts of the center of the city, but it lends itself easy access to in and out of the city. We will make sure to take a look at the bed in the room you stayed to make it is up to our standards.

I hope if you are in the Minneapolis area again you will choose to stay at the Residence Inn Minneapolis Depot. Casandra Kreger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed this hotel because it was the host hotel for the Minneapolis Marathon and booked it 6 months in advance with a great rate. Unfortunately 2 weeks before the marathon the race director chose to change the start line and now the hotel was 5 miles away from the start.

Anyways, when we first got here after a long drive we mistakenly went to the Renaissance Inn portion of this hotel instead of the Residence Inn. Signage could have been marked better to clearly distinguish which hotel is what since they are attached. I would definitely classify this as a family hotel and had I known this I would have chosen to stay at the Renaissance next door. There is a water park attached to the hotel and there are kids running around and screaming everywhere. We asked for a quiet room because we had to be up at 4:30am to run the marathon. When we got to our room all we could here were kids running around in the room above ours. Sounded like they were going to fall through the floor it was so loud. After going to bed early we were woken up by the same noisy kids/adults running around. Thankfully they quieted down but not after waking us up.

The rooms are really nice though and we had a one bedroom queen suite. The separate living room and full size kitchen area were nice although we didn't get a chance to use them much. It was great to be able to spread out though. The beds were not very comfortable but the room was clean. Breakfast was merely ok but what do you expect for a free breakfast.

Again, if you don't like kids running around then book elsewhere. Otherwise get a room on the fourth floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor unless you want to hear kids running around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the rooms. I do apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. We do attract children on the weekends due to the waterpark. I can understand how a quiet room away from the noise would be needed especially when you are running in a marathon the next day. If your travels bring you the Minneapolis area next time please contact me personally and I would be happy to set up your accommodations. I will ensure your stay is perfect. Casandra Kreger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn at The Depot

Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn at The Depot 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn at The Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.