We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People of Walmart Waterpark!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn at The Depot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn at The Depot to your Saves list
Residence Inn at The Depot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“People of Walmart Waterpark!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We checked in Friday, didn't get that great of a rate because it was last minute and had to pay an extra $30 per day for 2 cars. Couldn't find my Priority Club card but really didn't care. Was very nice, front desk was courteous, room was clean and set up with portable crib. Water park was nice, mostly families like us, very orderly, a couple of sketchy people, but nothing horrible. We invited friends and they paid waterpark admission to hang out with us. Breakfast the next day, Saturday, was refilled well, once again, clean and orderly. At about 2pm on Saturday, it all changed. It turned into a People of Walmart waterpark. There were dozens of the most ill behaved children and teenagers I have ever seen. All of the parents were either getting drunk in the hot tub or upstairs getting drunk. It was the trashiest groups of people having all these separate parties. The lifeguards were overwhelmed and were trying their best but the parents were hiding the kids when the lifeguards went looking for them to throw them out of the hot tub or try to keep them from splashing people in the dry areas. The normal families all left and it was just this feral bunch knocking over kids and intimidating people. Our friends came again and wouldn't even go into the park, they sat up top in the viewing area and the party up there was 10 times as bad as the crowd downstairs. Every adult carried at least one beer constantly, many also had liquor they snuck in. My husband complained to the front desk about all the drunks but they said that many of the people lived there so there was nothing they could do. Maybe it is a prison exchange program. We checked throughout the day and it got worse. Kids screamed and people yelled all night long. The next morning we heard several families bragging they stayed up until 4am partying. The breakfast was chaos and everything was out constantly, I thought if we got there early we could beat the drunks, but no luck. We were supposed to stay a day or two more but no way could we stand another minute. We checked out early. I complained several times and not even an apology, when I checked out and complained again, there was a FOH manager, she actually hid behind a partition to avoid me, I could see her poking her head up to see if I had gone yet. We came for my sons birthday and he couldn't even swim the second day. Almost $500 for 2 nights, the first night was great but the second agonizing, we will never risk it again. Probably the only time I will complain to a corporate office about a stay. If you want to get drunk and let the lifeguards babysit your kids while you get wasted, this is the place for you! Nice families, stay away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
14
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mesa, az
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Travelled here for work, super happy they have HEATED underground parking. It is minus 12 degrees at night so the car would be dreadfully cold in the morning for me (and I'm from Phoenix, so really wimpy in the cold). You have to pay for parking, I got a lower rate because I'm staying for over a week.
I've got a king suite, refrigerator, toaster, couple of pots, dishes, dishwasher. I stocked up on amazing food at seward's co op on Franklin street ( highly recommend if you eat healthy, like whole foods but less $$).
The room is perfect, comfy bed and pillows, great shower, free wifi, very clean, 4th floor, quiet.
Close to the light rail and skyway systems, lots of restaurants and a brew pub within walking distance although I didn't go out there to walk around.
Would stay here again for sure.
Tip: there is a renaissance hotel adjacent and I tried to check in there by accident. Read the signs!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn Depot. Even though the weather was very cold while you were staying here. Thanks for staying with us and the kind review. Please come back and stay with us again when you are in Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I will preface my rating by saying that our family of three was able to get 1BR suite on a Saturday in December for $99. In addition, the purpose of our stay was for some family fun. For our purpose you cannot get any better for $99 on a weekend in downtown Minneapolis.

The room was big and clean, could maybe use some updating, but not in dire need. We had a full size refrigerator, microwave and range. Also had two TVs - one in the living area and one in the bedroom. The living room also had a pull-out, which worked perfectly for our 9-year-old.

Our daughter had a ton of fun at the waterpark with her cousins. All the kids really enjoyed the waterpark. There is also a mezzanine for adults to sit and have a drink or snack. Note, you are not supposed to bring outside beverages into the waterpark, however, you are allowed to bring drinks in from the hotel bar in plastic cups. They also server a small selection of beer in the mezzanine (Coors light and Mich light I think).

There is also the skating rink. Be sure to call ahead of time if you have your heart set on skating though, as they do rent the rink out for special occasions (weddings, etc).

We also spent some time hanging out in the room next to the lobby that has a pool table. It's not a game room - it's a free pool table (yes free, how often do you see that anymore?) in a nicely decorated room.

A final bonus was that we had tickets to "A Christmas Carol" at the Guthrie theater, which ended up being just a short 3-block walk. The location is great for the Guthrie, Metrodome or other venues on that end of town.

Overall the hotel fit our needs perfectly for a family get together.

I should also mention that in our hasty departure, we left behind a necklace and two mugs. When I called the hotel, housekeeping had already recovered our items and happily offered to mail them to us free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
So happy to hear your family and you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad to hear the waterpark, ice rink and even the short walk to the Guthrie Theater kept everyone entertained. Please come back and stay with us again in the future. Thanks for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I'd agree with the positives expressed in other reviews - staff is quite friendly (chipper greeting when I arrived at midnight and left two mornings later at 4:30am), the location is right downtown, and the rooms are spacious, clean, and with all items I used in working order. The hallways are quite wide (so much so that I noticed it), so very wheelchair friendly if that it a consideration - room design, at times though, not so much. On the downside - the rooms could use a refresh from a furniture/design perspective. The desk/night stands/TV stand are simply old; the couch and chair are worn. The TV stand didn't even place the TV high enough where you could lay in bed and see the whole screen without peering over your feet. I know Marriott overall is embarking on a refresh of the Residence Inn rooms, and it is certainly needed here. Again - everything in the room works and the stay was good; if you're looking for a more modern room, though, there are likely better options.

Room Tip: I personally stay away from street-level rooms, so avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Residence Inn Depot. I'm glad to hear your overall experience was good. We take pride on our staff and the service we give all of our staff is up to Marriott standards. I do understand your point of view on the TV and the overall furnish of our rooms. We are hoping to replace some furniture in the rooms with a renovation in the future. Thanks again for staying with the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rooms are big and clean, equipped with good appliances and very well located. Beds are comfortable and 24h service has good food options. Pizza for instance is quite good. Connection with Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel with interesting business meetings installations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback on our property and happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one concern is our customer service and glad to hear we meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a week for a conference. This Residence Inn is a very clean and comfortable hotel with large rooms and lovely staff. The breakfasts and evening foods were okay. All staff members we encountered were very nice and helpful. This hotel is adjacent to a Renaissance Hotel. which has a good restaurant. It is a hefty walk to the convention center but a pleasant one and we did not feel unsafe at any time. The skyway can be accessed in the garage across the street from the hotel however walking just on the street was a shorter walk if the weather is nice. Our room had a nice sized desk for working, full kitchen (only microwave, no oven), small kitchen table, a sofa/chair/coffee table and a tv in the den area. There was a queen bed, 2 bed-side tables, a dresser and tv in the bedroom. The bathroom area was large and clean. All the furniture, linens, etc were clean and the room smelled clean. Kitchen utensils/glasses/plates/pots and pans were nice and seemed fairly new. We had Lund's grocery deliver groceries the day we arrived (order on-line) which was perfect.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the parking 'area' was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy to hear we were in a good location for you and your conference. Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyover County
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed here several times. The location of this property is perfect if you're attending a Vikings game because it's an easy walk to the dome from here. It's also 3-4 block to the Light Rail station which can take you all the way out to the Mall of America--of to Target field if you chose to go the other direction. The staff here has always been great and this time was no exception helping us with an early check-in. Although we didn't have the kids with us this time usually they are with us and love the indoor water park.

However you can see some areas where the rooms are getting a bit worn and run-down. But not enough to send us elsewhere. I am sure there are better hotels in Downtown Minneapolis, but for the location, the price and the amenities, it's hard to beat this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Glad to hear the Residence Inn Depot was in a great location for the Vikings game and other local attractions. We are aware of some worn areas in guests rooms and are working to get these fixed or replaced with new furniture. We hope you will continue to come back to the Residence Inn for future events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn at The Depot

Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn at The Depot 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn at The Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.