We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean rooms, but tired look and feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn at The Depot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn at The Depot to your Saves list
Residence Inn at The Depot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Large, clean rooms, but tired look and feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I'd agree with the positives expressed in other reviews - staff is quite friendly (chipper greeting when I arrived at midnight and left two mornings later at 4:30am), the location is right downtown, and the rooms are spacious, clean, and with all items I used in working order. The hallways are quite wide (so much so that I noticed it), so very wheelchair friendly if that it a consideration - room design, at times though, not so much. On the downside - the rooms could use a refresh from a furniture/design perspective. The desk/night stands/TV stand are simply old; the couch and chair are worn. The TV stand didn't even place the TV high enough where you could lay in bed and see the whole screen without peering over your feet. I know Marriott overall is embarking on a refresh of the Residence Inn rooms, and it is certainly needed here. Again - everything in the room works and the stay was good; if you're looking for a more modern room, though, there are likely better options.

Room Tip: I personally stay away from street-level rooms, so avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Residence Inn Depot. I'm glad to hear your overall experience was good. We take pride on our staff and the service we give all of our staff is up to Marriott standards. I do understand your point of view on the TV and the overall furnish of our rooms. We are hoping to replace some furniture in the rooms with a renovation in the future. Thanks again for staying with the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
14
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rooms are big and clean, equipped with good appliances and very well located. Beds are comfortable and 24h service has good food options. Pizza for instance is quite good. Connection with Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel with interesting business meetings installations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback on our property and happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one concern is our customer service and glad to hear we meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a week for a conference. This Residence Inn is a very clean and comfortable hotel with large rooms and lovely staff. The breakfasts and evening foods were okay. All staff members we encountered were very nice and helpful. This hotel is adjacent to a Renaissance Hotel. which has a good restaurant. It is a hefty walk to the convention center but a pleasant one and we did not feel unsafe at any time. The skyway can be accessed in the garage across the street from the hotel however walking just on the street was a shorter walk if the weather is nice. Our room had a nice sized desk for working, full kitchen (only microwave, no oven), small kitchen table, a sofa/chair/coffee table and a tv in the den area. There was a queen bed, 2 bed-side tables, a dresser and tv in the bedroom. The bathroom area was large and clean. All the furniture, linens, etc were clean and the room smelled clean. Kitchen utensils/glasses/plates/pots and pans were nice and seemed fairly new. We had Lund's grocery deliver groceries the day we arrived (order on-line) which was perfect.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the parking 'area' was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy to hear we were in a good location for you and your conference. Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyover County
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed here several times. The location of this property is perfect if you're attending a Vikings game because it's an easy walk to the dome from here. It's also 3-4 block to the Light Rail station which can take you all the way out to the Mall of America--of to Target field if you chose to go the other direction. The staff here has always been great and this time was no exception helping us with an early check-in. Although we didn't have the kids with us this time usually they are with us and love the indoor water park.

However you can see some areas where the rooms are getting a bit worn and run-down. But not enough to send us elsewhere. I am sure there are better hotels in Downtown Minneapolis, but for the location, the price and the amenities, it's hard to beat this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn at The Depot, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Glad to hear the Residence Inn Depot was in a great location for the Vikings game and other local attractions. We are aware of some worn areas in guests rooms and are working to get these fixed or replaced with new furniture. We hope you will continue to come back to the Residence Inn for future events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for business. My main complaint was the bed - too high, hard and a smoke detector placed directly over the bed flashed all night long. Work area very small. Needs a real desk with sufficient outlets. Needs some TLC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Staying here for business. The rooms are spacious and quiet. Unlike other hotels where there highways are next door. The streets here are pretty quiet. There is also a good place to eat next door - Charley's.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked on Priceline. Incredibly affordable with all the options of staying DT. Room was very nice. It even includes a fireplace (not that we used it Labor Day weekend...but a nice touch). It's always nice to have a full kitchen as well.
Close to Mill City museum and the Stone Arch Bridge.

Room Tip: Heard before that this hotel is noisy...was not the case at all for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn at The Depot

Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn at The Depot 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn at The Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.