We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, should be updated.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn at The Depot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn at The Depot to your Saves list
Residence Inn at The Depot
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Minneapolis
Tempe AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, should be updated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was there on business for 3 days. Granted, it was -15 outside (-25 wind chill) the the room furnace could barely keep up; thats what the extra blankets are for.

The room is clean and service is wonderful. What is it with Marriott this last year.. ALL of their staff from Front Desk to Food service is wonderful and friendly.

Its a great change!! Thanks Marriott!

The location to downtown is just right. A little off the path but in the center of action.

Parking is not included and a little steep. (19 + tax), but hey, its heated and underground. Appreciated in the winter climate.

The appliances and counter tops are getting dated and should be replaced soon, but are functional.

Room Tip: Not the NORTH side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Pros: Good (huge) rooms, nice amenities (e.g. breakfast, snack at dinner), nice staff, nice water area for the kiddies, nice location for vacation travel

Cons: Pricey, not connected to the skyway, better options for the business traveler

I am a big fan of Residence Inn's and this hotel is one of the better ones. It's location is great for the vacation/family traveler and if I were one of them I would love this hotel. But since it's not connected to the skyway (an issue in the winter) and pricey for the area, I don't think I'll be returning, at least not in the winter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadofgirliegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Second time we have stayed at this hotel. I'm a big Marriott fan to begin with, and this one is excellent. We are from Wisconsin, and this time we went for the Packer/Viking game on 10/23
Super clean, super staff, and super location. ( Walked to the game in the Dome, to the river, downtown, and even to the Sculpture Garden.

Room Tip: Parking ( we drove) can be just a little confusing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flynnie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Part of the historic Milwaukee Railroad terminal in central Minneapolis, and just two blocks from the fun and fascinating Mill City Museum, this hotel was a wonderful base of operations. I travelled on business, but brought my wife and two young kids. There was an indoor water park for them, and a big breakfast buffet for all of us. The room was big and bright, and the staff were cheerful and helpful. The only thing they could have improved was a knowledge of local transportation: we took the light rail in from the airport, and used the bus system to get around, but it took some sorting out.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side, or the 2nd Ave. side of the hotel. The back side, facing the former train sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teasmuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The hotel location is not very central, it is within a very short drive though. Beware the downtown traffic during game days, parades and overall summertime weekends. The kids water park this hotel offers, together with the Renaissance hotel beside it, is amazing. One tip, if you stay at the Residence Inn Downtown MSP they generally waive the non-guests fee (not guaranted), this hotel rate is cheaper than there though. The property is newly renovated, rooms are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andytravelerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The room was large, comfortable, quiet and very clean. The location was good for me because my meetings were nearby, but there didn't seem to be a lot to do in the few blocks around the hotel. I had to unexpectedly return home a night sooner than planned, and didn't check out or tell the hotel until after 4:00 PM of my change in plans, yet they didn't charge me for the second night. Hotel staff were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Residence Inn hotels are always roomy. We had a room with a bedroom and the attached living area with sleeping couch and kitchen area. They gave us this room using a free certificate. We were there on a Wednesday night; beware if you have children who like to swim. Their waterpark is only open on the weekends; at least it was during our stay. Could be a disappointment to the kids. Our 12 year old was a little disappointed, too. The hotel is attached by the waterpark to a Renaissance hotel with restaurant(s). We enjoyed late night drinks and snacks on their outdoor patio on a nice, warm evening. We were able to walk to the Target Center and back for our concert feeling safe at 10 p.m. Friendly, helpful staff, great food offered at evening reception (dinner food really, not just snacks), free breakfast; we would return again for a convenient downtown Minneapolis stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about waterpark days/hours if you're interested in swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn at The Depot

Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn at The Depot 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing