We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot to your Saves list
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have never had such a wonderful experience!!! The staff there was awesome and the rooms were great!!! The ice skating and swimming was such a neat experience!!! Will go there every time!!! Don't miss this it is a must see!!! Definitely for all ages !!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany e, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Keke L-

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you were able to use the waterpark and ice rink and that you enjoyed yourselves. We take great pride in offering a family-friendly hotel in the downtown area. We hope you have a chance to stay with us again sometime soon. Thank you again for your fantastic review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    132
    32
    19
    12
See reviews for
90
49
19
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Role model for guest service and providing luxury hospitality. He works safely, calmly and respectfully with dedication and passion. Thanks to Tom at the front desk for all he did in making our stay enjoyable! The guest room were clean and inviting.The in room dining in the for dinner was delicious. Thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany e, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Elise A-

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding Tom and his dedication to great customer service. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to recognize Tom for all of his hard work. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to having you again soon!

Brittany E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Depot in Minneapolis. The staff were all wonderful! Upon check in we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite which we greatly appreciated. The room was fantastic and was very clean. We didn't dine in the restaurant but we did stop and ave a few cocktails in the lobby bar before heading out in downtown for dinner. The service again was exceptional. We had a wonderful evening at the Renaissance and I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany e, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Ajacks 1028,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. It is a great pleasure for me to hear that our staff was wonderful and that we were able to provide a complimentary upgrade during your stay. We love being able to surprise and delight our guests whenever possible. I'm also happy to hear that the service in the lobby bar was just as satisfactory. We strive to make our guests feel welcome in every area of the hotel and I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the Stone Arch Bar staff. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon and look forward to offering you the same level of service you experienced during your recent visit. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I, and one of my daughter's family stayed here for a 2 night visit to attend a wedding. The rooms are very nice and clean. We purchased the valet service for $26 which was nice to have them help load and unload our car. The breakfast buffet is pretty good, but costs $16. Not too high for downtown Mpls. though. Our grandkids loved the pool area with all of its slides, and the skating rink is beautiful. They could have better coffee in the room, but good coffee is available in the breakfast area to take to your room. It is only 3 blocks to the train to the Mall of America. That was attractive to our shoppers, but a snowstorm prevented us from going. Had a great evening meal in the restaurant too. Both breakfast and dinner service were excellent. I guess our only real complaint was some people yelling in the hallway about 4AM, but you can't blame the hotel for people like that!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany e, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dave425,

Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the waterpark as well as the ice rink during your visit. We love that our property provides some distinctive 'extras' for our guests to enjoy in the downtown area. I'm sorry to hear about the issue you had with noise while visiting and I will be sure to pass that information on to our overnight staff so we are more aware of it in the future. I'm happy to hear that you also enjoyed the convenience of our Valet service and that they were helpful in getting you to and from the room. We hope to see you again soon and maybe next time you'll be able to utilize the light rail! Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Got a great price (nearly half off) for a Thursday night stay while attending a conference at Minneapolis Convention Center. Rooms are new and very plush. Comfortable beds. My friends car was broken into at a different ramp, the only thing I lost was my car keys. When I arrived back to the hotel late Thursday night after "networking" I informed the front desk what had happened. The staff felt terrible and gave info on who to contact in the morning. They also offered a complimentary drink! I was very impressed with the staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany e, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
oldgoalie,

Thank you for the 5 star review and for taking the time out of your day to share your experiences with us. I'm sorry to hear about you and your friend's mishap while visiting Minneapolis! I am happy to hear that we were able to provide information on who to contact the next morning and I hope the complimentary drink helped you unwind after what sounds like a long day. We hope to see you again soon, and with no mishaps next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had to stay in the hotel as a last minute arrangement. I was thrilled with the help and enthusiasm of the staff, and I found the room to be very, very comfortable. This was a terrific experience, and I highly recommend this hotel - it was joy to stay there last night! Jay F

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Jfprod,

Thank you for the 5-star review and taking the time to share your experience. I’m happy to hear the staff was enthusiastic and helpful during your stay. We hope you will return on your next visit to the Minneapolis area.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decided to go to this hotel last minute on New Year’s Eve. We liked the idea of it being connected to the Ice Skating Rink. We also looked at the menu of the hotel restaurant and thought it looked decent enough. We arrived at the hotel, the staff was very friendly however not much of a lobby. It was freezing out and there was no relief as you waited for your room from the cold. We upgraded to the suite, very roomy, older furniture but bed was comfortable and clean. We stayed in the historic suite and could everything from above us. The hotel restaurant had no doors to it and looked more like a buffet type restaurant than the sit down restaurant that we were hoping for. We cancelled our reservations and decided to take a taxi to Oceanaire. I would say that this hotel is very average. People were very friendly and the rink was amazing. Next year we are thinking of getting another hotel room at a nicer hotel and then cabbing it over to the rink. There is a water park and we didn't have time to check this out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Stephanie P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m happy to hear your encountered friendly people and you thought the ice rink was amazing. I’m disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in the restaurant or during the arrival process with the cold draft coming through the lobby. We look forward to seeing you back at the ice rink next year.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley’s Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink, Residence Inn by Marriott and year round water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.