We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay. Great Venue for a Christmas Party!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay. Great Venue for a Christmas Party!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here for a company Christmas party and had a great time! The rooms were awesome. The breakfast was so good but the best part was the ice skating rink for which the party was held. Yup, I said the rink was where the party was held. They transformed the rink into a full on party and dance room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Kal S,
I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday party! The transformation of the ice rink to an event space is spectacular. I’m glad you were able to see it. Please come visit us again!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    115
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
44
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is another good example (of several I have stayed at) of a Marriott hotel that reuses a historic building and results in character and a pleasant retro ambience. Overall a very nice one-night business trip stop that begged for a longer stay. The rooms have more scenic views than the typical downtown Minneapolis hotel where the view is another office tower. The Guthrie Theater was a four-block walk. A minor downside was the missing downtown vibe being several blocks from the downtown center.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Oski_Bear_DC
We wish you could have stayed longer as well! Thanks for thinking of us and writing such a nice review. If you are ever traveling back to the Minneapolis area we would be happy to host you again.
All the best,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent the Thanksgiving weekend at the Depot. This was our first stay at this hotel but have been to MPLS many times. There were two adults and one child, and we were upgraded to a suite because my husband is a frequent Marriott guest. The suite is perfect for a family as the couch is a sofa bed. The bathroom, large with great shower, is on that side of suite with French doors to master ( no bathroom). I would highly recommend requesting " old" side of depot, each room is unique and even the hallways seem authentically antique. Rooms were quite, even with road outside window. Service was friendly and responsive. Room service was excellent as well. Only issues were no safe in room, two lights and broken make-up mirror and one bathrobe. The staff offered to fix all but without a safe we didn't want people in and out of room. Ice rink was large and decent , although ice not surfaced enough if you are a figure skater, fine for general population. It's a few blocks to downtown restaurants, which can seem like a loooong walk in 9 degree weather, but in normal weather, easily accessible. Downtown MPLS had several great, fun restaurants and the 8 floor Holiday Display ( a longtime tradition for MPLS ) is well worth the trip. I wish there were more shops, Saks and Neiman Marcus closed as did many others but if you are looking for a family fun weekend downtown, I would highly recommend the Depot. Last point- it is incredibly reasonably priced ! Also has water park but did not see it. Also , self park, valet will help with luggage but lot right at hotel ( adjoined to Residence Inn).

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Chefintraining4ever,
Thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving weekend with us! I’m happy to hear you had the opportunity to experience one of our historic suites, ice skating rink and the holiday display downtown! We hope you will be back to visit us again in the future.
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We will be taken another trip to Minneapolis in about 10 days and are looking forward to another stay at this property. The staff is personable and professional, the location is very convenient, and the hotel offers something for all types of travelers. This is a great option in a great city filled with wonderful restaurants and activities. See you soon!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depotmgr, General Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks Tony! It's turned into a winter wonderland since your last visit. Be sure to bring your warm coat! Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The staff was friendly and the property was clean. The only strange bit was having a jacuzzi in my room. Call me crazy, but I prefer to have my tub in the bathroom and not next to the bed. The breakfast buffet was generous and getting a taxi was easy. The guy at the desk made a nice recommendation for dinner.

Room Tip: Skip the spa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
GatsbyUSA,

I'm happy to hear that you encountered friendly staff and you found the property to be clean. Our spa suites do have the Jacuzzi's outside of the bathroom which I understand is a bit uncommon. If you return to our hotel in the future I would recommend checking out our historic suites which have a more traditional set-up with unique decor. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Iowa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Excellent parking, very friendly desk staff, clean rooms, quiet surroundings and, through these are the basics, the Depot has more to offer. I recommend the hotel's bar, both extremely calm and comfortable, with a polite, prompt staff to boot. The Depot's restaurant is also above average and serves a morning buffet for a reasonable price. Finally the location, within walking distance of many bars and eating establishments, is an added plus. Perhaps the only draw back might be the lodging's price, not over the top but a tad steep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Augustleroy,

Thank you so much for your review. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to spend time enjoying the hotel and also had the opportunity to get out and explore the local area. We certainly hope you will visit us again in the future.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a great hotel that was once an old train station. You can still see some of the waiting rooms with the marble and towering ceilings. I love places like this. Best part of this hotel is the bar/restaurant area. It's the hub of the hotel. Right off the main lobby, it's just a very comfortable space with lots of different types of seating, very good food and it can be for a casual meetup with other guests or a casual business meeting, it serves alot of purposes. The bar itself has a bunch of comfortable stools, nice selection of beers and it's nicely incorporated into the space. I sampled alot of the food over the 4 days of my visit and everything was good. The staff throughout the hotel was very friendly. They seemed like they enjoyed working there. The hotel is in an ok, location, not right downtown but just a few minute walk to lots of different neighborhoods. I found a great japanese restaurant just a block down, I think they call this the warehouse district because there alot of old factories that have been turned into apartments. It's a hip area and it was exactly what I was looking for. The room was very comfortable and quiet. And the elevator was quick. I have a little pet peeve with hotels where you have to wait 5 minutes every time you press the floor button. This one is super quick and came in a jiff over the probably 50 trips up and down I did over 4 days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
View2mtn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m happy to hear you were able to explore areas of the hotel as well as the warehouse district. I’m also happy to hear you had a pleasant experience with the hotel staff and got to enjoy the bar and restaurant while you were our guest. Please come back and see us again soon!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley’s Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink, Residence Inn by Marriott and year round water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.