We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall....nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overall....nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall, it is a nice hotel. I travel a lot and typically chose Renaissance hotels as I like their conceirge lounge. When I compare this to the others in Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, St Louis, Kansas City and DC, it ranks lower as the lounge setup and menu is basic. The rooms so far have all been the same, and they are fine but are on the smaller side (no couch).

Room Tip: In all my stays, every room has been identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depotmgr, General Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the review. Since your stay, we have rolled out a new Beverage and Food menu that I think you may appreciate. We also have 22 historic suites and I would be happy to upgrade you should one be available during your next visit. Please feel free to email me at mclark@TheDepotMinneapolis.com the next time that you are coming to town.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    105
    27
    19
    12
See reviews for
78
38
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The suite was beautiful and very accommodating. We traveled with our two small dogs and everyone treated them as distinguished guests of the hotel! The doggie gift bag was especially thoughtful. We enjoyed relaxing on the patio as well as dinner and music in the lounge. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depotmgr, General Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Being pet friendly is new for us and I'm glad that we are now an option for you.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Rolls Mountain Park, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What an amazing find! The Depot was a delightful surprise at the end of our vacation! We just needed a room for the night but instead we got over 900 square feet of LUXURY!!! We got a great deal and they gave us a suite in this beautiful old train station! They have theses statues they call their "Ghost". They are statues of people that would have been at the depot during its heyday! They have a water park and ice rink but those are just extras! Our suite had a dining area, a living area all with period furniture. The bedroom had two windows with a wonderful view of the city, window seats to sit and enjoy watching out the window. King size bed with a love seat at the end of the bed, two closets and a tv in the cabinet if you don't want to see it! Then you go into a an amazing bathroom with a vanity area with double sinks, magnifying mirror and a coffee and tea bar. Then you walk into the bathroom with a huge jacuzzi tub and a separate glass shower for two!
We hit the jackpot with this amazing hotel! We will be coming back to Minneapolis not for the city but to stay at "The Depot"! The service from everyone was top of the line! They were pleasant and always helpful! We can't wait to go back! Two thumbs up for this incredible place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the old depot side where it takes you back in time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depotmgr, General Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the historic suite and hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed alone Sat.-Mon. mid-August 2013. I normally stay next door at Residence Inn, but Renaissance rate of $139 was better, as the front desk staff kindly informed and switched me. Staff at Renaissance just as pleasant; rooms lovely, clean, quiet; bathroom not palatial but just fine; parking (avg. $17.50/day!! compared to Chicago's $60 several weeks ago) was simple and convenient; location perfect for me (with University and fav breki joint [Moose and Sadie's] near by, and St. Paul destinations - access to freeways no problem). The very attractive courtyard bar can be LIVELY at night so north- or east-side room may be preferable. I definitely will return.

Room Tip: Dunn Bros. coffee and yummies - next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Martha P, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the kind comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Renaissance. We hope to see you again, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is fairly basic as business hotels go. Nothing exceptional and certainly not luxurious. The WIFI in the rooms barely qualifies for Internet service. Pages take several seconds to refresh when doing normal browsing. Don't even think about watching a Netflix program on your iPad.

The real turnoff is their "signature" room fragrance. To me at least, it smells a bit like putting your face in grandma's purse. Essence of Juicy Fruit, lip stick, breath mints, and used Kleenex. Not nice. They say that they can "try" to not spray your room during housekeeping; but no guarantees since it is a signature service which most of their guests appreciate.

Room Tip: On summer weekends, ask for a room which is not on the central courtyard. The bar is open until 1:0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
TJ1SanFrancisco_CA
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our room fragrance was not to your liking. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and we are committed to finding alternative options. Within the last two weeks we have updated our WiFi broadband to improve the speed and quality of our services. Thank you for staying as our guest and hope you will return to our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Making the reservation thru their 1-800 number was rather disappointing. The employee's were not knowledgeable nor helpful over the phone, or in person for that matter. We had choose the option to check in early if available, and ended up having to wait an hour after their posted check in time before actually being able to check in. The pool hours were never presented to us... For a family with two small children that were pretty excited to play at this awesome pool I find It odd that at no point in the reservation, or check in conversations did any staff mentioned that their pool is only open from 9am to 3pm on Sunday and not open on Mondays.. when our stay was a Saturday thru Monday. The housekeeping staff entered our room while our children were napping and we had to ask them to leave, twice before they actually left. They handed us an extra card "for parking" they said, but failed to explain their little parking system so we ended up paying for our parking during our stay. Again, Disappointing considering we had choose a room rate for our stay that included both our parking and swimming fees. I called to speak to the manager of the hotel a few days after we left, asked to speak to the General Manager. I was then put directly into the Assistant Managers voicemail, I left a message and haven't heard a thing, that was 6 days ago. I'm still pretty bummed that we wasted so much time, energy, and money on this place. For our third night we went and stayed at a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Leslie B,
I’m so sorry for your poor experience during your stay with us. I can image it was very frustrating to not receive proper explanation of the waterpark and parking. I’m disappointed to hear we were not able to make this a positive experience for you and your family and that you had to relocate because of it. I’m concerned that you did not receive a call back from a manager and would like to investigate that further. I would like to opportunity to speak with you personally and I can be reached at 612.758.7870. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I travel a great deal for business and pleasure and have come to expect certain things from a higher end Marriott property due to being Platinum members. I had great expectations for the rooms but it was smaller than a Courtyard property would be and the bathroom area no better than a Fairfield. If you are expecting luxury accommodations that are typical of a Renaissance, don't stay here! We checked out after one day and moved to another property for the remainder of our 1 week stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
MelissaD20,
I’m very sorry to hear that the design of our rooms did not meet your expectations. I feel very badly that you had to relocate to another hotel because of it. We certainly appreciate you sharing your comments and concerns with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley’s Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink, Residence Inn by Marriott and year round water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.