We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot to your Saves list
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Minneapolis
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at the Depot for a conference and it was lovely. There is an old part and a new part of this hotel and both of them were fine (some of my friends stayed in the older part). The rooms were clean and large enough and the staff was very helpful. The only issue that I had was that I had requested a King bed and got a room with 2 doubles. When I checked in, I was told that I could call each day to see if a King room had opened up, but I’m not sure why I would need to do that since I had originally requested it in the first place. . .so, if you really want a specific type of room, you might be disappointed. Leaving that aside, the room I had was quiet and the bed was comfortable. I ate at the restaurant downstairs and the food was very good – especially the lunch buffet. The buffet included tacos, burritos, soup, and dessert and the price was very reasonable. There aren’t many restaurants nearby so if you are tight on time, you will be eating there. Fortunately it was good. If you have some time to walk around, there is a good Japanese restaurant (Origami) several blocks away. If you have a car, there is a Thrift store that has a Target outlet in the basement and you can find some good deals there on (new) clothes, household items, etc. All in all, a nice place to stay if you are visiting MN

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depotmgr, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks you for your nice comments and I'm sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request for a room with two beds. I would be happy to help you with this personally the next time that you stay with us. And, I will make sure that Randee (restaurant manager) and Chef Sam are thanked on your behalf. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pros: Small but fun waterpark, 10 minute walk to metro station, Clean rooms, Safe neighborhood (even at midnight with a 9 year old), great coffee house next to the hotel (coffee great, food items not so good)
Cons: Front staff was not helpful when asked about the surrounding area ("I'm not from the area" is not a sufficient response for any hotel front desk person), 20 minute walk to the heart of downtown (wish we stayed closer to the action), besides the coffee house there is no other restaurant or mini market near the hotel within a 20 minute walk, Strip club and erotic store a block from the hotel (may be fine for singles or couple, but being that I traveled with a family it wasn't great since these places must be passed when you walk to the metro).

Overall it's a nice hotel, but the lack of restaurants or convenience store made it hard to maneuver if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCNM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
NCNM1976,
Thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear you and your family had fun in the waterpark. I’m disappointed to hear about your experience with the front desk staff. At The Renaissance we encourage our staff to share their local recommendations with all of our guests. The type of response you received is unacceptable and was addressed with our staff. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Front desk staff was very helpful in checking me in early. Place was nice and the room was OK except that the A/C was making a loud rattling noise keeping me up most of the night. The hotel was not connected to the sky way but only a couple of blocks away. Walking distance to the bus and train line.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. I'm happy to hear the desk was helpful at check in. I would like to apologize for the loud noises you experienced from the A/C unit in your room and I will make sure that is looked into. Please come visit us again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only because it was the hosting place for the Twin Cities Marathon. I needed a good nights sleep...seeing I was going to run a marathon in the morning. I should have took note that that wouldn't happen after reading previous reviews. The room was LOUD...from outside noise...to even all the people walking in the halls. I would get up numerous times just to turn on the AC to try to drown out the racket...needless to say I slept like crap, even though the bed was very comfortable. Also, we could not get out of the parking ramp...we had the key card and the arm still would not go up...this was very upsetting seeing we needed to be at the start line of the marathon and not really knowing where to go! We kept buzzing the attendant and FINALLY they raised the arm up! I had to leave later that day due to an unexpected death in my family...I mistakenly took the parking key cards with me. When my friends tried to leave the next day they charged them again (after already paying!!!!) for parking because they didn't have the key cards (which got billed to my credit card!!!!!). Overall, not happy with this place at all. I will not be back...to many other GOOD options in the area. Oh, the bell boy was great...that was probably the best thing I can say about this hotel. And I'm NOT a negative person...all my reviews are usually "good" reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. I can understand your frustrations especially when preparing for a marathon. I apologize that your experience was unpleasant due to noise from the street and hallway, the delay at the parking gate and the duplicate charge for parking. We will certainly use your review as an opportunity to improve. I again apologize for the unpleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a great extended weekend stay at the Depot. The front desk staff was really helpful and friendly. With the exception of one waitress at the bar, all the restaurant staff earned large tips. The bar stays open late and had great ambiance; we felt like we were gathered in someone's study or library. The kitchen made great appetizers and the hotel had something for everyone. We never made it to the water park/pool, but walked through to meet up with other members of our part in the Residence Stay side. Really comfortable beds and quiet rooms. There's a coffee shop on the corner and it is just blocks from the blue line light rail, making it easy for those not renting a car. You could even walk to Nicollett Mall. The location was great for our group attending a wedding across the bridge. My only complaint: a charge for internet service. When paying top rates this service should be included.

Room Tip: All the rooms I visited were clean, comfortable, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It sounds like you had an enjoyable experience.
We certainly hope that you and your group will be back to visit us again in the future. Thank you for staying as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very efficient and professional desk staff had us into our room within minutes of arrival. Very quiet room in a beautifully restored old building. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel has excellent food. There is a charge for internet service, but the service was quick and dependable. We'd definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your experience at The Renaissance. I hope that your travels bring you back to the local area so you can enjoy it all over again. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel in general. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I was traveling with my children and was upgraded to a suite which was lovely. The club floor was not open as it was a weekend and this was a bit disappointing, but the upgrade made up for it. Coffee was available in the lobby area starting at an early hour and that was a big help. Despite there being four weddings at the property the weekend we stayed the room was very quiet and we never encountered crowds of people. There is a water park on the property but we did not explore it. The lobby bar was well stocked and uncrowded. The staff was attentive and helpful. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you had a comfortable stay while visiting our hotel. It's wonderful to hear that you were upgraded which allowed you to experience one of our Historic Suites. If you get the chance to come visit us again be sure to explore the water park- it's a hidden gem in the downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Residence Inn at The Depot
Residence Inn at The Depot
#24 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#8 of 43 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley's Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink at the Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing