We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Group Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Palmer, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Group Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a great extended weekend stay at the Depot. The front desk staff was really helpful and friendly. With the exception of one waitress at the bar, all the restaurant staff earned large tips. The bar stays open late and had great ambiance; we felt like we were gathered in someone's study or library. The kitchen made great appetizers and the hotel had something for everyone. We never made it to the water park/pool, but walked through to meet up with other members of our part in the Residence Stay side. Really comfortable beds and quiet rooms. There's a coffee shop on the corner and it is just blocks from the blue line light rail, making it easy for those not renting a car. You could even walk to Nicollett Mall. The location was great for our group attending a wedding across the bridge. My only complaint: a charge for internet service. When paying top rates this service should be included.

Room Tip: All the rooms I visited were clean, comfortable, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It sounds like you had an enjoyable experience.
We certainly hope that you and your group will be back to visit us again in the future. Thank you for staying as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    101
    26
    20
    12
See reviews for
75
38
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very efficient and professional desk staff had us into our room within minutes of arrival. Very quiet room in a beautifully restored old building. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel has excellent food. There is a charge for internet service, but the service was quick and dependable. We'd definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your experience at The Renaissance. I hope that your travels bring you back to the local area so you can enjoy it all over again. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel in general. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I was traveling with my children and was upgraded to a suite which was lovely. The club floor was not open as it was a weekend and this was a bit disappointing, but the upgrade made up for it. Coffee was available in the lobby area starting at an early hour and that was a big help. Despite there being four weddings at the property the weekend we stayed the room was very quiet and we never encountered crowds of people. There is a water park on the property but we did not explore it. The lobby bar was well stocked and uncrowded. The staff was attentive and helpful. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you had a comfortable stay while visiting our hotel. It's wonderful to hear that you were upgraded which allowed you to experience one of our Historic Suites. If you get the chance to come visit us again be sure to explore the water park- it's a hidden gem in the downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Thank you so much to the front desk for being so helpful during my stay. In addition, I left a few things in my room and the Housekeeping department was amazing at locating the missing pieces and sending them free of charge. If and when I'm back in Minneapolis, will 100% stay at the Depot again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying as our guest! It's great to hear that we were able to provide you with excellent service during your stay. We look forward to hosting you next time you visit the Minneapolis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a full service high end hotel with lots to offer. I did enjoy room service and a meal in the restuarant downstairs. Both were good, internet speed was great. The hotel itself had a very clean and fresh feel to it. Every employee I encountered made it really feel like I was in the most expensive hotel in Minneapolis.

Parking was about $20 a day (non-valet), but that is consistent for the area so big issue there. The hotel also has an ice rink I think connected, I didn't check it out. But that is sort of neat.

The room was comfortable, bed was awesome, amenities were luxury, water pressure was perfect, and staff were great.

All in all, I will be back if I venture to the downtown area of Minneapolis again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will come visit us again soon. The ice rink is connected to The Renaissance, located in The Historic Depot. The rink typically opens in the month of November and closes early March. Check out our website calendar for details.
http://www.thedepotminneapolis.com/ice-rink-calendar.php?date=01&month=07&year=2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Renaissance Depot is a neat hotel near downtown Minneapolis. It is about 1 block from a long waterfront trail that runs along the Mississippi River and has interpretive signs detailing the history of the area. From here you can see the Gold Medal and Pillsbury flour mills, and many bridges.

About 5 blocks in the other direction you can catch a light rail train that takes you to the Mall of America or the airport.

The bedding in this hotel was great. I love goosedown and slept well. The bed was reasonably comfortable.

The downside was although the website advertises they have a waterpark, the waterpark isn't actually open unless you happen to stay on a weekend. They don't even have a pool or hot tub open which was a major disappointment. Another downside is they don't have free wifi. It costs $10 for noon to noon service. Lastly, the restaurant, Charley's wasn't that great. They got our order wrong, the food was cold and my burger was supposed to be well done but came out rather pink. It took so long to get it the first time that I didn't bother sending it back. The second night we ordered room service and that was a better experience though the fries were cold again.

Overall, it was a decent experience, but not all that family friendly since there wasn't anything for the kids to do nearby and w/o a pool that is actually open.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right, the water park is available on weekends and some holidays only. You can always view the complete schedule and pricing at http://www.thedepotminneapolis.com.

If your travels find you in the area again we hope you discover us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4, with two young children, stayed in a suite for a weekend. We live in the Twin Cities but figured it'd be a fun getaway for the family. Our kids are 1 and 3 and they loved it. It was a whole "Choo-Choo Train" themed weekend. We took the light-rail downtown, then did the waterpark, then walked around the hotel looking at all the train memorabilia.

The pool is far too cold for children of this age. The deeper pool is warmer but its too deep for young children. The pool with the train slide and other water features would be great for toddlers (approx 8" deep with zero entry) but it was freezing. Our kids wanted nothing to do with it. Very disappointing.

We ate dinner at Charlie's and decided to do the buffet bc kids would eat free. Decent buffet, great service.

I'd do it again, but they need to do something about the water temperature in the pool!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our historic suites. You are right, at times the play pool can be a bit chilly especially during high use periods as it refills. Our Chief Engineer has been notified and has rectified this issue.

Thank you for notifying us of the issue. If your travels find you in the area again we hope you discover us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley’s Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink, Residence Inn by Marriott and year round water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.