We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historical landmark, a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel to your Saves list
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A historical landmark, a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Depot Renaissance is well located in central Minneapolis and only a quick drive (or ambitious walk) to St. Paul's university area and Dinkytown. It is located in the old Milwaukee Road depot, and has maintained the historical importance of that building. Most area restaurants are a short walk away, and other attractions are easy to get to by train. The hotel shares some property features with the Marriott Residence Inn, including a interior patio seating area, water park and ice rink. The restaurant, Charley's is an affordable restaurant with wonderful food-- highly recommend the walleye cakes-- that is also family friendly. In general, the experience was what one can expect from Renaissance with the added benefit of its historical location.

Room Tip: If you are planning to use the water park, locate near the water park elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    115
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
44
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel proved to be a great solution to staying in the suburbs. I don't care about paying for parking in the city, but the water park fee was too high OR should only have been charged for children because it is primarily designed for young kids.

Restaurant was empty? But the food and service was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Located in the heart of Minneapolis's historic core, the Depot was a major station on the old Milwaukee Road railroad. Decorated with railroading memorabilia, it has an appealing adjacent water park that's great for kids. Walking distance from the old Mississippi flour mills (Pillsbury, Gold Medal, etc.) with lots of eating and drinking boutiques nearby. Very good service: my original room smelled musty (the windows don't open) so I was changed to an excellent room that had the extra quality of not being on the street -- and thus quieter. Very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is built in an old railroad station. The lobby has a nice restaurant and some exhibits of the old train station. The rooms have definitely been updated and come complete with black out drapes so absolutely no light can come in, which is a huge plus for someone who likes to sleep. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms modern. The best part of hotel was the location. Its only a couple blocks to the street car system which can take you to the baseball stadium or Mall of America. Another huge plus is the location to the Mill City Museum. It's really in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had several family members staying here, while in town for our Son's wedding.
Great Hotel. Great Location. Walking distance to the train (2 blocks). We took the train to the airport and Mall of America. We walked across the bridge where the falls on the Mississippi are located. A cute little village there with restaurants. Wonderful rooms, staff and the lounge area inside and outside are great.

Room Tip: Wonderful hotel. We pre-paid on the website and got a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

First time reviewing, although I stayed here before a couple years ago. I'm platinum in Marriott Rewards, so I was upgraded to a 2nd floor "historic suite". Check-in was a breeze and the front desk was helpful and also explained that a wedding was planned for the night and it might be a little loud in the hallway. No free bottled water as elite amenity or breakfast coupon for lounge not being open on weekend. $15/night for ramp parking on-site (even for weekends).

Room & Amenities: The suite was nice, 2 rooms / 2 flat panel TV's, King bed & pullout sofa. It was an outside hallway corner room, so right off the street. The bathroom was pretty "smallish" for me, especially the sink/counter. Housekeeping: Not so great. No extra housekeeping with turndown service (like towels), only chocolates. The first morning I noticed no bath amenities which was odd (remedied by a stop at the front desk). I also made coffee, but the coffee pack was not replaced. Overall, it seemed like very little housekeeping effort.

Noise: The street noise can be a little loud in an outer room. I would probably ask for a room further not on Washington Ave. next time.

Bar/Lounge: Even though there was a wedding, it was sad to see only one bartender that night. I got frustrated waiting for a beer and left.

Overall: I would definitely rate this above average for the room/stay, but not Very Good or Excellent due to the items noted above. My rate was $189/night, which to me is a little steep for the value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not on the hallway adjacent to Washington Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed here for business and while it was nice, it wasn't up to what I would expect from the Renaissance brand of Marriott. I did like the historical building, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was larger, but had an odd musty smell I couldn't quite put my finger on - almost from humidity control issues. The room itself really could have been a Courtyard or a lower end chain in the Marriott brand in both decor and luxury. The bathroom was extremely spartan, the shower was the bath/shower combo with the ever annoying shower curtain. The carpet did not seem clean and had an odd dampness to it. The room was otherwise clean and the bed comfortable and a typical full service Marriott hotel bed. The fitness center was good, and I always use them so this is an important item for me. The concierge lounge for Marriott rewards members was adequate, but small and hot in there. I did not have to pay for internet as I am a rewards member, and it was fast and good for my needs. The lobby, hotel bar and restaurant are really quite nice and it appears this is where they spent their money upgrading this hotel. I cannot comment on the pool/waterslide. Parking was 19 self park, 28 for valet. Overall the room at this property was disappointing for me in terms of what I would expect for a Renaissance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley’s Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink, Residence Inn by Marriott and year round water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.