We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Chipolte, you will probably dig this place way better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Taco Riendo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Taco Riendo
2416 Central Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418-3712
612-781-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #302 of 1,596 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“If you like Chipolte, you will probably dig this place way better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Same style as Chipolte, stand up ordering at it's finest. I suggest getting a meat off the beaten path (the BBQ Pork is really glorious) and go to town! Also, if you are #beastmodehungry you should get the "Big Burrito" it is the size of a fat infant, just as the Big Torta is the size of a medium house cat. So large I doubt Adam Richmann would be able to take em down. They have a diablo sauce that you should ask for if you are into spicy stuff, it will make you shine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Hole-in-the-Wall Mexican restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here on a recommendation from a friend. We were a little confused when we first walked in because there weren't any directions for what to do. After watching someone else, we figured it out.
We walked up the the food prep counter and placed our order, then paid the hostess. The food didn't take long to prep and was beyond what we were expecting. The proportions were very large and everything was very fresh.
I prefer my food on the very mild scale, while my boyfriend likes very hot. The cooks were able to accommodate both ends of the scale to perfection.
We will be heading back for more fast and delicious Mexican!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have eaten at El Taco Riendo many times. It is a family favorite. The food is fresh, reasonably priced and made to order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great little hole in the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Awesome place, authentic food and the prices can not be beat. If you want to grab some grub that is mouthwatering delicious and does not hurt your wallet, stop on by. Order at the counter, wait for them to put together your meal and pay at the register. Have a seat and enjoy. You will not be sorry. This place is not fancy so don't get all gussied up to go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Large portion, authentic flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Several of us went for lunch and got each got a different thing. We all thought that the food was delicious. While ordering, you had a variety of options (what kind of meat? Black or pinto beans? Onions and cilantro?). There were over thirty "meal deals".

I thought the soft drink cup size was a little small. Prices were relatively fair and portions were rather large.

I can say that the restaurant isn't very impressive in the atmosphere department. It's a relatively small quick serve restaurant that has very simple furnishings.

The service was fair for a quick service style restaurant. Unlike most, however, they'll bus the tables for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Taco Riendo also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to El Taco Riendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Taco Riendo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.