We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
denver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Grand for 3 nights. We upgraded to a suite which while not the largest suite we have ever had, was more than adequate. We enjoyed the hotel and the location in the heart of downtown. We loved that they served complimentary coffee in the lobby until 9 am (most hotels remove free coffee much earlier) and free wine between 5-6 pm. Both nice touches. Although the hotel has dark paneling and feels a bit dark, the furniture and decor are updated and stylish. One of the best features is the fantastic health club that is in the hotel. It is also free for guests and has awesome equipment and a fabulous fitness class I took on Saturday morning. We left early Sunday morning and they put free coffee outside our room and left the Sunday NY Times. Only negative as mentioned by other reviewers is the soap, shampoo wall dispensers. I know this is PC but we prefer soap bars and small containers of shampoos, etc. Minneapolis is a delightful city and the Grand Hotel made it even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear JWRDenver: Thanks so much for the fantastic review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed Minneapolis and The Grand. Thanks for mentioning our convenient location. We are also connected to the city's skyway, so you can get around the entire city in the winter without stepping foot outside in the chilly temperatures. It is so nice that you had a chance to take advantage of Lifetime Fitness. It's such an excellent perk for our guests. We use the bathroom amenity dispensers due to our dedication to the environment. They significantly reduce the amount of waste because we are not discarding partially used small bottles. However, I understand that it is a matter of preference. Thanks again for writing about us! We hope to see you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    99
    46
    16
    17
See reviews for
48
177
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a Luxury Suite. All the staff (doorman, valet, front desk, and housekeeping) were top notch and genuinely did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The hotel is nicely decorated and offers great use of an attached fitness center. The room we stayed in was nice, but seemed a little old, dark, and dated. The bedroom seemed small for the price. The bathroom was large, well lit, and offered both a soaking tub and shower. We love Kimpton properties...with a little updating to the rooms, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear polar556: I love that the staff helped to make your stay memorable! We truly have some of the best people in the business representing The Grand! Isn't Lifetime Fitness an amazing facility? We are so fortunate to have such an impressive health club in the hotel. We completely renovated the hotel just a few years ago and we are so pleased with the designers choices. The carpet, wall coverings, draperies, furniture, etc. in every guest room was replaced. Because our historic building used to be the Minneapolis Athletic Club, the designers tried to preserve the classic and somewhat masculine feel while adding some fun Kimpton flair. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rooms are very large and very comfortable. Bathrooms are the best! Very large, very good lighting. Rooms are well spaced so you don't hear any noise from hallway or nearby rooms.

Bell service isn't consistent so if no one is there, you have to lug your own suitcase up a few stairs to get to the hotel lobby. Charging restaurant to your room can be a bit of an issue as there is some connectivity limitation between the two. Other than that, staff is very accommodating and professional.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong. All rooms are great. Hotel is surrounded by tall buildings so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear TA_3163: Thanks so much for taking the time to write this note. I agree, we do have the best bathrooms! They are large and luxurious! I'm so pleased that you found the room quiet, as that is sometimes difficult to find in downtown hotels. If you are super sensitive to noise, our atrium king rooms and suites will suit you well. I appreciate the feedback about the arrival experience and assure you that we are making some exciting changes to enhance it. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. I hope you'll be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights for work. Good downtown location and very nice older rooms. My room was VERY spacious and included a separate sitting room and TV. The sleep quality was very good. I know it is probably cost effective and environmentally conscious, but I do not like using liquid soaps and shampoos for a large multi-use bottle -- I guess I like the little soaps :-)

The housekeeping was very nice and the rooms were immaculate. They have a nice wine tasting hour from 5-6pm (free wine = cheap wine) and free coffee in the lobby in the morning. The small bar off the lobby is comfortable and serves some good beer and the staff were great. Agreed about the doormen -- more there to open the door than to carry your luggage.

I would stay here again if the price were right. Otherwise, I might try some where else if I got a better deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear sirtravel: I appreciate your comments. I'm so pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient and the room spacious and comfortable. Oh, and a good nights sleep is important too! The amenity dispensers are indeed one of our efforts to be green. They significantly cut down on waste. I understand it's a matter of preference though. We do have other options upon request. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our housekeeping team and our spotless rooms! We actually have some of the highest cleanliness scores in the company. Our team takes so much pride in their work. Thanks again and we'd love to have you as our guest again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although the property was nicely done, multiple steps into the lobby make it a bit of a challenge with luggage. The doormen were too involved with a young woman to assist. We scanned the lobby to find that the front desk was oddly placed - right rear of the room. There was so much elevation behind the reception desk that the taller employees loom over you during check in.
All toiletries were in dispensers - quite different than the other Kimpton properties we've visited. Our room did have a very lovely bathroom, but the room was located at the very end of the hall -facing the long corridor -everyone saw the entire bed when the door opened. Our window looked out on a wall.
We are both Kimpton InTouch members and usually receive a warmer welcome and a nicer room.

Room Tip: Walls on 3 sides - as for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Wolftrap: Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience! While our lobby has very tall ceilings and feels spacious, there were not many options as to the placement of the front desk when we renovated the hotel. The designers added cozy living room seating by the fireplace, which is where the front desk used to be located. In our continued effort to be eco-friendly, we installed the soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in each bathroom. We use the luxurious C.O. Bigelow product line. The decrease in waste from the small plastic bottles is significant. Please note that we are always happy to move you to a different room in the event that you are unhappy with the layout or location of a room. Just contact the front desk and we will do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable! Thanks for the comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Unfortunately I was only able to stay here one night. Room 1013 was dreamy, too bad I wasn't able to enjoy it longer. Three TVs, a gorgeous bed, nice layout, great decor. Very tastefully decorated, loved the colors. The bathroom was large enough to hold a party.
Service is top-notch. Everyone encountered was just too nice. Professional. Helpful.
The complimentary wine hour is always enjoyed. This hotel had a large lobby but limited seating compared to other Kimpton hotels.
Had a meeting and the room was perfect, the cookies served were award-worthy.
The gentleman at the lobby bar was super nice and very proud that he was serving local craft brews. That's a great touch.

The only cons are: steps at the front door and nobody to help with luggage and the on-site restaurant, Rare, for breakfast was blah. Service was non-existent, very slow, egg white omelette was really greasy. Prices were fair.

Room Tip: Upgrade, the room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Terriv: Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I wish you could have stayed longer too! I agree, room 1013 is dreamy! It's one of my favorites. Thank you for commenting on the decor. The design team we hired when we completely renovated did a phenomenal job! We are so proud of our beautiful little hotel. I love that you had a chance to visit the Six15 Room and meet one of our talented bartenders. They are so friendly, and love recommending local craft brews and mixing up craft cocktails. I'm disappointed to read about your breakfast experience and I've shared your comments with the owner and operator of Rare. Thanks again for sharing your experience. See you next time your in Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located, and rooms are well appointed. Beds are comfortable, rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed for four nights, and we were able to enjoy live music and a complimentary glass of wine before dinner in the lobby each evening.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and greeted us whenever we entered the lobby.

Valet parking is reasonably priced, but there is more economical parking in the parking garage across the street. Loading and unloading is a bit awkward, since the area in front of the hotel is a bus lane with no stopping allowed. Instead, the valet parking and guest loading area is around the corner, but once you get to the hotel entrance, you will have to drive around the block to get to it.

There are stairs from the lobby to access the pedestrian mall that connects various buildings in the downtown, with access to lots of great shopping. The weather was fine when we were there, but in winter, this series of bridges and passageways would allow you to wander the downtown without worrying about inclement weather.

The restaurant in the hotel has an excellent varied dinner menu including some excellent sushi choices, and there are lots of other options within easy walking distance from the hotel.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear HarlanRegina_Ca...: Thank you for this fantastic review! I'm pleased that you found the room comfy, clean and spacious. Thanks for praising our staff. They are so attentive and friendly and jump at the opportunity to help. Just to clarify about valet, we do actually have a zone directly in front of the hotel for loading and unloading. We just ask that you check in with our valet attendants at the corner of 2nd and 7th first. If the zone in front of the hotel is clear, they will instruct you to pull around the corner to unload. There are less expensive self-parking options in the area, but they don't extend the in and out privledges like our valet. In addition, we have some super friendly valet attendants that are always willing to help and give recommendations of what to do while your visiting our lovely city. Thanks again for this excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel
Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.