We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel - not so grand "J" & "J" Front Desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Grand hotel - not so grand "J" & "J" Front Desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although the property was nicely done, multiple steps into the lobby make it a bit of a challenge with luggage. The doormen were too involved with a young woman to assist. We scanned the lobby to find that the front desk was oddly placed - right rear of the room. There was so much elevation behind the reception desk that the taller employees loom over you during check in.
All toiletries were in dispensers - quite different than the other Kimpton properties we've visited. Our room did have a very lovely bathroom, but the room was located at the very end of the hall -facing the long corridor -everyone saw the entire bed when the door opened. Our window looked out on a wall.
We are both Kimpton InTouch members and usually receive a warmer welcome and a nicer room.

Room Tip: Walls on 3 sides - as for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Wolftrap: Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience! While our lobby has very tall ceilings and feels spacious, there were not many options as to the placement of the front desk when we renovated the hotel. The designers added cozy living room seating by the fireplace, which is where the front desk used to be located. In our continued effort to be eco-friendly, we installed the soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in each bathroom. We use the luxurious C.O. Bigelow product line. The decrease in waste from the small plastic bottles is significant. Please note that we are always happy to move you to a different room in the event that you are unhappy with the layout or location of a room. Just contact the front desk and we will do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable! Thanks for the comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    112
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
52
196
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Unfortunately I was only able to stay here one night. Room 1013 was dreamy, too bad I wasn't able to enjoy it longer. Three TVs, a gorgeous bed, nice layout, great decor. Very tastefully decorated, loved the colors. The bathroom was large enough to hold a party.
Service is top-notch. Everyone encountered was just too nice. Professional. Helpful.
The complimentary wine hour is always enjoyed. This hotel had a large lobby but limited seating compared to other Kimpton hotels.
Had a meeting and the room was perfect, the cookies served were award-worthy.
The gentleman at the lobby bar was super nice and very proud that he was serving local craft brews. That's a great touch.

The only cons are: steps at the front door and nobody to help with luggage and the on-site restaurant, Rare, for breakfast was blah. Service was non-existent, very slow, egg white omelette was really greasy. Prices were fair.

Room Tip: Upgrade, the room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Terriv: Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I wish you could have stayed longer too! I agree, room 1013 is dreamy! It's one of my favorites. Thank you for commenting on the decor. The design team we hired when we completely renovated did a phenomenal job! We are so proud of our beautiful little hotel. I love that you had a chance to visit the Six15 Room and meet one of our talented bartenders. They are so friendly, and love recommending local craft brews and mixing up craft cocktails. I'm disappointed to read about your breakfast experience and I've shared your comments with the owner and operator of Rare. Thanks again for sharing your experience. See you next time your in Minneapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located, and rooms are well appointed. Beds are comfortable, rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed for four nights, and we were able to enjoy live music and a complimentary glass of wine before dinner in the lobby each evening.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and greeted us whenever we entered the lobby.

Valet parking is reasonably priced, but there is more economical parking in the parking garage across the street. Loading and unloading is a bit awkward, since the area in front of the hotel is a bus lane with no stopping allowed. Instead, the valet parking and guest loading area is around the corner, but once you get to the hotel entrance, you will have to drive around the block to get to it.

There are stairs from the lobby to access the pedestrian mall that connects various buildings in the downtown, with access to lots of great shopping. The weather was fine when we were there, but in winter, this series of bridges and passageways would allow you to wander the downtown without worrying about inclement weather.

The restaurant in the hotel has an excellent varied dinner menu including some excellent sushi choices, and there are lots of other options within easy walking distance from the hotel.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear HarlanRegina_Ca...: Thank you for this fantastic review! I'm pleased that you found the room comfy, clean and spacious. Thanks for praising our staff. They are so attentive and friendly and jump at the opportunity to help. Just to clarify about valet, we do actually have a zone directly in front of the hotel for loading and unloading. We just ask that you check in with our valet attendants at the corner of 2nd and 7th first. If the zone in front of the hotel is clear, they will instruct you to pull around the corner to unload. There are less expensive self-parking options in the area, but they don't extend the in and out privledges like our valet. In addition, we have some super friendly valet attendants that are always willing to help and give recommendations of what to do while your visiting our lovely city. Thanks again for this excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked our first two nights of a two week trip at this lovely hotel at a great rate, then joined the Kimpton rewards program. First they upgraded us to a larger room, then we enjoyed a glass of wine in the lobby and headed out to dinner. There are lots of restaurant choices within walking distance and we were given very good directions.

The room was quite spacious, with a very comfortable bed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was very quiet. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Minneapolis.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and it was very quiet. We had a view of an office building, but that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear LittleSpeckledTrout: I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for joining the Kimpton In Touch loyalty program. If you haven't yet, be sure to indicate your preferences in your profile. It will help us to personalize your future stays at all Kimpton hotels. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the Minneapolis restaurant scene! We have some amazing restaurants within walking distance. I know how important a good night's sleep is when you're traveling, so it's wonderful that the room was quiet and the bed was comfy! A quiet hotel room and comfy bed can be hard to find. Thanks so much for this fantastic review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! Absolutely perfect for anyone looking to stay at a location that is in the heart of downtown! The rooms were clean, spacious and very well decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The staff has excellent customer service!! (Kudos to the management team for training and maintaining a top of the line staff). We were in town for a girls bachelorette weekend and we couldn't have asked for a better experience!! I HIGHLY Recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jacklyn A: Thank YOU for this absolutely wonderful review! You covered it all. I appreciate the mention of our prime location, clean, comfy, spacious and stylish rooms, and of course the fantastic staff representing the hotel! We are so fortunate to have an ownership group that enables us to keep the hotel in top notch shape and embraces the Kimpton culture of hiring the most genuine people! I'm so glad that the bachelorette weekend was a success. Congrats to the wedding couple! I trust we'll see you next time you need a place to stay in Minnie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a stay, this property and it staff is second to none! I was traveling with my daughter who was competing at the University of Minnesota and I was blown away by the staff knowing the days she competed and more importantly having their whole team make and sign a good luck postee which was delivered to our room the day of her competition. It is the small stuff that makes a big difference and the staff could not have been nicer. Additionally the property and rooms are great! I will definitely be going back and would recommend this as a great location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Tim B: This is so cool! I can't thank you enough for sharing this. We empower our team to make these kind of connections with our guests and they always jump at the opportunity to do so. The more we know about why you're here, the better! It helps us to personalize your stay. I've shared your review with the staff and several of them have commented about how much they enjoyed meeting you and rooting for your daughter! So neat! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Uniquely styled hotel in beautiful clean Minneapolis. Great location. Rooms were clean and had slightly masculine and eclectic flavor. Staff was friendly and there was a great mix of people staying here. Bed was very comfortable. Had a lovely facial at the spa. There is a bar off the lobby and a restaurant on site upstairs, neither of which I had a chance to try. Luxurious touches throughout. Will stay again. Love the uniqueness and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Monarch8: I love that you appreciate our unique style! The design team hired to do our renovation did a fantastic job preserving the historic feel of the old Minneapolis Athletic Club while adding some colorful Kimpton style. I'm glad you got a good nights sleep in our comfy bed! You definitely need to check out our lounge, The Six15 Room next time you're here. You'll be greeted by our friendly bartenders eager to mix a craft cocktail! They are truly delicious. Thanks so much for this lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.