We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Classy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Native Minneapolitan who at the last minute wanted a special Date Night with my wife and decided to stay at the Kimpton Grand Hotel and everything was fabulous about our stay. Josh at the Front desk was very professional and welcoming,management very engaging with the guests,room was immaculate and premium ammenities.Complimentary wine between 5-6pm.24 hour room service.So proud to say Minneapolis finally has the Kimpton Brand in this city.When checking out Kyle said Come stay with us again and my response was "Yoe can count on it". 5 Star baby

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Debby C: I appreciate you choosing The Grand for your downtown date night! Isn't it wonderful that Kimpton finally has a presence in Minneapolis? We will actually be expanding all over the Midwest very soon. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our luxurious rooms! Our housekeeping team takes such pride in the hotel. I'm glad you had a chance to meet Josh and Kyle. They are so friendly and love their jobs! Kyle, Josh and the rest of us look forward to seeing you again on your next date night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    112
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
52
196
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You wouldn't know by the outside facade, but this hotel is wonderful. Great rooms, nice downtown location! The in hotel restaurants are just o.k., but there are other great choices in downtown MN.

The rooms are spacious. If you upgrade to a suite, downright huge. All rooms are nicely appointed and modern.

Pros: great staff, rooms, bar area, fitness centers.
Cons: restaurants just ok, rewards program does not have points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Chuck M: Thanks so much for taking the time to write about The Grand! It's fantastic that the hotel suited your needs and you enjoyed your time with us. The building opened as The Minneapolis Athletic Club a hundred years ago and was later converted into a hotel. We took over in late 2010 and our owners generously put millions of dollars into updating both the appearance and functioning of everything in the building. The rooms definitely are spacious. That's one of the many benefits of the historic building. I trust we'll see you again. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Someone else made reservations and this was an excellent spot. The entire staff was friendly and helpful, especially the front desk people. The room was comfortable, well appointed and restful. It manages to keep a combination of modern conveniences and older charm. Would definitely recommend and re-visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Simon B: Thank you for the excellent comments! I appreciate you mentioning how the hotel is a combo of modern conveniences and older charm. I couldn't have said it better. Outside of our phenomenal employees, the modern, yet classic feel is our greatest asset. I'm glad that you enjoyed your interactions with the staff. I am so lucky to have them representing The Grand! So glad you had a great time and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am typically a Starwood guy, but all properties were sold out or outrageously priced, so I ended up here. I think it is a very nice business hotel, the restaurant was good and the room was spacious. It is an older building and some some rooms show wear (my tub faucet flew off), but overall would go again.

Room Tip: If you are facing the crowne plaza - your room is subject to bright lights and you will need to clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear CHD3: Thank you for trying The Grand out! I'm pleased that the hotel suited your needs. You may have already done this, but if not, you should sign up for our loyalty program, Kimpton In Touch. There are some excellent benefit, such as credit toward the honor bar, free wifi, credit towards future free stays, etc. I know that you typically stay with a different chain, but we'd love to make you a Kimptonite! I hope you'll be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying in this hotel is a wonderful experience. The top notch service and upscale atmosphere is to be expected. The staff is accommodating and professional, and makes you feel like an honored guest. The hotel bar is a nice place to grab a drink and unwind, or get started for an evening out. The rooms are clean, neat, with a bit of a masculine feel with the dark woods. The bathrooms are very nice, I'm picky on the cleanliness and set up of hotel bathrooms, and I have zero complaints on any level for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear K M: Thank you for this top notch review! It was such a pleasure to read. I'm thrilled that the staff made you feel honored. When guests leave the hotel feeling that way, we've met our goal. I'm glad you loved our bar, The Six15 Room. From the friendly bartenders and inviting atmosphere to the tasty cocktails and food, it's such a great place to gather. It's so nice that you enjoyed the guest room as well. When we renovated, the design team succeeded in preserving the masculine feel of the old Minneapolis Athletic Club while incorporating some fun Kimpton flair. I appreciate the comments about cleanliness. I am also very picky about that and proud to share that we have the best housekeeping team I've ever worked with. Thanks again for this stellar review. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Whenever I go to Minneapolis I like to stay at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Service is always excellent, the rooms are comfortable, and the bar does a great Jamie Ginger at a fantastic price! I also love that it's part of the Kimpton family. With my last stay, I arrived late in the evening and room service was just ending but the person who checked me in went out of his way to grab the menu from the bar and let me place my order while I was checking in to ensure I was able to get something to eat and that it would be delivered to my room. The hotel is in a fantastic location downtown and walking distance to the metro, dining, and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear bettyboopsf1: Thank you for staying with us every time you're in town! We appreciate your loyalty. The bartenders in The Six15 Room are so talented! They come up with some of the most delicious craft cocktails that I've ever tasted. I'm glad you love them too! I appreciate you mentioning your experience at check-in. That made my day. It's so nice to hear about my team going above and beyond. Thanks again and we'll see you next time you're in Minnie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Grand Hotel is in a great location that is very close to everything to do downtown. It's a very unique hotel that maintains it's older charm but is very modern.

What really makes the hotel is its consistent customer service. From the valets, check-in, concierge, and bartenders, they really make it a home away from home. We live in the Minneapolis suburbs and at least 2 times a year go downtown for the weekend. We've tried just about every hotel and this has been our favorite and only hotel since going there two years ago.

Note: The hotel room suites can vary in size and layout due to this being a historic building. The bathrooms in particular vary in size. If for some reason you have issues with the first room you're assigned, ask at the front desk if they have something different. They will try very hard to get you a room that fits your needs.

Favorite features: Fast Wi-fi, Lobby Bar, Complimentary Wine at 5pm, Coffee Service in the Morning.

Room Tip: Valet parking is on the side of the hotel on 7th Street. You can't pull up to the hotel on 2nd...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco-concious. You can opt to skip the room cleaning.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear mjfulke: Thank you for making The Grand your choice staycation hotel! I appreciate you mentioning the hotels uniqueness and charm. When we renovated the property, the design team did a stellar job preserving the history of the hotel while adding modern and fun flair. I'm so glad that you love our staff! I do too. They are truly the best. All of them are dedicated to making each guests stay memorable. Thanks so much for this fantastic review! We'll see you on your next staycation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.