We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I will say this is not the same hotel I remember from 10 years ago. Looked as if there are new owners perhaps. Still a nice hotel and enjoyed my stay. Room was much different than I recall but the bathroom was still spectacular. Great water pressure in the showers, which is one of my pet peeves when it is absent.

Had a chance to enjoy room service. It was excellent and arrived promptly. The hotel is located in the central business area, but not the centre of the entertainment area. Personally, I prefer my hotel to be in a quiet area and this hotel meets that standard. My only issue was being told to have the valet assist with taxi service. What made that an issue is the valet is on corner of the building and it was January in Minneapolis. Not a pleasant experience and we ended up sorting this out ourselves. Or, maybe it was just a clever strategy by the bellman to avoid the cold as well. If that was the case, kudos lad. I don't blame you for that at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear BPreston310: Thanks so much for your comments. You are correct, The Grand is under new ownership as of September of 2010 and is now a Kimpton Hotel. If you're not familiar with Kimpton, we are a boutique hotel restaurant company with about sixty properties across the US. We are a different kind of hotel company, in a great way! The Grand was completely renovated when we took over and you can definitely see the Kimpton flair in the design. The valet is located on the corner of the block, but we are working on a plan that will be far more convenient for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    122
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
57
208
33
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My daughter and I were visiting colleges in the area and I booked this room because it was a Kimpton property.

On the plus side: The room was large and clean. The beds were very comfortable! The staff was friendly and polite.

However, I was disappointed with the quality of the accommodations. Starting with the valet parking situation - it was around the corner from the main entrance of the hotel and not clearly marked. I had to enter the hotel to ask the front desk person where to park. We had a late-night check-in, but the 24-hour valet was unmanned when I actually figured out how to get back to the valet station with all of the frustrating one-way and turn restricted streets of Minneapolis.

The flooring in our room was a strange rough and unattractive carpet. And all of the bathroom fixtures were loose. So when you turned the faucets on, the handle and stem wiggled considerably in the wall and counter - faucet fixtures felt cheap. Even the toilet handle felt like it was about to fall off.

The friendly late night staff misstated the hours of breakfast service for Saturday morning, so we were surprised and disappointed to see that the restaurant serving breakfast was not to open until 10 am (we were checking out at 8 am).

I want to say these inconveniences were magnified by a long day with a late-night-check-in (11 pm). But I purposefully chose this hotel because we were on a tight schedule and didn't want to deal with any "motel-like" surprises or disappointments. I just wanted to check-in, shower, sleep, eat and continue with our trip well-rested.

I must say, we did not have time to check out anything other than the room and lobby. However, overall, I was not impressed and will not assume that the Kimpton stamp means top notch accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear NJGardenGirl: Thanks for the note about the spacious, tidy rooms and comfy beds! We have the best housekeepers and they are committed to perfection. I love our beds too! I'd move into the hotel if I could. Yes, the valet set-up can be a little confusing at times since the street in front of the hotel is a bus only zone, but I assure you that we are working on a plan to improve it. The note about the fixtures surprised me and I assure you it's not typical. In regards to the restaurant hours, they are supposed to open at 9am on the weekends, so I'm not sure what the deal was that day, but I'll address it with Lifetime Fitness, their owner. Hopefully you will return in the future when you have a bit more time and take advantage of our complimentary nightly wine hour, The Six15 Room lounge and the huge Lifetime Fitness facility. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good about this place. Its small enough to feel homey and special, but large enough to have everything I need. Friendly staff, commentary wine/salmon, spotless room and good value for luxury accommodations with high quality sheets/towels. Loved taking a hot bath while watching a TV built in the wall in front of me. Plenty of shelves, drawers, closets...tile and granite, etc. We ordered coffee and it was delivered in less than 5 minutes! What was missing in the bathroom, however, was a basket of lotions, bath salts, etc. as there was shampoo, conditioner and body wash provided in the shower. Ahhh...I WILL be back for more pampering next time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear HHS71: I love that you appreciated the intimate feel of the hotel. With only 140 rooms, our staff is able to focus on each guest and make genuine connections. Our frequent guests often tell me that they feel at home here. That's exactly what we are going for! I'm glad you felt that too. I'm so glad that the room was perfectly suited to your needs. Isn't saoking in the tub while watching your favorite show the best? Thanks for the suggestion about the basket of salts and lotions. We'll see you next time! Let us know if we can help you with a massage appointment at Lifespa in the hotel. They're pretty darn good at pampering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter and I were in Minneapolis attending a dance convention. The location is great and the staff is outstanding. They were very helpful in giving us suggestions on what to do in the city during our free time. Free coffee and newspapers are always a bonus for me. Thanks for a fantastic week end

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Lisa M: Your are very welcome! Thanks for being our guest. I appreciate the kind comments about the staff. I agree, they are outstanding and always have the best local recommendations. Most of them have lived here much of their lives, so they know the city like the back of their hand. We look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just stayed here recently. Overall, a good experience. The cons: Parking. You can valet for $30 but beware, the hard to find valet shack is on the perpendicular street and traffic can be tricky. We drove around for quite some time and then just parked ourselves in the Northstar ramp on 7th street. That is $20 a day (but $13 for the first hour). Then you either need to walk across 2nd Ave to the Grand or take an underground route that we found by accident. Not the easiest parking arrangement we have experienced. The hotel does NOT have their own garage. Pros: A nice healthclub that guests have free access to. We really enjoyed the pool and saunas and even took a yoga class on Saturday morning. They also have some breatkfast items you can buy - look around, the facility is scattered over several floors. Hotel also has a nice wine reception (at least Friday and Saturday nights), the room was small but clean and the beds were comfortable. It is in a good location a couple blocks from Nicollet mall. The staff was friendly and helpful and the lobby is chic and interesting. Check out Foshay tower if you have the time. It's located in the W Hotel off 9th Street. Now the 16th tallest building, they have a walkway around the 30th floor. Would recomment hotel just wish parking was easier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "view". It appears some rooms either look onto an inner courtyard or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear joxxxxxjoxxxx: I appreciate the review and I'm glad you had a good experience! Our valet rate of $30 is in line with all other downtown hotels, but yes, parking in downtown Minneapolis is pretty pricey. Thank you for mentioning the location of our valet zone. It's so helpful for future guests. The street in front of the hotel is currently a bus only zone, but we are actually working on a plan to create a zone directly in front of the hotel for convenience. In regards to the wine hour, we actually offer it every evening, not just weekend nights. In fact, all Kimpton Hotels offer this. It's definitely a great perk! Thanks again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had the occasion to spend a weekend in Minneapolis and chose the Grand in downtown. Not only was it quite reasonable, but the room was warm, comfortable, and clean; the staff were more than helpful and gracious; they were highly informed and knowledgeable about eateries, etc., etc. Excellent amenities such as wine hour and snacks in the late afternoon, free morning coffee, NYT and WSJ available every morning for free. It's hard to get all that for close to a hundred bucks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Martin L: I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! Your comments about the staff made my day. They are truly our greatest asset. We do have some excellent amenities! You should check out Lifetime Fitness (free for guests to use), and the Six15 Room (our lounge) next time you're here! Thank you for this fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoy staying at Kimpton Hotels and our experience at the Grand in downtown MPLS was no exception. Helpful, friendly staff greeted us. We enjoyed a lovely corner room on the top floor. And, of course, the Kimpton's Wine Hour is always a treat. We were not able to take advantage of the health club/running track. Many guests did, however. We did not get to Rare, the restaruant. The Grand has access to the SkyWalks in downtown Mpls, so you don't need to venture outdoors if you need to get just about anywhere downtown. The one awkward thing about the Grand is the valet parking is off a side street a few hundred feet from the front door. But, staff is there to help.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room. Lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear GianniSaint: I am thrilled that The Grand met your expectaions of a Kimpton Hotel! Kimpton is definitely a different kind of hotel company. We're all about extending genuine service, and creating a fun and welcoming atmosphere that leads to memorable experiences. I'm glad that you were able to partake in wine hour! Hopefully you'll have time on your next visit to take advantage of Lifetime Fitness. It's pretty impressive! Thank you for this fantastic review. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.