We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done classic in the heart of Downtown Minneapolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well done classic in the heart of Downtown Minneapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great classic hotel with lobby staff that aims to please. Wine hosted by the front desk for an hour at night. Didn't use the Gym, but it is a Lifetime Fitness gym with a pool that is also for guests to use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear jjswanso: It's true, we do aim to please and I'm so glad you noticed! Thank you for this fantastic review! Our complimentary nightly wine hour is the perfect opportunity to wind down the work day or begin a nice weekend evening. You should definitely take advantage of Lifetime Fitness next time you're here. It's pretty darn impressive! Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    108
    50
    16
    16
See reviews for
49
188
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Was in Minneapolis for work and was able to make a part of the trip feel like a vacation. Great price, great service, great amenities. Being part of the Kimpton In Touch program provided all the little extra amenities to make it feel like a getaway weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Scott D: I'm elated that we were able to help make a business trip feel like a vacation! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. The Kimpton In Touch program does indeed offer some excellent perks. I hope you'll be our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I had a romantic weekend getaway at The Grand. The accomodations were lovely, the room was immaculate, and hotel staff (valets, housekeeping, front desk) were absolutely top notch. We received especially good customer service from one of the front desk staff, Courtney, who remembered that it was our "unanniversary" and sent us a special treat after we checked in (which took mere minutes, by the way), even though she wasn't working that weekend. There were only two drawbacks: First, our room was pretty dry. We asked for a humidifier and one was installed immediately by hotel staff. Second, stay away from "Rare" restaurant in the hotel (I don't think The Grand manages the restaurant), food and drinks were horrible and horribly overpriced! I wish we would have visited the six15 bar in the hotel lobby. Oh well, next time. We would definitely plan a stay at The Grand again in future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Tami L: I'm so glad you and your husband enjoyed your romantic weekend at The Grand. I'm not sure if you booked it, but we offer a romance package called the Grand Affair so that you don't have to worry about any of the details. Specifics of the package are on our website. I love that Courtney took special care of you. She's pretty amazing and we're lucky to have her! I regret that you had a negative experience at Rare. I will address it with the owner. Definitely check out the Six15 Room when you return. The menu is loaded with delicious beverages and yummy food made by our Chef, Kris Koch. Thanks for this gleaming review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here one weekend to celebrate a birthday and a new job, and found the Grand Hotel to be absolutely top notch. Booking through the Kimpton website allowed us to take advantage of a great price on rooms over the weekend. When we checked in the staff was friendly and welcoming, told us how to find the gym and mentioned the free wine happy hour later that day. I had mentioned on our reservation that we were celebrating, and shortly after check-in a complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered to our room!
The room was well-appointed, with a soaking tub as well as a shower, and the bed was heavenly and soft. The TV had HBO and other premium channels, and the gym in the basement was a full-sized gym with a sauna, steam room, pool, and racquetball courts, plus the usual weights and machines. The one time we called down to the front desk (for more towels), our request was attended to immediately. Since it was the weekend we were able to park in a nearby ramp for only $5/day, and in-room wifi was free (evidently a rarity among luxury hotels).
Everyone on staff was wonderful and went above and beyond to make our stay special. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you sign up for their loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch, you can give them your personal preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear kikster223: Delightful is right! Thanks so much for this amazing review. Booking through our website is the way to go. You can find some nice deals. I'm glad that you enjoyed our complimentary wine hour. Every Kimpton hotels offers it from 5-6 every day! Thanks for adding the tip about joining the Kimpton In Touch loyalty program. It's completely free to join and comes with perks like free wifi, credit towards honor bar items, upgrades, selection of room preferences, and more. I'm so pleased that you had a great weekend! We can't wait to see you again. By the way, happy belated birthday and congrats on the new job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not a typical Kimpton property as far as I am concerned. It's the old downtown athletic club and they could only do so much with it, yet the prices are still high. The bartender was very good and fun to visit with. The parking is across the street. When you enter, you have to climb several steps to get to the main lobby. A real pain unless you use the valet parking at $30.00/night. Also hard to access because of the bus stop next to it. The recommendations from the front desk were right on pertaining to food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear fussy942: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Yes, we are located in a historic building that used to be the Minneapolis Athletic Club. When Kimpton took over a few years ago, we put several million dollars towards a complete renovation and the designers incorporated the quirky, fun, and stylish decor that Kimpton is known for. Thank you for the comments about the bartender! Our bartenders in The Six15 Room are so talented and so wonderful with our guests. I constantly receive praise about them. We are only affiliated with valet parking, but there is indeed a parking garage across the street if one chooses to self park. We are working on a solution to the location of our valet zone. Thank you for the review and we'd love to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here one night for st Patrick's day and it was ultra fancy and chić. We didn't have enough time to rate the staff but the pool was nice the rooms were clean and the location was the best. We love trying all different places downtown and this place felt above our means but it was still great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Aslouren: Thanks for celebrating St. Patty's day with us! I wish you could have stayed longer. Maybe next time. I'm glad you were able to check out all of the downtown hot spots. We are conveniently located near most of them and you can get just about anywhere in the skyway attached to the hotel. We'd love to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was thrilled to see The Grand had become a Kimpton hotel. This "chain" of boutique hotels is outstanding and I have never been disappointed when staying at one. Rooms are of superior quality from the linens to the decor and sound proof from the hallway noises. Our stay in Minneapolis was the best ever at this hotel. Stayed at Le Meridian a few weeks ago and it just cannot compete with the service and accommodations at The Grand. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear woj59976: Yes, Kimpton took over management of The Grand just a couple years ago and we are so delighted to introuduce Kimpton to Minneapolis! I love that you're a Kimpton fan. We are definitely a different kind of hotel company. We're fun and quirky and pride ourselves on making genuine connections with our guests. We don't hire robots! Thank you for cheering for us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.