We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here one night for st Patrick's day and it was ultra fancy and chić. We didn't have enough time to rate the staff but the pool was nice the rooms were clean and the location was the best. We love trying all different places downtown and this place felt above our means but it was still great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Aslouren: Thanks for celebrating St. Patty's day with us! I wish you could have stayed longer. Maybe next time. I'm glad you were able to check out all of the downtown hot spots. We are conveniently located near most of them and you can get just about anywhere in the skyway attached to the hotel. We'd love to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    118
    53
    17
    16
See reviews for
53
206
33
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was thrilled to see The Grand had become a Kimpton hotel. This "chain" of boutique hotels is outstanding and I have never been disappointed when staying at one. Rooms are of superior quality from the linens to the decor and sound proof from the hallway noises. Our stay in Minneapolis was the best ever at this hotel. Stayed at Le Meridian a few weeks ago and it just cannot compete with the service and accommodations at The Grand. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear woj59976: Yes, Kimpton took over management of The Grand just a couple years ago and we are so delighted to introuduce Kimpton to Minneapolis! I love that you're a Kimpton fan. We are definitely a different kind of hotel company. We're fun and quirky and pride ourselves on making genuine connections with our guests. We don't hire robots! Thank you for cheering for us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I live about 3 hours Southwest of Minneapolis/St Paul and travel to the Twin Cities a few times a year. Those travels take me to various parts of city, but if I need to be anywhere in the downtown area, I always stay at the The Grand Hotel. Over the years, I've had the opportunity to 'try them all'; certainly all the hotels in the Minneapolis Downtown area. Here's why the Grand Hotel is different.

Room Service - is exceptional EVERY TIME we've stayed there. The food is consistently good and its arrives to you in a timely manner.

Accommodations - The Grand Hotel was very nice before the recent renovations, but obviously that much nicer how. Contemporary, yet classic, and the rooms are complimented with excellent bed linens, pillows, etc.

Pet Friendly - although I do not take advantage of this, it is amazing to me that a hotel of this quality allows for small pets. On a recent business trip, my associate and his family brought their (very small) dog, and the hotel was more than accommodating.

There is really nothing negative about the hotel that I can think of, drawing from our numerous experiences; if I had to pick something, it would be a lack of views of downtown. There are rooms within the hotel that provide this, but you really need to make sure to ask for one. Every time we were placed on a room without a decent view, a desk clerk was up to our room within 5 minutes to assist with our bags, and keys to our new room.

I would recommend, without hesitation, staying at the Grand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear b8tovene: Thank you for always choosing us when you have so many options downtown. I love that we've made an impression on you! Our Chef, Kris Koch is responsible for all of the food served through room service, banquets and The Six15 Room. It is absolutely delicious! I'm glad that you are a fan of the renovation. The design team couldn't have done a better job. As a Kimpton hotel, we accommodate all types of guests, even the furry ones! We provide dog/cat beds, bowls, treats - you name it, we have it. We focus on personalizing each guests stay, so if you want a higher floor with a view, just say so and we'll make it happen. I appreciate your loyalty to us! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We found this by accident....and absolutely loved it. It was so nice and sooooo different from an ordinary hotel. I felt like our room and bathroom had been done by a professional decorator and was part of a private elegant home... not just a room. I love to swim and also was very pleased with the workout facilities and pool... the nicest I have seen in a downtown hotel. The staff was very friendly and the lemon martini ...original recipe was great. The only problem with staying here is that it has made me dissatisfied with other hotel chains like... well I won't say but they are everywhere and very nice... but not exceptional like this one was. Too bad family has room for us next visit.

Room Tip: I loved ours.. it overlooked the street and was about 5 floors up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear KarenW55AnnArbor: What a lovely review! Truly incredible. Thank you. I'm ecstatic that you loved the guest room and bathroom decor. We completed a multi million dollar renovation and the designers did a phenomenal job. If you liked the lemon martini in The Six15 Room, you should try our array of other specialty cocktails. Our bartenders are so creative and they are constantly coming up with new recipes. Since you will be staying with family when you return, please come visit us in The Six15 Room for happy hour. Ask for Eddie, Sean or Scott and they will take special care of you. Thank you for this wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Being a frequent traveler to Minneapolis I have stayed in a few hotels. This one was easily the nicest! From the time we arrived until the time we left everyone was friendly, accommodating, helpful and attentive. Our room was one of the nicest and cleanest we have seen and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were minutes away from several things downtown and loved the surrounding area. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Taylor P: Love the title of your review! I think so too! I appreciate your comment about the cleanliness. We actually have some of the highest housekeeping scores in the company and take great pride in that. Thanks for noticing! We can't wait for your return. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

When traveling for Business, I always try to book a Kimpton Hotel and The Grand in Minneapolis is one of the best. The location and accessibility to the Skyway is perfect and I love the boutique atmosphere. I would definitely choose The Grand over a large chain for a superior hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear susiejhicks: Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton Hotels and The Grand! It's true, we do offer a superior hotel experience compared to the large chains. We pride ourselves on making a genuine connection with each guest and only hire people that are capable of doing so. If you haven't visited our lounge, the Six15 Room, you should try it next time you stay. The team that runs the lounge, Eddie, Sean and Scott are amazing and always create an enjoyable atmosphere. The food and cocktails are something to talk about too! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Luxurious ny style boutique hotel at a minneapolis price. All the amenities. The gym is out of this world. Great location right on the skyway. Can walk to any of the local favorites in this midwestern gem

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear mkphi75: Thank you for comparing us to a luxurious NY hotel! That is quite a compliment and we'll take it. We definitely do have a lot going for us, from the impressive gym to our convenient downtown location. When you return, be sure to check out the specialty cocktails and delicious food in The Six15 Room directly off the lobby. You won't be sorry. Thanks so much for this gleaming review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.