We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My B@#$$es and I Love the Grand Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off + Dining Credit
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minnesota, United States
1 review
“My B@#$$es and I Love the Grand Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is the nicest, most dog friendly hotel I've ever been too. Upon your arrival you might meet one of the two "house" dogs. There is an adorable puppy who "lives" there and loves to greet visitors and there was another sleepy fellow behind the desk.
This hotel offers dog sitting, and has treats, bowls, beds, and more to welcome you and your beloved furry family member.
The hotel is connected to Lifetime Fitness Minneapolis, which was once the Minneapolis Club, a beautiful place to swim, work out, sit in the steam room, sauna, etc...my husband and I make sure we take advantage of the "membership" perks of this fantastic athletic club while we are guests (you can use all of the exercise facilities for no extra charge).
Of course my favorite perk of staying at the Grand, besides the beautiful rooms, large bathrooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, and dog friendly policy is the WINE HOUR! You get a nice big glass of wine in the lobby to sip and savor while you kick back and relax in their beautiful fireside lobby.
Basically, this place rocks and they are always promoting the place with major discounts and special offers.
I love the Grand Hotel and so does my dog, I mean husband, and my bzitches!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you and your bosses love the Grand! We take pride in offering those special extras (such as our complimentary wine hour each night and pet sitting services) that make the Grand Hotel a unique, memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    130
    56
    18
    16
See reviews for
62
223
34
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Minneapolis Grand Hotel did a fabuous job of making us feel welcome and valued. They had hand written cards to my husband as we were celebrating his birthday. They also sent up a complimentary cookies (home made) and milk (on ice). It was delicious and so thoughtful of the staff. I was blown away by the professionalism and kindness. The amazing staff is really what makes this hotel special, but the room was very clean and comfortable. Everything went smoothly and exceeded our expectations. If you enjoy being pampered and treated with respect, chose the Minneapolis Grand Hotel.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If you enjoy being pampered and treated with respect, chose the Minneapolis Grand Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We spend a lot of time and resources making sure our staff is empowered and has the tools necessary to provide our guests with memorable experiences and I love examples (like your review) that prove it works! Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just had a wonderful experience at the Grand Hotel. From the valet, to the front desk, everyone was extremely helpful and attentive. Was on the top floor of the hotel and room was beautiful, very large, clean and quiet. Free access to the Lifetime Fitness Club is a huge plus ... it is top notch and has a great lap pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our facility and our staff! We think we have a truly amazing team of people who are committed to providing you with a relaxing yet memorable experience. Thank you for recognizing our hard work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Grand over the Thanksgiving holidays. We were in a King Premier room and very happy with it. I joined the InTouch Kimpton membership when I reserved the room. I highly recommend it. I entered our personal preferences & was pleasantly surprised that our room was in our preferred location with our choice of pillows, etc. Our room was a good size with large velvet draped windows & a smart layout. The bathroom was nice with a separate tiled shower, a large soaking tub, & television for watching while relaxing in the bath. I wish they provided some bath salts or such for use in the lovely tub. The bed was a touch too soft for my husband's back but the bedding was Frette linens, very nice.

This is a dog friendly hotel which appeals to the animal lover in me. I enjoyed meeting the various dogs being dog watched at the front desk. The hotel is clean & you would never know animals stayed here. I also enjoyed the complimentary fruited water in the lobby. It was always full at all hours which is a plus. The hotel is connected to the skyway system which is great when the skyway is open (it is closed at odd times). The only negative of our stay is that it is a few blocks farther away from some of our favorite spots which is bothersome when it is ten degrees out & the skyway is closed.

Room Tip: The corner room was large with many windows and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here over Thanksgiving very much. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. Valet parking was a bit steep, but the service was great. Stayed on the 14th floor and the noise level was minimal. Heard nothing from adjacent rooms even though the property was fully booked. Was a bit non-plussed that the staff organized and straightened our belongings; never had that experience before.... We've now stayed at 4 different hotels in Minneapolis and this is the best value to-date.

Room Tip: Nice and quiet on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. We were thrilled to be able to stay at such a nice place and have our dog with us. When we needed a rollaway for a standard room, we were upgraded to a suite for only the charge of the rollaway. A pest to have to order ice to one's room, and the second time they never came with it. Other than that, great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you and your 4 legged friend had a good time with us here at the Grand Hotel! I love hearing that we were able to offer you an upgraded room rather than just craming a roll away into your original room. Our goal is to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible while you are with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We are just wrapping up our stay here at the Grand. While we did not utilize the food options here, the balance of the staff was friendly and accommodating - from an early check-in to providing directions to a competing steak house. The weather turned cold this weekend so we used the skywalk that connected right off the lobby. Being from another city with the same extensive skywalk access, it was appreciated. The room ( a king 500 sq ft option) was very nice with a beautiful bathroom-the kind of room you walk into and don't feel ripped off by the rate. I don't know if what we paid was standard but I felt like it was a great value. The room has a large flat screen tv and nice deals area as well as. Lot of outlets for laptops, phone chargers, etc. no digging around here, unplugging lamps to find an open outlet-sounds minor but when you need them, it counts. We did schedule massages at the spa which were fantastic ( jut tell the therapist if you don't want to chat ) and we checked out the gym which looked fantastic- no converted hotel room with old universal machines jammed in it. Very open, lots of equipment and in an open room (expansive actually) when the elevator doors open on the third floor. The bathroom in our room had a separate shower and soaking tub ( with a small tv for relaxing) and a semi- private toilet room. Spacious and clean! Would visit, and recommend, again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for such a postive review of our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you found our rates to be such a value. We know that you have a choice when you travel and we appreciate you choosing to stay at the Grand! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.