We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“boutique hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a lovely and lesser known hotel in DT Mpls. It is housed in the old Mpls Athletic Club and it has character that is completely absent in new buildings. The rooms are fabulous, especially the corner rooms. The furnishings and trim are a level well above a standard hotel room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We love it when our guests have such a good time that they feel the need to spread the word. Hopefully we wont be one of the hidden gems for long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    113
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
52
196
31
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GRAND FORKS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My staff and I stayed at The Grand Hotel in Minneapolis for nearly a week in October. We could have done better for much less.
The hotel has significant service issues and although the front desk tries, service is sub standard for this class of hotel or any class for that matter.
For example, since the rooms do not have coffee makers a coffee service is offered. The first morning my service did not arrive at all. The next day it arrived but was decaf which was not what I had ordered. The third morning I finally got my coffee but my pre ordered room service breakfast never did arrive. In fact, room service was a real crap shoot. If it did arrive it was either late, not what was ordered or both.
The rooms are also hit and miss. Some are good sized with decent outlets etc. for business and some are not good for business at all. All the rooms however have clunky and pretentious furniture and curtains that are hard to draw and are themselves clunky.
Wake up calls do not always come and when they do the caller sounds even more tired than the person he is waking.
The front desk tries but low level of service is a management issue and Kimpton would be well advised to address it.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room with adequate outlets if you need them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am a Kimpton In Touch member and really like the hotels. This was our first time at this hotel (early Oct 2012) and I was not as pleased as my experiences at other Kimpton properties. I asked the front desk for a couple of things over our 4 days there and not a single request was ever fulfilled. Nothing fancy; I asked for some more clothes hangars in the room and asked for transportation twice at specified times. Zero response to all requests after assuring me it would be taken care of. It was the same person at the desk each time so maybe it was just him. We just made do with what we had in the closet and we got our own transportation.
If you have never stayed in a Kimpton property before be forewarned: there are no coffee makers in the rooms. Ever. You get coffee in the lobby in the morning which is OK. Except....when they run out and don't replace it in a timely manner. This happened on both Sat and Sun at this hotel. I hung around the lobby with other disgruntled caffeine addicts waiting for more coffee and finally gave up. I'm sure they sent out a refill and I'm also sure it took a while. None of the staff in the area seemed to be the slightest bit bothered or curious as to why all these people were hanging around so I'm guessing this is the norm.
As far as this particular hotel: overall it is nice but DO NOT stay on the top floors if you can help it. The building is old and appears to have been renovated....at least cosmetically. But the availability of hot water on the top floors is abysmal. It takes forever to get hot water in your sink or shower and when it gets there....watch out! My husband got scalded because the temperature valve adjusts at about the same rate the hot water gets there. Which is to say, very, very slowly. It was quite cold in the city during our visit and every one of our showers were miserable. Either way hot or too cold. We tried and tried and just could not get the water adjusted. So we took very hurried showers and just had to deal with it.
The bathrooms are spacious but only one sink. The bed was moderately comfortable.
The one very big negative: we were there from Thursday through Sunday and never had housekeeping. They showed up so late every day that we were back in the room and getting ready to go out. We were in town for a wedding and had multiple functions to attend. Since we were on the bride and groom's clock we didn't have the luxury of vacating our room for house keeping. But then I've never stayed in a hotel where they show up between 4 and 5 in the afternoon. It got very tiresome by the time we checked out.
Bottom line: would I stay at this hotel again? Not if others were available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm a big fan of Kimpton hotels, but the Grand Hotel is a fantastic hotel, period. I travel to Minnesota several times a year for business and I'll stay at the Grand every time. It's nicely appointed, meticulously cared for, clean, and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and modern, and the bathrooms are some of the nicest I've ever seen in a hotel.

In-room dining and the 615 Room are both great, too. The location is fantastic if you have business downtown, but even if you don't, you'll want to stay here. Make sure you use the gym if you visit - it's a Lifetime Fitness facility, and it blows all other hotel gyms out of the water.

Room Tip: To maximize natural light in your room, request a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you kindly for the complimentary review! I am so delighted that you are a fan! I appreciate you making The Grand your home away from home. We're excited for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located downtown about 3 blocks from the lightrail. The decor is very modern and fun. The service was great and accomodating. We were there only for one night, but would stay again. The hotel is also pet friendly, I believe. It was a bit expensive, but we were given a room on the top floor which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I'm a loyal Kimpton guest and really appreciate Kimpton's service, unique themes and hotels, etc. The hotel staff did not disappoint, every single Kimpton employee was excellent--helpful, welcoming, attentive. I was traveling with my young child and they went out of their way to be engaging and welcoming, including getting him a welcome bag with goodies. The room was nicely decorated, though it showed more wear than any other Kimpton I've visited. The tub in the bathroom had some mold on the caulking all along the side of the faucet (so very visible) and I have never seen that at a Kimpton. The biggest issue, and unfortunately beyond Kimpton's control, is that there was a very loud noise all night long (all the time, really) right outside the hotel. Unsure if it's there daily or new or what it was even--it sounded like a helicopter landing--could have been a generator. We heard it loudly from our 7th floor room. Finally, I would not advise having breakfast at the on-site restaurant. Food was OK but service was very poor. We were literally the only diners that morning and there were 2 waitstaff but they mostly ignored us, didn't refill water or coffee, etc. That restaurant is not Kimpton-owned but is in the restaurant and the only place serving breakfast in the hotel. Overall, I was OK staying here, in particular because of the excellent staff and great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton. I appreciate the kind comments about the staff! They are truly our greatest assett! I apologize for the noise disturbance, issues with the room and service in the restaurant. I assure you all will be addressed and I will share your comments with the owners and management of the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is just a great hotel. As almost every Kimpton it
has style, is clean, features spacious rooms, an excellent restaurant
and very friendly employees. I really like the hospitality.
The only thing I did not like is that you can't take the toiletry articles with you.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton! I'm so glad that we made you feel welcome. Because we are eco-friendly, we have the larger shampoo and conditioner bottles and pumps installed in the showers to reduce waste. However, we do have smaller bottles upon request, so feel to ask for them in the future. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.