We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard-bearer hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A standard-bearer hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm a big fan of Kimpton hotels, but the Grand Hotel is a fantastic hotel, period. I travel to Minnesota several times a year for business and I'll stay at the Grand every time. It's nicely appointed, meticulously cared for, clean, and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and modern, and the bathrooms are some of the nicest I've ever seen in a hotel.

In-room dining and the 615 Room are both great, too. The location is fantastic if you have business downtown, but even if you don't, you'll want to stay here. Make sure you use the gym if you visit - it's a Lifetime Fitness facility, and it blows all other hotel gyms out of the water.

Room Tip: To maximize natural light in your room, request a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you kindly for the complimentary review! I am so delighted that you are a fan! I appreciate you making The Grand your home away from home. We're excited for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    107
    50
    16
    16
See reviews for
49
188
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located downtown about 3 blocks from the lightrail. The decor is very modern and fun. The service was great and accomodating. We were there only for one night, but would stay again. The hotel is also pet friendly, I believe. It was a bit expensive, but we were given a room on the top floor which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I'm a loyal Kimpton guest and really appreciate Kimpton's service, unique themes and hotels, etc. The hotel staff did not disappoint, every single Kimpton employee was excellent--helpful, welcoming, attentive. I was traveling with my young child and they went out of their way to be engaging and welcoming, including getting him a welcome bag with goodies. The room was nicely decorated, though it showed more wear than any other Kimpton I've visited. The tub in the bathroom had some mold on the caulking all along the side of the faucet (so very visible) and I have never seen that at a Kimpton. The biggest issue, and unfortunately beyond Kimpton's control, is that there was a very loud noise all night long (all the time, really) right outside the hotel. Unsure if it's there daily or new or what it was even--it sounded like a helicopter landing--could have been a generator. We heard it loudly from our 7th floor room. Finally, I would not advise having breakfast at the on-site restaurant. Food was OK but service was very poor. We were literally the only diners that morning and there were 2 waitstaff but they mostly ignored us, didn't refill water or coffee, etc. That restaurant is not Kimpton-owned but is in the restaurant and the only place serving breakfast in the hotel. Overall, I was OK staying here, in particular because of the excellent staff and great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton. I appreciate the kind comments about the staff! They are truly our greatest assett! I apologize for the noise disturbance, issues with the room and service in the restaurant. I assure you all will be addressed and I will share your comments with the owners and management of the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is just a great hotel. As almost every Kimpton it
has style, is clean, features spacious rooms, an excellent restaurant
and very friendly employees. I really like the hospitality.
The only thing I did not like is that you can't take the toiletry articles with you.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton! I'm so glad that we made you feel welcome. Because we are eco-friendly, we have the larger shampoo and conditioner bottles and pumps installed in the showers to reduce waste. However, we do have smaller bottles upon request, so feel to ask for them in the future. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel. Great rooms and comfy beds. Just a tad off some of the others as far as location, but only by a block or two. You can go straight into the skyway so not a big deal. A bit spendy at times but if you keep an eye on it you can stay cheap. We just stayed in a single king on a Saturday night for 119. The premiere king is like your own apartment with separate shower and tub. We have stayed in several others in the downtown and this is the best. We will stay here from now on anytime we can get it for under 200 a night. If you check around the block you can usually find parking for the weekend for around 10. Only a couple blocks from the light rail and Target field also.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We're so glad you are a fan of the Grand! Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very nice hotel with exceptional staff! They offer complimentary bikes for touring the city and for the runners, they have organized group runs! The rooms are nicely decorated and beds are comfy! The food was very good and they have great happy hour options in the lobby bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for the dazzling review! Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let me get the worst out of the way first. The breakfast concept is hopeless, dull, slow and best avoided. Dimly lit diner-style, worn, with forlorn looking people waiting for their breakfasts and trying to pass time. No good at all. When breakfast arrived it was fine, but who wants to have a long dull wait for coffee and muffins? The breakfast is so much out of step with the ambience and comfort of this hotel that you want to stop people in the lift and advise them to cross the road at have breakfast at the Crowne Plaza. Now, the rooms at the Grand Hotel are very comfortable, spacious, pleasant and with very very good sleep quality. Room service is fast, courteous, knowledgeable and the food excellent. Reception staff top quality too. The only thing about the spotlessly clean and lovely bathroom I'd change was the use of fixed-to-the-wall soap and shampoo dispensers. Do people want to carry a soap dish of shampoo from the shower to the bathtub? No, probably not. Yet, this is what you find yourself doing, probably chuckling but also wondering a little at the concept. On request, a coffee maker can be delivered to your room. I assume many guests do not know this but it is one of the tricks of the trade if you want to avoid the breakfast room. All in all I would be delighted to stay here again, put would make sure to put in a request for a coffee machine and I really would not bother with breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am so sorry about your breakfast experience at Rare. The restaurant, Rare is actually separately owned and operated, so The Grand Hotel doesn't have any influence in their operation. As you can imagine, this presents difficult situations at times. However, I know that their ownership appreciates the feedback to help them improve, so I've made them aware of your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Amex, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.