We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Amenities and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2014 FREE Valet Parking
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Amenities and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My son and I went to Minneapolis to attend the Vikings-Raiders game and stayed at the Grand Hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is located in downtown Minneapolis very close to the Metrodome stadium. The hotel, which once used to be an athletic club, was acquired by the Kimpton group and renovated into a hip boutique style venue. Our room, which had 2 queen beds, was very large with modern upscale furnishings and amenities you would expect in a hipster type hotel. The bathroom was large with marble and other upscale features. Big plasma TV and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only negatives were that room service never came during the 2 days we stayed (which was not a big enough deal for us report it to staff) and the room temperature seemed finicky requiring me to adjust the thermostat several times over the course of our stay. The bartenders in the hotel's bar were outstanding. In sum, I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton loyalty program prior to booking the room to get special rates and free internet ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear mike453,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Grand Hotel. I'm so happy you and your son enjoyed your visit. I appreciate your feedback about the service and thermostats. I am happy to report we are upgrading the thermostats this next year.
Thank you for complimenting our bartenders. We think they are extraordinary too!
I hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Go Vikings!
Sincerely,
~Amanda Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    107
    50
    16
    16
See reviews for
49
186
30
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel was charming and immaculately clean...nice furnishings, bedding, design elements...great central location and nice staff...two things...dont run out of light beer on a weekend...especially the ultra 64 miller....viks vs raiders...also..train the front desk to know how to get places by showing people on the map you supply...we were sent 6 blocks in the wrong direction once and 5 blocks in the wrong direction another time..

It was too cold for this....dont blame it on the staff if you havent tested them to know their job...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear MarinaWinnipeg,
Thank you for your honest feedback about the directions you received from the front desk. Your comments have instigated an additional training opportunity for our team. Thank you!
It's feedback like yours that helps us improve on the Grand experience.
I hope to welcome you back very soon.
All my best,
~Amanda Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I booked the Grand Suite for my wifes birthday. I called their 800 number to add a day. After pressing multiple buttons I got a Kimpton hotel agent that could not find the reservation. She transferred me to the hotels reservation where I was on hold for 5 minutes, then got disconnected. I then called back and was put on hold. I then called back at 8am to talk to the manager Larry and he was not in yet. If they cant handle reservations competently I felt it likely my stay would be unsatisfactory. I travel extensively and even the Holiday Inn and Marriott processes are better. The Grand certainly is not provideing 4 or star service in htis regard. I cancelled my reservation and will never know if this hotel is as bad as its reservation process would imply.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear mike m,
I am sincerely sorry for the issues you experienced during the reservation process. I can absolutely appreciate why you would cancel your reservation. Our team makes every possible effort to deliver on our promise of excellence, and it is very clear we did not meet your expectations in this situation. I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies.
Your comments have caused us to look at our reservation processes in greater detail as we would hate for another guest to have such an experience.
I can only hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. I am confident you did not have the true Grand experience.
Thank you for your honest feedback.
All my best,
~Amanda Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed 3 days at the Grand Hotel and had an excellent stay.

Room: I had a corner room on the10th floor that was great. The room was nice, the layout and decor was interesting, and I did not hear a sound from anywhere except some morning traffic 10 floors below.

Staff: The desk staff was cordial from the outset. I stopped in the lobby bar a couple of times and was treated as if I was a "regular." When I stood aimlessly in the lobby for a minute or two while waiting for a friend, the staff asked whether I needed any help.

Hint: Up the short flight of stairs out of the lobby, turn left, then right, and you arrive at Caribou Coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have Hotel Palmor in Philadelphia to compare to this Kimpton in Downtown Minneapolis--and we choose a Kimpton because of that.
We arrived late--no doorman-
Staff is not uber friendly nor do they go out of their way to be friendly--we saw a doorman maybe twice--and i asked and she said they had 24 hour doormen--coffee saturday morning--empty and cream and milk not labeled--i asked which was which and they looked at me as if to say well poor and see -next morning they were labeled-coffee cups sat outside door ways the next morning from the previous day and i finally asked for them to be removed from the halls--all these are little things but they all make up for a great stay-life fitness center doesn't open until 7:00 am on weekends???? nor coffee-You all need to go to philly and take lessons on how to treat people--

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here last weekend with my husband for a wedding at the Graves. We have 5 children and were looking forward to getting away from the noise and chaos. Nothin' doin'. We came back from wedding around 9:30 to get a good nite sleep. Both zonked off right away only to be awoken by the noise of a headboard in the room next to us being banged against the wall repeatedly. These walls appear to be cement but OMG they seemed paper thin. I felt like I was in a bordello. This went on for at least 30 minutes at which point I called down to reception. They said they would go up to the room and ask them to be quieter. Not sure if they did. Noise continued including moaning and groaning. Noise got quieter eventually but it took me banging on the wall with my husband's dress shoe to end it. Had it not been midnite I would have asked to switch rooms. The next morning very loud and raucous voices from the same noisy neighbors. I could hear every word. Room Service was ok. Food was average. I got such a bad vibe I just don't think I can bring myself to stay here again. Perhaps your experience will be different. Needless to say all the reception lady said at checkout was, "I am sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations". Forgot to mention the horrible view of the very ugly Crown Plaza hotel across the street. Club pool and lockers were nice but that is Lifetime. Overall a disappointment.

Room Tip: perhaps choose a room that is on the opposite side from the Crown Plaza hotel view. Yuck!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at The Grand Hotel. Rooms large and decor great. Quiet. Staff very helpful. Workout facilities the best.

Room Tip: They're all good. Large. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.