We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Grand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Just returned from a weekend at the Grand. It was great! The lobby was ok, nothing special. Our check-in was very smooth. They had us down for the wrong rate but changed it no problem once I pointed it out. The guest rooms are outstanding. Really on par with many supposedly fancier hotels I have stayed at. Immaculately clean and the bathrooms were super - huge with ample towels and amenities. There were some extra touches we liked too - free shoe shine and free wireless internet. Both came in handy. The bed wasn't super comfy, but the windows had great blinds and curtains that did a great job of keeping the light out so we were able to sleep in. The gym was huge and mostly empty when I saw it. The hotel is really close to the light rail so it was easy to get to the airport. I had stayed at Chambers last month on a different trip to Minneapolis, and I have to say, that although the two hotels have a very different feel to them, for half the price, I'd pick the Grand every time.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    122
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
59
208
33
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Found a great deal on a room at the Grand for a weekend getway and had to take it.

Check in was a breeze. The elevators are a bit slow, but what do you expect for an older hotel? The room was immaculate, but we did have a few slopes in the floor by the entryway and bathroom. Nothing unstable, just sloped. Would be concerned if one did not have good balance. The bed was great, as was the soaking tub. The TV in the bathroom was a favorite of my husband.

The hotel is just a few blocks off of Nicollet Mall and the skyway is easily asscessible.

No complaints at all!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

I stayed at the Grand for the first time in a couple of years on a recent business trip to Minneapolis. The facility is top-notch, great lobby, terriffic health club and each room has a TV in the bathroom, which is perfect for a little "Good Morning America" while getting ready in the AM. For the most part the staff is very pleasant and helpful: checkin was a breeze, the healthclub attendents friendly and the lobby bar host first rate. The only disappointment for me was the restaurant. The breakfast service was slow....the eggs cold....the toast dry, not worth the time or money. The restaurant drags the whole experience down below the normal "Preferred Hotel" experience.

Please fix the restaurant!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Another great stay at the Grand Hotel last month. The service is impeccable, the beds are comfortable and the amenities are always appreciated. Have stayed in quite a few room types, and I even enjoy the rooms facing the "courtyard" - looking into the central core of the hotel. The best are the corner rooms and the ones with the tv over the bathtub.
My favorite part of staying at this hotel is the complimentary coffee that comes with your wakeup call. you open your door and it's there waiting for you, small pot of coffee with cream, sugar and a bottle of water. I stay at a lot of hotels and this is the only one I have stayed at that offers this service. Also, if they're gonna leave mints, Godiva is always appreciated.
The gym is a full on health club, wonderful for those who want to work out.
Really can't say enough good things about this hotel, it's fabulous!

  • Liked — Complimentary coffe delivered to your door in the mornings
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

My husband and I live just twenty minutes away, but wanted to pretend we were far away for a romantic weekend. It was the coldest February weekend, so being indoors was inevitable. We were greeted by a jovial doorman and valet--and the feeling of being royalty set in from here on--the service is outstanding! Our room was dominated by an enormous bed with a great towering headboard. They spared no expense with the furniture--it's fine and luxurious. The bed sheets are like nothing I've ever felt--so incredibly soft, I had to be coaxed out to go to Martini Blu for dinner. The sushi is some of the best I've had in the twin cities, and our martinis were tasty. We went for a swim in a pool (I felt like I was in a beautiful 1930s art deco mansion, a la Daddy Warbucks or something), worked out at Lifetime fitness--then took longbath in our deep-soak tub in our bathroom. The tub was made for two and was so, so romantic. The absolutely perfect weekend was topped with a delicious roomservice breakfast that I devoured in my cushy, deliciously soft robe. I will never forget this wonderful experience--worth every cent and then some. Definitely recommended and I can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2007

I adore this hotel!! My maid of honor booked a room at a holiday inn suites in minneapolis for our first two nights of our honeymoon, and when we got to the hotel, they said that our reservation was never made, eventhough it was and we had a confirmation number. Sorry to say, holiday inn left me in my wedding dress frustrated with no room, and did not offer me any type of room to make up for their mistake. I called my dad, who said to just have the limo take us to the grand hotel, he knew he could get us a room. So we did, we arrived, and they not only had set up a room for us, but they gave us our first night free... They also gave us a complimentary fruit plate (which was amazing). The bathrooms had Aveda products, which really impressed me, my husband could have cared less.. haha. There was a beautiful stone shower and extremely large tub, with a television. The bathroom was very spacious, the mini bar was stocked with not only alchohol, but other tasty drinks. The sushi at night was wonderful, even for my husband who can't usually stand sushi. The front desk and hotel staff were VERY polite and professional. The spa is worth the money, and the fitness center was perfect for my husband's fitness obsession. All in all, the hotel was amazing!!!

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

Have stayed at this hotel in the heart of downtown Minneapolis about 10 times over the last 8 months and agree with the previous reviewer that without a doubt there is not a nicer place to stay while enjoying what Minneapolis has to offer. Lobby is quiet and elegant, and front desk staff are always professional and accomodating to any request.

Grand rooms are very large and extremely comfortable and you rarely hear anything in the hallways. Housekeeping and turndown staff are incredible, keeping the rooms very tidy without ever bothering you. Room service is excellent as well and is always prompt and polite. They also have recently added LCD flat-panel televisions in the rooms which is a very nice touch.

Bathrooms are great, with separate showers and tvs above the tub. Free high-speed wireless access is also a plus.

Room rates are very comparable with what you would pay at other high-end hotels in the area and I have stayed in them all. You will not be disappointed in selecting the Grand Hotel when visting Minneapolis either for business or pleasure.

  • Liked — Rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.