We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masu Sushi & Robata

Masu Sushi & Robata
330 E Hennepin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1016
612-332-6278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Masu Sushi & Robata is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #244 of 1,598 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 4th street
Description: Classic Japanese cuisine in a fun, modern neighborhood restaurant. Our menu features fresh, authentic and traditional Japanese foods. In addition to sushi and robata, the menu includes a substantial selection of noodles including different varieties of udon, soba and ramen.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always friendly staff and great alternative to the greasy asian places that dominate the skyways. Owners also have a great restaurant on Washington Ave that is full service.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality has decreased”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to Masu several times, right when it first opened and a few times more recently. This may have been my last time there. Service was great, but it smelled musty or like things weren't being cleaned in the restaurant. The food was so-so, not as good as it has been in the past. I had a sushi roll and pork belly steamed buns. The sushi was OK, the pork steamed buns were also OK. There are better sushi places to spend my money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great For a Special Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Masu Sushi was the place our son chose for dinner, when we wanted to thank him and his wife for caring for our cat when we were on vacation.

Good choice! We all had very different dinners, although all were decidedly Japanese, and were all lovely. The food is excellent, the service attentive but not hovering, and the location one of my favorites, in the midst of the growing and vibrant East Hennepin area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“So-so food, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate here for dinner, and had various entrees and appetizers. We had a sushi/sashimi combination platter, 2 noodle dishes, some chicken meatballs on a skewer, and some buns stuffed with various meats.

While the service was quick & friendly, the food was nothing but fast-food dressed up to look better. By using actual ceramic dishes and serving platters/bowls, you might be fooled. But the sushi is no better than grocery store deli sushi. The noodle broths were very salty, and the noodles were greasy.

While everything was edible, nothing stood out beyond regular mall-Japanese food, except the much-better-than-food-court seating. We liked the Pan Crepe place much better, even though the seating and dishes were worse.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“head fake....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I got a really strange feeling at this place.. something wasn't really clear... the place looks affordable but it is a trick.... don't be stupid, they are not.... in fact the are really expensive..
Take a simple example: Schrimp Tempura.... it's look really cool to get this plate for $13 and you are impressed once you get in on the table because it's big and full of nice stuff...very good by the way... however the nobble product (shrimp) is almost not present... you get only 3 (sic ! yes, three !!!) shrimps for the price of $13 ??? how could you accept this ?? In fact this place is really, really expensive and don't worth it... but they do some magic: nice presentation and overfill the plate with really cheap product like this you don't realize they thread you....
Better to go somewhere else you you really get what you order and not only magic.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masu Sushi & Robata also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Masu Sushi & Robata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masu Sushi & Robata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.