We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thin crust pizza in town!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Lola

Pizzeria Lola
5557 Xerxes Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN
612-424-8338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,596 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Wood fired pizza, warm chocolate chip cookies, soft serve ice cream, wine, beer, photo booth
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best thin crust pizza in town!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place is absolutely amazing, both in food and in dining experience! The thin crust pizza was the best I have had in the US. And the oven cooked chocolate chip cookies are to die for!! Get there early to be at the rush!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    60
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very tasty and current flavors for pizza toppings.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Glad we made it for late lunch did not have to wait for a table. Great time of day to go. Great service. We tried 2 kinds they all come in one size only which is great. There was 2 of us and had about 1/2 of one pizza for leftovers. Pizza oven is hot hot hot so, does't take long for your pizza to arrive. Go and enjoy the fun flavors and try something new. It's very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pizza Euphoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

There was an almost hour long wait, but it was worth it! The have trivia cards sitting around while you waited to help keep you occupied. There was a photo booth that you could pay to use, as well. The show showcased a pizza called Lady ZaZa. I craved it for two weeks before we got to try it for myself! The pizza was so flavorful! This time my mouth definitely was in euphoria. All the pizza choices seemed to have an ethnic influence for Asia, which made them more unique and definitely more flavorful. My fiance had the My-Sha-Rona, which was basically sausage and pepperoni, but it tasted nothing like any other sausage and pepperoni pizza I have ever had. We both agreed that this place deserves a spot in our top 5 pizza places. We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“One word- Amazing""”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This place has the most amazing fresh, natural, unique wood fired pizza ever. And! All but one can be made on a gluten free crust. The atmosphere is cozy with the oven in the middle. If you go on Friday or Saturday evening prepare to wait. Yes, it's worth the wait.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good, Unique and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Pizzeria Lola is a unique take on the pizza industry. Sure they have regular pizza, like the Margherita, but this place does pizza uniquely. For starters, I had the Korean BBQ Short Ribs pizza, which was topped with arugula (made me feel healthy), and my wife had the mushroom pizza. When most people say "Mushroom pizza", it's a pizza with some mushroom. Her pizza was engulfed in mushrooms of many varieties, almost rendering the pizza as an after thought. So MANY MUSHROOMS. We loved it, the earthiness of it all, and the meaty feel it had too it. Friends had the Margherita and the Hawaii Pie O, and looked very good.

The dessert we had will remain a pleasant reminder of how "different" can change preconcieved notions of what is and isn't a dessert. We had a hazelnut soft serve ice cream, topped with Olive Oil and sea salt, that made the hazelnut pop!

One reason this restaurant can't get five stars though? Parking. It's tough, and not plentiful. Especially if you don't understand Minneapolis' snow emergency routes.

Just an FYI... We waited an hour for our table, and it is worth every second of that wait. Reservations are not accepted from what we saw, and that leads to very crowded restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Lola also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Lola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.