We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I lived in MSP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Lola

Pizzeria Lola
5557 Xerxes Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN
612-424-8338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,410 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wood fired pizza, warm chocolate chip cookies, soft serve ice cream, wine, beer, photo booth
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I wish I lived in MSP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I wish I lived here so that I could frequent this place. They offer wood fired pizza with a delectable thin crust. I ordered The Creme, which is had a delicate flavor. I am hoping to come back before I leave and have The Sunnyside. Nice wine and beer list, too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    90
    15
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Minneapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lola's has only been around in south Minneapolis for a couple of years but its already established itself as one of the best pizza institutions around. The pizza, which comes out of a copper domed oven after being handmade while you watch, is delicious and you have classic as well as creative options. My favorite so far had bananas on it and it was surprisingly awesome.
Don't miss the warm chocolate chip cookies coming out of the oven either-served with ice cold milk.
Solid beer list with an accessible bar.
There's even a photo booth to amuse yourself in whole you wait.
And waiting is my one complaint-there are no reservations and you will wait to get a table here almost any night-it's just that popular.
Fortunately there is another Lola's being built and so were all hoping that will take some heat off this place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Several excellent pizzas among otherwise good pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pizzeria Lola has a lot of hype behind it, with local celebrity food critics like Andrew Zimmern (Bizarre Foods) declaring it one of his favorites (and getting Guy Fieri to go for his show). Let me say: when the pizza's good here it's truly divine. Their Korean BBQ is lovely and so is the Sunnyside. Other, less novel pizzas are good but not great--on that I would still give the pound-for-pound advantage to the Twin Cities' other nationally renowned pizza source: Punch Pizza (though they only do Neapolitan-style pizzas which not everyone likes as a style). For what it's worth, Andrew Zimmern also likes Punch. Where I differ is I still think Punch is better. Still absolutely worth a visit if you love high-quality pizza, creativity and a fun environment (they even have a photo booth you can buy tickets for!).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classic Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lola creates outstanding pizza in a high temp copper oven built in France. The key to the great pizza at Lola is the crust, quite frankly I could eat just this with a drizzle of olive oil, but they have some great and unusual pizzas that one must try first. The Kim Chee pizza is amazing as is their sausage (made in-house). The ceasar salad may be one of the better renditions in the Twin Cities and I also enjoy their charcuterie plate. All in all this is a destination that you have to go to and expect that you may have to wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had a woodfire pizza with Kimchee that was fantastic. The combination sounds weird, but it really worked. My son devoured a more traditional meatball pizza.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Lola also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Lola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.