We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Find, Don't Miss It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Swedish Institute

American Swedish Institute
2600 Park Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55407-1090
612-871-4907
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 115 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Founded in 1929 by Swan J. Turnblad, this castle serves as a combination historic house/museum that features exhibits and programs of the Swedish culture.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Find, Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was so surprised and delighted to happen upon the American Swedish Institute in Minneapolis. There is an astonishing early 1900's castle to tour with lively docents attached to a LEED certified modern building which continues the art museum experience. Their current exhibit features Swedish art glass and is totally amazing. This place is a gem tucked into the heart of the city. Wow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    47
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Interesting museum, but the restaurant is FAB!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My parents have been telling me to visit for years, but unfortunately the more museum's hours didn't correlate to my visits to the Twin Cities area until this summer. The house/museum is interesting and worth touring. The reason to go back will be for the restaurant. It is absolutely FABULOUS!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“The Last of the Great Mansions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My nephew recently got married and he had his reception here. We ate in the new addition next to the mansion. Before dinner everyone got to tour the old building. Let me tell you I have never seen such splendor in MN. The woodworking in every room is so detailed and truly amazing. The tiles on some of the old fireplaces is so cool. I think my favorite part was the amazing stained glass windows by the atrium. There is a picture of a Knight in one stained glass window that is really neat. I also love all of the cherubs carved in many rooms. The staircase features some epic griffins carved into the railing. A must see for Minneapolis and Swedes everywhere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful old home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a mansion built by a self made millionaire. He never lived in the home and it is truly a magnificent place to visit. It was featured in an old tv show called American Castles.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great addition makes it even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The new addition is great- food is fantastic, the atmosphere is lovely and the gift shop has quite the variety. The main house is good to walk through to get a sense of the space and the art displayed, but no need to go repeatedly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Swedish Institute also viewed

 

Been to American Swedish Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Swedish Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.